Low VA Rates Reviews | Glassdoor

Low VA Rates Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Low VA Rates CEO Eric Kandell
Eric Kandell
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing people at Low VA Rates with all different backgrounds(in 13 reviews)

  • "Low VA Rates is a great company to work at(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "After 4 1/2 years I cant complain or come up with any reasons not to work for Low VA Rates(in 6 reviews)

  • "I've never had a single problem working at Low VA Rates(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer Assistant in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Low VA Rates full-time

    Pros

    Great people and management. Garrett the manager, and Ashley Kelly a loan officer at the Summerlin location in Las Vegas, were awesome to work for. Good people who care about there employees, company, and clients. I was impressed.

    Cons

    I did not see any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Management is doing great, keep up the awesome work!

    Low VA Rates2019-07-09
  2. "I really enjoyed working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Web/Graphic Designer 

      I worked at Low VA Rates full-time

      Pros

      My team was awesome, the company was great, they genuinely cared and wanted to help all the people they could.

      Cons

      Too far from where I lived.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing!

      Low VA Rates2019-02-12
    • "Fun place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Correspondent Department in Lindon, UT
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Low VA Rates full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I had a lot of autonomy and was able to grow in the profession. Upper management was very approachable and helpful.

      Cons

      Benefits were not good.

      Low VA Rates2019-01-03
    • "Loan Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Loan Officer in Lindon, UT
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Low VA Rates full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Extremely efficient in getting great leads to Loan Officers. All management and The President of the company are dedicated to company and personal success. Management has desire to keep up with a difficult changing market. Very good people to be around, fun work environment, well established brand and company.

      Cons

      Lots of low, negative energy among most employees. At times you feel stranded with no support or help and you’re left on your own to take care of tasks an entire team should be assisting with. No accountability in most departments and has seemed to become this way with most employees. Compensation is inconsistent and changes too often. Some changes were positive and some Negative. You never know when and if compensation...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Be transparent with employees and give recognition for doing well, let them know what they need to improve on and adjust. Be consistent. Set clear standards and emphasize accountability for each employee and department. Resolve problems as they arise instead of putting them on a list to be handled at a later date, most of the time the issue was never addressed and forgotten. Stay driven and encouraging as you have...

      Show More
      Low VA Rates2018-12-31
    • "Eric is awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Loan Officer in Lindon, UT
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Low VA Rates full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The culture sustains a good balance of demanding hard work from employees and having fun.

      Cons

      High stress job. Company policies changed every other month. The nature of the business is due to the economy can be feast or famine.

      Advice to Management

      Eric (The owner) deserves recognition for providing opportunities to a lot of families to be able to live financially comfortable lives. How many companies allow employees with no college education to earn six figures in their first year?? He is a down to earth boss and an amazing person.

      Low VA Rates2018-06-07

      Low VA Rates Response

      June 9, 2018President

      Appreciate the positive feedback and kind words! We love our employees and will always do what we can to provide an amazing opportunity.

    • "Working at LOW VA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Low VA Rates full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        No set hours to work by in certain positions

        Cons

        Low Commission pay for LO

        Low VA Rates2018-05-11
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Low VA Rates full-time

          Pros

          Great company to work for!

          Cons

          No cons to report.

          Low VA Rates2018-04-19
        • "Loan officer assistant"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Low VA Rates full-time

            Pros

            Interesting industry to learn about it

            Cons

            There were three rounds of layoffs in the span of a year and a half, don't work here if you want security. Guidelines were always changing which is fine if communication is good, but it wasn't so everyone was on a different page.

            Low VA Rates2018-04-27
          • "Amazing"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Loan Officer 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at Low VA Rates full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            The sky is the limit with this job. Eric gets the phone to ring, all you have to do is consistently pick it up to ear six figures.

            Cons

            The processors slow down the pipeline a little bit.

            Low VA Rates2017-12-12
          • "Be very careful"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Loan Officer in Las Vegas, NV
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Low VA Rates full-time for less than a year

            Pros

            I loved being able to help our veterans in time of need.

            Cons

            They make you pay for EVERYTHING, you pay back your hourly, any draws they give you the first couple months and all of your continuing education/new licenses.

            Advice to Management

            Have your loan officers back. I felt like I had no one on my side when it counted. I was supposed to get 65 bps because I only did cash out Refis but when I switched to streamlines all of my current pipeline loans turned in the 40 bps category when I should have been paid the 65 bps costing me 4k in commision.

            Low VA Rates2018-01-05
          Found 98 reviews