Cover image for MOD Pizza
Logo
See All Photos

MOD Pizza

Engaged Employer

MOD Pizza

Add a Review

MOD Pizza Reviews

Updated Nov 30, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,092 of over 1K reviews
3.7
67% Recommend to a Friend
79% Approve of CEO

Found 1,092 of over 1K reviews

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
MOD Pizza Chief Executive Officer Scott Svenson (no image)
Scott Svenson
462 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "They hire felons and give everyone second chances which can be great for people who want to start over.(in 80 reviews)
  • "Good pay and better people.(in 71 reviews)
  • "Free pizza every shift and discounts when you're not working (50% off everything).(in 60 reviews)
  • "Free food and shirts (I know a lot of companies make you pay for extra shirts)(in 56 reviews)
  • "Great atmosphere and coworkers.(in 49 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MOD Pizza and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work

    Nov 8, 2022 - Squad in Cedar Park, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pretty easy, free food, laid back

    Cons

    Sometimes rude customers. Lack of support from corporate.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Lots of Room to Grow, also room for unchecked bad behavior.

    Nov 21, 2022 - Shift Lead in Puyallup, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mod's slogan is "people before pizza," and they put a big focus on treating their employees with kindness. This has been a huge plus, as the 5 general managers I have worked with have been mostly very fair, and MOD is a great place to learn and grow as a professional.

    Cons

    However, the downside of this is that they can be so nice, that other employees who cause ongoing issues (gossip, threats, favoritism, prejudice against religious/gender/sexual orientation, general disrespect of others) will get off with simply a "talk" at best. There is no accountability in place to keep the workplace professional. MOD is "accepting" as advertised, but takes little to no action to uphold that code of conduct when violated by other employees.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MOD Pizza Response

    Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for submitting your review. Would you be willing to provide us further details on your experience to peoplesupport@modpizza.com?

  3. Join the MOD Pizza team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Easy Upward Movement but No Upper Management Support

    Oct 10, 2022 - Captain in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Easy opportunities for upward movement, extremely encouraged as well - Extremely inclusive and welcoming environment - Great values and morals - Clear standards and expectations - Opportunity to support great causes

    Cons

    - No support from upper management - Severe understaffing issues - ended up working overtime every week - Underpaid for the amount of work you put in in terms of industry standard (make almost $5 more at any other company for same amount of work) - Weird benefits program - enrollment periods only happen twice a year and must be meet minimum average hours within the time period to qualify (aka if you get promoted towards the end of an enrollment the period you won’t qualify until the next one over six months later) - Clearly do not listen or take into account what people actually working in the stores have to say about problems (basically did nothing about staffing shortage aside from hiring marketing - offered no support for stores with no staff, expected management from other stores to work at others in the district/just overworked management and staff)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MOD Pizza Response

    Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for submitting your review. Would you be willing to provide us further details on your experience to peoplesupport@modpizza.com?

  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Free food, some good coworkers, but terrible pay

    Oct 1, 2022 - Restaurant Team Member in Orange, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm currently a college student working at MOD, and I've been working there for a good 2+ months now. The only enjoyable parts of this job are the free food and a couple of my coworkers who are amazing people. I only look forward to going into my shift if a coworker I like is working the same shift too.

    Cons

    Every time I get my paycheck, I'm disappointed. My pet peeve is when companies pay a non-livable wage and rely on their paying customers to feel empathy for their workers and pay what the remaining ethical compensation should be -- that's what happens at MOD (granted, it happens at most other places too. gotta love corporate greed). Most of the customers I've served have been nice, but there are always some bad ones in food service. Also, if you end up working here prepare to burn yourself a lot, and they are bad at re-supplying the first aid kits so you'll be stuck with a sizzling burn while working. I have a couple of scars to show for it already. I'm a firm believer in people getting paid what they deserve, so be wary of working here if you share the same sentiment. Good luck.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MOD Pizza Response

    Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for submitting your review. Would you be willing to provide us further details on your experience to peoplesupport@modpizza.com?

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    ModPizza

    Nov 30, 2022 - Crew Member in Kentland, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    free food, chill management and employees

    Cons

    Doesn't uphold their main values.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Easy job good fun

    Nov 15, 2022 - Manager in Columbia, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy work, non-mundane, customer interaction, choose which station to work, flexible hours

    Cons

    Constant customer service and communication

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MOD Pizza Response

    Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At MOD, we seek to perform like a world-class team, while treating each other like family, we are prepared to hold each other accountable to be our best. It is important to us that our Squad feels valued, appreciated, and happy so we loved to hear about your positive experience.

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Company Review

    Nov 13, 2022 - Restaurant Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool place to work. Free pizza every shift, cool people.

    Cons

    For a regular high school job, not many cons or anything unexpected.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Community

    Nov 14, 2022 - Crew Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has a great community and is full of good energy

    Cons

    It gets busy but you get through it

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MOD Pizza Response

    Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At MOD, we seek to perform like a world-class team, while treating each other like family, we are prepared to hold each other accountable to be our best. It is important to us that our Squad feels valued, appreciated, and happy so we loved to hear about your positive experience.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great tips

    Nov 16, 2022 - Captain 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun job with good tips

    Cons

    No performance review raises for long term employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not bad, used to be better

    Jul 2, 2022 - All Star 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay, paid sick days, free food, flexible schedule, good culture, can be fun.

    Cons

    No raises. My pay was cut when I moved to a different store because that store was newer and they are slowly lowering pay of all employees up to GMs. Also their healthcare plan is good except it's way too expensive given the pay functionally making it pointless(my opinion). Can be high stress also. Talk about being pro worker yet don't pay the same as they do in Washington where it was founded because they know they can pay workers less in the great state of Texas. This is the only job I've ever worked at where they give the opposite of raises for working hard.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MOD Pizza Response

    Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for submitting your review. Would you be willing to provide us further details on your experience to peoplesupport@modpizza.com?

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,092 Reviews
</>Embed

MOD Pizza Reviews FAQs

MOD Pizza has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 1,110 reviews left anonymously by employees. 67% of employees would recommend working at MOD Pizza to a friend and 51% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MOD Pizza employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MOD Pizza. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

67% of MOD Pizza employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MOD Pizza 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MOD Pizza to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with MOD Pizza Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MOD Pizza? Share Your Experiences

MOD Pizza logo
or

MOD Pizza Careers

Cover image for MOD Pizza

When Scott and Ally Svenson founded MOD Pizza in 2008, they knew the last thing the world needed was another pizza place. In their hometown...More

  • Hiring Practices
  • Spreading MODness
  • Diversity/Inclusion
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

MOD Pizza

42 days ago

Company News
Businesses Form Workforce and Justice Alliance To Drive Reform
Shared image - Businesses Form Workforce and Justice Alliance To Drive Reform
Businesses Form Workforce and Justice Alliance To Drive Reform
www.yahoo.com
See all

MOD Pizza Photos

+ Add Photo
MOD Pizza photo of: MOD Pizza
MOD Pizza photo of: MOD Picture
MOD Pizza photo of: MOD is what you make it
MOD Pizza photo of: What's your MOD?
MOD Pizza photo of: MOD Squad
MOD Pizza photo of: MOD Squad
MOD Pizza photo of: MOD Squad
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

MOD Pizza Job Seekers Also Viewed

Total Wine & More Logo
Total Wine & More

3.3

1,618 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,110 MOD Pizza reviews submitted anonymously by MOD Pizza employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if MOD Pizza is right for you.