LGC Reviews | Glassdoor

LGC Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
21%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Tim Robinson
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place and people to work with(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lovely people, interesting work, good bike storage, many staff with outstanding expertise and willing to share this(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Corporate culture, at the Senior Management level, is completely opposite to the stated corporate values(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very low pay compared to other opportunities available in life sciences(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LGC full-time

    Pros

    Very tight knit. Plenty of employee engagement. People are very friendly and understanding. Benefits are decent. Great place to work.

    Cons

    There has been a little international communication issue, but not anything too serious. There's not really anything else to complain about.

    LGC2016-04-30
  2. "No room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Laboratory Technician in Beverly, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at LGC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to working here

    Cons

    No room for growth, worked like a factory. No real science

    Advice to Management

    Get better management

    LGC2019-05-07
  3. "Hit and Miss... More of the latter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Scientist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LGC for more than a year

    Pros

    Relationships fostered with coworkers Experience with basic lab practices

    Cons

    *Changing compensation plan/salary with no notice* Little to no upward mobility No transparency with company goals/mission statements No room for error with tight turnaround times Working beyond scheduled hours most days is an expectation All decisions made behind closed doors

    Advice to Management

    Hire from outside the organization to change the culture

    LGC2019-01-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Corporate values are only words on a piece of paper."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at LGC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Products and services provided are valuable to society.

    Cons

    Corporate culture, at the Senior Management level, is completely opposite to the stated corporate values. Senior Management is focused solely on themselves and how successful they are individually.

    Advice to Management

    Manage people with dignity and respect and they will return the favor with hard work, dedication, excellence and commitment to the corporate mission. Respect needs to be front and center to those that are working to bring products and services to the customers.

    LGC2019-01-27
  5. "No loyalty from management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LGC

    Pros

    On site staff in my local office was hard working and overall excellent colleagues

    Cons

    There is no gratitude or loyalty from management. I worked there for over three years. 8 months into my tenure, I was charged to keep the laboratory running by working 11-12 hour shifts as the other two project managers left the company and the lab director (more on that in a bit) was out on family leave. About 9 months later, the lab director left the company and I was given the responsibilities of the director in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior management needs replacing.

    LGC2018-10-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LGC full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, good benefits package.

    Cons

    Mediocre pay, little room for advancement within company or work incentives for lower level workers.

    LGC2018-09-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LGC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Vacation, people, location, hours, work load

    Cons

    Not enough money for what we do

    Advice to Management

    Make sur eyou show a lot of appreciation towards your employees

    LGC2018-07-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Staffing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staffing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at LGC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment fun workplace

    Cons

    Everything else corporate micro manages everything

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees. There’s a reason why turnover is so high.

    LGC2018-05-11
  9. "Overwork Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LGC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Vacation, time off, people, location,

    Cons

    Overworked, Underpaid, lack of job appreciation

    Advice to Management

    Pay those who do a great job appropriately and recognize people more. Hire more people and invest in infrastructure!

    LGC2017-08-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at LGC part-time

      Pros

      Flexible schedule fair pay many jobs to choose from

      Cons

      Communication could be better with management

      LGC2017-04-06
    Found 103 reviews