Lawrence Berkeley Lab Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Lawrence Berkeley Lab Lab Director Michael Witherell (no image)
Michael Witherell
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "The working environment is very good(in 39 reviews)

  • "flexible schedule as a part-worker and part-time college student; great place if you are passionate about what you are researching(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "In my opinion as a postdoc you are being exploited especially if you have visa requirements e(in 27 reviews)

  • "Salary as a postdoc is very low to survive well in bay area, compared to other National lab postdocs who work in(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing lab with 13 Nobel laureates and a great environment to learn and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrence Berkeley Lab part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule as a part-worker and part-time college student; great place if you are passionate about what you are researching

    Cons

    low pay with no overtime compensation, although it is common to stay overtime

    Lawrence Berkeley Lab2020-05-10
  2. "Okay not great"

    2.0
    Current Employee - EWRP 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Lawrence Berkeley Lab full-time

    Pros

    Okay place to work and some good people

    Cons

    terrible onboarding and development processes

    Lawrence Berkeley Lab2020-06-02
  3. "Great place for science"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Berkeley, CA

    I have been working at Lawrence Berkeley Lab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Surround by smart scholars (mostly PhDs). Very collaborative work environment. Great resources for conducting research including enough funding to purchase fancy equipments that are much harder in universities.

    Cons

    Salary is very low for the Bay area. Not easy to get a career-track scientist position.

    Lawrence Berkeley Lab2020-05-21
  4. "Great work environment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Post Doctoral Research Associate in Berkeley, CA

    I worked at Lawrence Berkeley Lab full-time

    Pros

    It is a great work environment

    Cons

    It is very expensive to live here

    Lawrence Berkeley Lab2020-05-07
  5. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Affiliate in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrence Berkeley Lab part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, colleagues are great. I loved the hikes uphill so much.

    Cons

    Not really anything that I've found.

    Continue reading
    Lawrence Berkeley Lab2020-05-05
  6. "Great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Berkeley, CA

    I have been working at Lawrence Berkeley Lab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working with teams at LBNL for over a year now as a student assistant and have enjoyed learning from my supervisors and peers. It can be a bit intimidating at times, but I've never been surrounded by so many passionate individuals.

    Cons

    The setup of some buildings can make for isolated workspaces, and there isn't much coworker interaction. That may be a downside for people who like social working environments.

    Lawrence Berkeley Lab2020-05-01
  7. "Long term career with pension plans"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Designer in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrence Berkeley Lab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work with the best and brightest in the world

    Cons

    Promotions are long in coming

    Continue reading
    Lawrence Berkeley Lab2020-04-29
  8. "Good ideas, need better concrete plans"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Berkeley, CA

    I have been working at Lawrence Berkeley Lab full-time

    Pros

    LBL has a good science culture: friendly people all doing their best.

    Cons

    The organization hierarchy is steep and opaque.

    Lawrence Berkeley Lab2020-05-07
  9. "Good research, great people, lots of work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher 
    Recommends

    I worked at Lawrence Berkeley Lab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best national labs with the greatest scientists and excellent vision, always staying at the forefront of HPC.

    Cons

    You have to work a lot to get promoted.

    Lawrence Berkeley Lab2020-05-06
  10. "Research Technician"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Berkeley, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lawrence Berkeley Lab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package, insurance, retirement, etc.

    Cons

    It's Bizerkeley. Protesters, PC culture, crime, no enough parking.

    Continue reading
    Lawrence Berkeley Lab2020-05-02
Viewing 1 - 10 of 510 Reviews