Maplesoft Reviews | Glassdoor

Maplesoft Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Maplesoft CEO Laurent Bernardin (no image)
Laurent Bernardin
2 Ratings
  1. "It is getting so much worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maplesoft full-time

    Pros

    Could be a first job out of school for a year of experience

    Cons

    I don't know where to start. Many have commented about the lack of management and direction. That will only get worse now that the old CEO has left. With the new people in charge, they barely listen to anyone but just follow orders from Japan. This company has lost it's heart and sole. Now it doesn't have anyone who will stand up for the employees or just do what is right. Long term success means showing... employees are valued. The old CEO was at least willing to fight for what he believed in. The new one fights for himself at the expense of those who do the real work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to Owners - Bring in new executive team.

    Maplesoft2018-11-27
  2. Helpful (3)

    "FAMILY FIRST!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maplesoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice facilities in general - some good perks.

    Cons

    family members work with each other creating huge conflict of interests. Seems not to bother anyone at the top. Appalling how family can saunter in and out any time, vacation so often, never get the job done, but still have it easy..

    Advice to Management

    you can't have people reporting to their family and expect others to not to feel aggrieved. Especially when there is so clearly favouritism being shown on a regular basis.. its a joke - I let it be known on more than one occasion including my exit interview - I spoke to someone still there and nothing has changed at all.. ridiculous!

    Maplesoft2019-11-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Maplesoft full-time

    Pros

    Company recognizes their greatest asset is their people.

    Cons

    Not a lot of upward mobility if that is what you are looking for.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to treat your employees like they are your greatest asset.

    Maplesoft2019-10-09
  4. "great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undisclosed 

    I have been working at Maplesoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    everything! everything is great! everything!

    Cons

    nothing! nothing is bad, nothing!

    Maplesoft2019-10-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It's a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maplesoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall this is a really great place to work. Everyone is treated with respect. Flexible working hours and an on-site gym are great perks.

    Cons

    The company is slow to adopt new technologies. They spend a lot of energy maintaining old technology, and struggle to innovate.

    Maplesoft2019-07-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worthwhile experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maplesoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn something new everyday. Work at the intersection between Math and Computer Science.

    Cons

    Communication is not always so clear.

    Maplesoft2019-05-21
  7. "Vice president"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Maplesoft full-time

    Pros

    Good and friendly working environment

    Cons

    No room for growth and career development

    Advice to Management

    Plesse listem to your employees

    Maplesoft2019-01-02
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maplesoft full-time

    Pros

    People, Management, Work-Life Balance, Concierge

    Cons

    Age is sometimes seen as a reflection of ability rather than performance

    Advice to Management

    Every day brings a new challenge and opportunity to grow. Some of the nicest employees I have ever worked with. A lot of top level changes the last year which have allowed the company to refocus and has significantly increased passion amongst employees in what they do. The new CEO is opening lines of communication within the company and big changes seem to be happening along with that. Excited to continue to... work here under new leadership and grow my career.

    Show More
    Maplesoft2018-11-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maplesoft full-time

    Pros

    New Leadership - already listening, and seeing changes Growth Opportunities Concierge On-Site Gym Work-Life Balance Great People

    Cons

    Quiet work environment - need some background noise to break the silence

    Advice to Management

    Compare pay to local average salaries Provide more feedback

    Maplesoft2018-12-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maplesoft full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great culture! Work-life balance is important. No politics

    Cons

    can't think of anything right now

    Maplesoft2018-03-13
Found 23 reviews