KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Language Stars

Is this your company?

Language Stars

Add a Review

Language Stars Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 of over 77 reviews

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Language Stars CEO  Matt Kinnich (no image)
Matt Kinnich
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have received many joys and rewards working with children(in 6 reviews)

  • "Center directors and other team members are very supportive and resourceful in helping teachers before,during and after class(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "center directors are asked to sell and meet impossible quotas, along with cleaning centers and taking kids to the bathroom(in 7 reviews)

  • "Most of my fellow teachers are still there because they have no choice, since they depend on the company sponsoring them for their visas(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good Experience

      Mar 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my time at Language Stars. Leadership and team members were passionate about providing value to students, highly collaborative and always trying to make a difference in students’ and co-workers’ lives. Unfortunately, the business model could not be run profitably and the owners had to shut the business down. I’m now looking for a job, but I understand the need to shut the business down.

      Cons

      The business is no longer operating.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Worst management ever

      Jun 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get to know International teachers

      Cons

      Worst management ever. They amazing treated teachers like disposable people.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Nov 2, 2020 - LLS in Lincoln, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary good environment no pressure

      Cons

      No enough fun activities and fun I spare time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Chaotic

      May 7, 2020 - Teacher in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible and friendly coworkers, interesting people

      Cons

      Management is chaotic, things don’t work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      No more in the market

      Jul 25, 2019 - Teacher in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Traing learning good curriculum and good teachers

      Cons

      They think made money from students

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great experience to learn and grow

      Mar 4, 2013 - Former Center Director/Regional Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was fortunate enough to work in 2 capacities with Language Stars. The first was as a center director during a period of launching new centers. Language Stars afforded me an opportunity to learn how to run a business in many aspects that included sales, finance, and operations. There are very few positions that allow someone to gain that breadth of experience in one position. As I am person who thrives on challenge, this new venture allowed me the opportunity to succeed and fail on numerous occasions. The senior management at Language Stars is extremely patient and allows the managers the opportunity to learn from mistakes, and to use these experiences to create plans that will bring in future success. I was also given the responsibility of running a nascent business as the regional director, and the amount of trust, freedom, and responsibility that senior management gave to me made my time in this position an incredible experience. Language Stars allowed me to help create systems, processes, and procedures. I was able to create the DNA of this business, and helped create a lasting legacy at the company. At Language Stars, you are able to work with an international team, and have more company wide impact, than many other similar positions.

      Cons

      As the company grows, it gets harder to maintain the little things that made Language Stars great. It is good to focus on what will help Language Stars continue to make center directors and teachers continue to feel empowered as this was vital during the early years.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A Great Learning Experience

      Aug 19, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people who work here are passionate, enthusiastic, and for the most part really fun to work with. Fun co-workers Great place to learn & start a career Has a strong culture but is a very good one If you want to work here you better be ready to work very hard

      Cons

      They do not value work/life balance as much as they should. They need to look for at every employee who works there and make sure they feel supported and respected. This company is going to a major shift right now and needs to remember that it is the people teaching their language are the MOST important. If they don't recognizes this it could hurt them majorly. Management is not very effective at making major decisions. This hurts the ability of all of the directors and center support employees to help the teachers or the employees who report to them. Sometimes management gives tasks that are hard to understand with little to no direction

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Satisfying, Rewarding Career With A Great Team!

      Jul 31, 2015 - Center Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We have a great team at LS, from our upper management to our teachers. When I say team, I mean it; I have never worked in an environment, prior to LS, where my superiors were so easily accessible, or so willing to assist me in any way possible. I know that if I called my regional director at 11:00 pm with a problem (a teacher calling out sick, for example), he will help me to find a substitute. I feel comfortable that my superiors are invested in my own success (which is something I honestly can't say I've had in previous positions prior to working at LS). Besides the fantastic co-workers, we have a wonderful mission. Educating children is extremely worthwhile, very rewarding, and a lot of fun!

      Cons

      Honestly, nothing extremely negative jumps to mind. If I had to pick one thing, I would say that some of the systems we use could be upgraded. However, upper management is pretty savvy and responsive - I honestly wouldn't be surprised if they are already working on it.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      This company will use you and throw you away

      Jul 18, 2013 - Foreign Language Teacher in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working alongside fantastic teachers from many different walks of life. Teaching young children your native tongue is very rewarding.

      Cons

      It is hard for to find the right words to express the downsides to Language Stars as my experience and how I have seen HR and management treat my fellow teachers and friends makes me so angry. I saw a dozen coworkers have to leave the US because Language Stars knowingly brought them over on the wrong visa in an effort to save money. The salary is a joke because they will tell you that you will earn a certain amount for full time employment but what they fail to reveal is that you will most likely only be working between 60 and 80 percent of a full schedule. If you do not ask the right questions they will never volunteer Information if it is to their benefit. There is a culture of fakeness encouraged by senior management that certain employees embrace undermining the usually positive work environment. There are no opportunities for professional development. This is a company that is thriving on the knowledge and skills of others whilst not recognizing that those things have a right to be adequately remunerated. This is a company that takes advantage of people and believes they should be grateful for it. This is a company that will use you and get rid of you at the drop of a hat. I hope that eventual readers will notice who is writing the positive reviews.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company Culture and Motivational Leadership

      Jul 31, 2015 - Center Director in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoy the challenges, our co-workers and the atmosphere in the company. Working in a multicultural workplace exposes us to different ideas and points of view. I have received many joys and rewards working with children. All the directors are passionate about the values and mission of the company, and are dedicated to accomplishing the goal. The management team is fueled by the love of the product and is passionate enough about the business to take risks. The company not only listens to the employee feedback, but also offers excellent customer service to the customers and understands their needs very well. Our regional director has always been very supportive, helpful, and inspirational, and makes us feel like a team. We also have a phenomenal and talented teaching team, who cares about the student's growth and development.

      Cons

      I have had a wonderful time working at Language Stars. The only con I could think of is the technology, but I think the leaders are making great efforts to make it better.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 73 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Language Stars Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Language Stars? Share Your Experiences

    Language Stars logo
    or