MEEMIC Reviews | Glassdoor

MEEMIC Reviews

Updated 13 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
MEEMIC CEO Steven D. Monahan (no image)
Steven D. Monahan
5 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claim Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MEEMIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with a great work/life balance

    Cons

    If anything the hours of operation

    MEEMIC2019-03-28
  2. "Horrible Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service and Sales Representative in Auburn Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MEEMIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company will pay for your property and casualty license.

    Cons

    Poor Management and No Leadership.

    MEEMIC2019-04-13
  3. "It’s just ok!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerical Support in Auburn Hills, MI

    I have been working at MEEMIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, very flexible

    Cons

    My personal experience is no advancement to move around without jumping through many hoops..

    Advice to Management

    Keep the promises you make!

    MEEMIC2019-03-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MEEMIC full-time

    Pros

    Great group of people, felt more like a family then a corporation.

    Cons

    Not really anything. It’s sales and if your good at that then you can make great money

    MEEMIC2018-09-17
  5. "Meemic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in Auburn Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MEEMIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere. The people that you work with are wonderful.

    Cons

    Hours of operation. Late shift 10-7pm and Saturday shift 9:30 to 4pm.

    Advice to Management

    To be leaders and not allow the reps to run them.

    MEEMIC2018-02-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Injury Claims Representative (PIP) in Auburn Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MEEMIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working for Meemic. It was the best company I have worked thus far. If I had not moved to another state I would still be working there. It has a great facility with a gym for employee use, work-life balance, reward-based recognition, decent pay and benefits, etc. The list goes on.

    Cons

    As with any employer, there will be faults. The workload in claims can get high depending on the time of the year and turnover at specific times. Although this is a con, management does understand and work with their employees to set up action plans.

    Advice to Management

    Although management does a decent job, I would just recommend for them not to hire/promote someone just based on experience. Before I left there were changes being made so that they could hire someone with no to little experience. This not only helps with filling open positions and helping with current employee workloads, but it allows management to train the individual to their preferences. Also, there seems to be... a big emphasis in the workforce for those with more years of experience. It is important to note this does not always equate to a good worker.

    Show More
    MEEMIC2017-06-13
  7. "Major joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MEEMIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and pto and a gym in the basement. That's about it.

    Cons

    Management and hr is beyond ridiculous. The poor performers get promoted. Pip performance doesn't matter. Even if you go to hr about an employee that is being unethical and other employees agree and back you up, nothing is done. They actually get rewarded by getting a promotion. Takes hr forever to reach out to you if you apply for a new position.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring slackers, listen to employees. Hr needs to get on the ball.

    MEEMIC2017-05-04
  8. "High turnover rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at MEEMIC

    Pros

    Some nice coworkers. Meemic itself is good Co. this office has 3 locations and you will cover all 3 if needed

    Cons

    Very dysfunctional management. Equipment needed to work is not priority. Workplace atmosphere can be very hard to work in for many many reasons.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and learn

    MEEMIC2017-03-23
  9. "Customer Service Representative-Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MEEMIC

    Pros

    Corporate Incentive Program, Small company, lots of positions open. Company Insures teachers and those who serve the educational community ONLY, which is really amazing. Key focus here is member satisfaction. Lots of events here that goes on ESPECIALLY the MEEMIC grant program.

    Cons

    Hiring within was boasted when I was hired but is now nonexistent, so if you're looking for a position then you have a better chance coming in from somewhere else. But don't expect to move up. The customer service representatives are performing 3 different jobs on 27k to a max of 33k. Net promoter score is what the individual working and company is based off. The surveys the employees get are a joke that is... extremely unfair as it does not reflect only yourself or how you can perform better, but it also includes 3 to 4 other people, which in turn, they could have made the claim worse off which is widely noticed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We have so many supervisors. One around every corner, but not enough leaders or mentors. Those that want to progress do show their ambitions but you drive them away. Mentor and encourage.

    MEEMIC2016-07-12
  10. "Love the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MEEMIC

    Pros

    Love the company, great people a lot of possible advancements

    Cons

    Insurance always sucks but holidays are off days

    MEEMIC2016-06-03
Found 16 reviews