Lucid Software Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Lucid Software CEO Karl Sun
Karl Sun
165 Ratings
Pros
  • "Also the fully stocked kitchen was a great feature(in 14 reviews)

  • "Lots of hustle here while promoting a healthy work-life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lucid is still relatively young, so there may be occasional growing pains(in 28 reviews)

  • "Still a new fast growing company with occasional growing pains(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's been a great place to work

      May 7, 2021 - Product Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People, Lots of Responsibility

      Cons

      There are few full-time remote roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Everything's great except compensation and PTO which continue to be below tech industry

      Jan 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in South Jordan, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growth opportunities, some benefits, mission-driven leaders, younger culture that focuses on teamwork over ego, WFH stipend, decent focus on diversity and inclusion, incredibly stable outlook.

      Cons

      Compensation, compensation, compensation. I've seen swaths of people leave my department because other Utah tech companies have offered up to 40% more in compensation for the same role. Lucid leadership refuses to acknowledge that they pay below market and instead say that they continue to use a compensation research company to help determine salaries. Not convinced that it's working if area tech companies continue to poach Lucidites. Great if you're just starting a career but once your 4-5 years in, it doesn't become worth it anymore. Lucid is starting to appear in the same arena as places like Pluralsight, Qualtrics but the compensation means they aren't recruiting the talent needed to get to that level. Unfortunately, PTO is quite restrictive for the tech industry. 15 days PTO as a SaaS company with ten years under its belt? Unlimited PTO is standard in many competing tech markets (and in many Utah tech companies). Most benefits that are touted in response to concerns are focused specifically on parents (which are incredibly important) but considering the young crowd Lucid attracts, it just doesn't cut it. Grateful the CEO is progressive enough to celebrate Juneteenth and MLK Day but they took away our floating holiday to do so. Essentially, management is getting credit for being progressive while forcing employees to pay for it with a rare day off. A true statement would have been to allow employees to keep their floating holiday and close the company down on holidays celebrating racial justice.

      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Luicd lives their values

      Apr 28, 2021 - Security Engineer in South Jordan, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Lucid has been a dream come true. They worked with me to make sure I got my dream role. The people here are not only extremely competent and intelligent but also kind, caring, and passionate about their work.

      Cons

      Haven't found any cons yet.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unique and Special

      Apr 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The opportunity to work with some of the best people in the industry. Culture is amazing especially the teamwork over ego. Benefits are amazing. Engaged leadership that is genuine in wanting to do the right thing for both Lucid and it’s employees. Opportunity for growth in fast paced environment.

      Cons

      None that I have experienced

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Motivated people

      Apr 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun work environment due to high levels of motivation among coworkers. Highly engaged leaders. Company has treated employees well during the pandemic.

      Cons

      Diversity still not where it should be, but seeing genuine efforts to address this from some (but not all) leaders.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent place to work

      Apr 1, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Focused on teamwork over ego and individual ownership. Great place to learn and grow. I feel like I have always been rewarded for my efforts and results. I feel like Luicd's executive team tries to do what is best for Lucid Employee's rather than always focusing on the bottom line.

      Cons

      Nothing really material. I only have minor annoyances like Lucid uses Scala for backend services. Scala is not my favorite language.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lucid is simply an incredible place to work.

      Mar 20, 2021 - Senior Solutions Engineer in South Jordan, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Even with COVID the company culture has been amazing and the executive has been very transparent. This company truly works and loves by the core values.

      Cons

      It's going to be a con for just about every company right now, but we are totally remote. Very limited face to face interaction, which becomes draining.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I wish I was warned about Lucidpress

      Apr 16, 2021 - Account Executive in South Jordan, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Almost everyone is nice and thoughtful, generally good people to work with. Lucid Software as a parent company provides lots of benefits, activities, learning/networking, and a positive culture. People were comfortable being themselves. Lucid had all the benefits that I would expect at a company of this size.

      Cons

      I think that candidates need to know that Lucidpress is a completely separate experience from Lucidchart/Lucid Software. Except for getting the same benefits package, it might as well be a different company. For all of the glowing reviews about "Lucid", you are not getting the Lucid experience at Lucidpress, despite how it may be presented during recruiting. Lucidpress is really an afterthought to anyone I met from Lucidchart, and not once did I ever see a Lucid exec attend a Lucidpress-only meeting, ever. Lucidpress definitely felt like it was struggling during my time there. As a salesperson, I received one marketing generated lead per month, two if lucky. Seriously. Only real estate sales is able to consistently close deals, otherwise it's entirely based on luck. Lucidpress hasn't figured out how to pitch to other types of businesses, and there is a fundamental issue that most companies don't actually want non-designers editing their branded content, contradicting our "brand consistency" pitch. When we did trade shows, very few leads came through and even fewer ever seemed to close. Prospecting also rarely worked and conversion on cold calls or emails was extremely low. Deal sizes are minimal, and $5-10k feels like a lot to designer buyers. I was often confused why I was hired when we seemingly had no demand or viable market, and constantly second guessed why I was spending my time here. Despite the issues that seemed to exist, I didn't see leadership making significant changes. It seemed like Lucidpress leaders just wanted to maintain the status quo for fear of admitting that things weren't working. Real estate deals were presented as growth indicators, but without a plan to replicate them in other industries. The burden is put on sales reps to figure out how to sell the product, but it didn't seem like the company or leadership was willing or able to set any real direction for sales to follow. Most importantly, I just think that anyone considering Lucidpress should be warned that it feels like a sinking ship. You're not joining the flashy unicorn of Lucid Software. It's not fair for anyone to think they're joining a growing part of Lucid when Lucidpress felt more like it's dying on the vine.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company and Culture

      Apr 9, 2021 - Business Analyst Intern in Lehi, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are Smart, fun, and nice. Workplace culture is collaborative and uplifting. Nice Perks Good Benefits

      Cons

      Boring product Lunches were infrequent and repetitive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Apr 12, 2021 - Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a fun working experience

      Cons

      I wish I lived closer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 198 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Lucid Software Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Lucid Software? Share Your Experiences

    Lucid Software logo
    or