Mackenzie Reviews | Glassdoor

Mackenzie Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Rich Mitchell
3 Ratings
  1. "Great place to learn for a part-time intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie part-time

    Pros

    Very positive, playful, and motivated workplace. I learned a lot in the spring and summer that I was present while finishing up and graduating from school. My supervisor was very flexible with my class and work schedule. If I hadn't moved away, I would probably still want to work there.

    Cons

    Sometimes felt like the team didn't quite know what to do with me or what work I was supposed to do. I was supposed to do a bunch of AutoCAD for them, but I was running out of tasks more frequently than I thought I should.

    Mackenzie2018-11-01
  2. "Not Very Impressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Creative Work environment, business casual dress atire, occasional fun work events

    Cons

    Business doesn't care about work life balance, or how employees treat one another. Benefits were mediocre, and once I left I found out I was being underpaid by at least 30%.

    Advice to Management

    Do more research on salaries in the area to give your employees a living wage. Also, maybe invest in caring about your employees a little more. Fun events during the work day are great, but not if it means people then have to do OT to make up the time due to lack of work life balance.

    Mackenzie2019-07-02
  3. "Mackenzie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, open concept and close in Portland.

    Cons

    Upper management always changing.

    Mackenzie2018-11-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Civil Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mackenzie

    Pros

    Variety of different projects to work on.

    Cons

    Tons of lifers just stuck in their ways.

    Mackenzie2018-08-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting Mix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mackenzie full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful, friendly, and welcoming people for the most part, from senior management to support staff. Casual work environment.

    Cons

    Company seems to be stuck in a bygone era, at least in terms of processes. Not necessarily a good environment for a millennial, or someone who is used to being in a more high-tech, paperless office. Lack of communication at times. Lack of training and cross-training. I was taken aback by how often I received, "I don't know" as an answer to my questions. Online training guides and materials would help. Benefits are good...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communicate, modernize, streamline processes, and develop more training programs/materials.

    Mackenzie2018-04-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "AE Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mackenzie full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers in general are nice and work schedule can be flexible.

    Cons

    The design leadership is lacking and the senior management have blinders on.

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond how the office has operated if you want to advance as a firm -- not just in architecture but in structural engineering, marketing, and project management.

    Mackenzie2018-02-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Arch designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie full-time

    Pros

    Family like environment, great co-workers, lots of fun activities

    Cons

    Not so appealing projects, low salary, not so much sorry from higher professionals

    Mackenzie2018-01-29
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mackenzie full-time

    Pros

    Good people, lots of fun activities (easter egg hunts, Kentucky derby parties, etc), decent vacation package (and they encourage you to use it)

    Cons

    Struggling to bridge the gap between what the baby boomer management expects from work, and what the millennial employees want. No real flexible work schedule, and no work from home options.

    Mackenzie2017-10-24
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Self preservationists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mackenzie full-time

    Pros

    Casual, easy working environment. Even the unmotivated and mediocre can keep a job.

    Cons

    Sexist undertones in the male heavy upper and mid level management. Sometimes overt sexism. Conflicts are never directly addressed. So if there are particular managers or principals who are difficult to work with, their team members will be moved without any attempt to correct behavior/style. How does this solve the problem? How long someone has worked at the office is worth more than actual talent and skills.

    Advice to Management

    Good leaders are not self absorbed.

    Mackenzie2017-03-05
  10. "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie

    Pros

    Fun working environment Diverse and multi-disciplined environment Enjoyed Friday meetings

    Cons

    Easy to get looked over Very big company Not much room for career growth

    Mackenzie2016-10-09
Found 12 reviews