MOD Pizza Reviews | Glassdoor

MOD Pizza Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 262 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Scott Svenson
129 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, and individuality while working(in 17 reviews)

  • "You’ll get to meet great people(in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MOD Pizza full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay for a crew member All the stores communicate with each other and sometimes cover shifrs for a local mod so its pretty family oriantated

    Cons

    You eat too much pizza

    MOD Pizza2019-06-26
  2. "Fair Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew in Sierra Vista, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MOD Pizza part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good atmosphere, great reputation, nice employees and customers

    Cons

    labor intensive, your shoes will get ruined from stepping on fallen food all the time

    MOD Pizza2019-06-22
  3. "good part-time for college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at MOD Pizza part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      reliable hours if consistent

      Cons

      always seemed to take forever to close the store

      MOD Pizza2019-06-22
    • "Team Member"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Member in Vienna, VA

      I have been working at MOD Pizza full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Easy and Fun and good pay

      Cons

      I worked there for almost 4 years and I only got a 35 cent raise

      MOD Pizza2019-06-21
    • "Mod Pizza was not fair"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Member 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at MOD Pizza part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Nice culture to be apart of.

      Cons

      No room for advancement and unfair job opportunities.

      Advice to Management

      -

      MOD Pizza2019-07-01

      MOD Pizza Response

      July 3, 2019TA Director

      Thank you for your review. We work hard at MOD to create a career journey for our Squad and any feedback would be very helpful to inform our promotional process. Would you consider writing MODCareers@modpizza.com so we can connect? I would really appreciate more information.

    • "Flexible !!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Leader in San Jose, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MOD Pizza part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good job for college students

      Cons

      Management at times can be too laid back

      MOD Pizza2019-06-12
    • "Great place to work with great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - All-Star Captain 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at MOD Pizza part-time

        Pros

        People are fun and friendly to work with. Able to go to work in MOD t-shirt and jeans.

        Cons

        Recent changes in prep caused more issues than they resolved.

        MOD Pizza2019-06-11
      • "Great and Fun Place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Squad Member in Phoenix, AZ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at MOD Pizza part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Love it here, coming in never really feels like work.

        Cons

        some customer can be rude but that's life

        MOD Pizza2019-06-11
      • Helpful (3)

        "Great Culture...until you get to the office"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at MOD Pizza full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        The culture at the store level was great; the team members genuinely cared about each other. The company does a lot of local charity work, directly partnering with charities and often volunteering special events or promotions to highlight the charity partner. Solid pay at the store level. Second chance hires for felons and those with mental disabilities.

        Cons

        The office culture is extremely toxic. Very low pay for the expected level of performance, long working hours, little to no recognition of hard work. No chance of promotions, very stingy bonus structure, poor benefits. Leadership is pleasant to talk to, but refuses to take action on concerns brought to their attention. They have money flow issues and tend to leave vendors waiting for payment for much longer than contractually...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        You lost the culture in the office, and continuing to work people into the ground until they leave is a poor long term strategy. The dangling of "stock options" as an alternative compensation for poor pay is extremely unethical given that there is no guarantee of payout and the employees who are given stock options are very, very far down the list to get a return on that investment. Pay your people what they are worth.

        MOD Pizza2019-06-14

        MOD Pizza Response

        June 20, 2019TA Director

        Thank you for sharing your feedback. Would you be willing to share more information about your experience by reaching out to peoplesupport@modpizza.com? Thank you again.

      • "Good people good pizza"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newbury Park, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at MOD Pizza part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Free pizza, tattoos and piercings allowed, over minimum wage

        Cons

        low hours but if you ask, they may give you an extra shift or two

        MOD Pizza2019-05-29
      Found 262 reviews