Match Reviews | Glassdoor

Match Reviews

Updated October 18, 2018
124 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Match CEO, Match Group NA Mandy Ginsberg
Mandy Ginsberg
32 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "There is a healthy work life balance" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Everyone is super friendly and helpful and the work environment is open and inviting" (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "I disagree with so many decisions made by upper management about driving the business" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Existence of an "inner-circle" among senior management that can interfere with career growth" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "SQL Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SQL Developer in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - SQL Developer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Match (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Best in class in terms of shipping really good software fast. You'll push code every week. You'll work your butt off and learn a ton or drown. They took a chance on a Jr Dev and grew me into something in under 1 year that would have taken 2-3 years anywhere else.

    Cons

    It's pretty fast sink or swim. Management has changed quite a bit since the pre-IPO days. So I can't comment on current leadership since 2015. I still think the Match name/brand is pretty good environment to work in tho, all things considered relative to the area (DFW).

    Match Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – Director, HR

    Thanks for the feedback. Glad to hear you are learning a lot!


  2. "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Match full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work and have good
    Work culture

    Cons

    New location too far away

  3. "Solid Company with a Variety of Brands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Match full-time

    Pros

    Great friendly work culture. Nice office and good benefits.

    Cons

    Some of the brands are doing better than others. Intra-brand communication is being improved but still has a ways to go.

    Match Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – Director, HR

    Thanks for your feedback! We appreciate it! I know the slack integration we just rolled out between brands is really helpful!


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Accounting and Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Match full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pay and Benefits are good

    Cons

    No room for career growth or development. Too much corporate politics as well.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in new ideas and fresh management. Promoting within has its positive incentives for morale, but it also has its negatives if the wrong individual is promoted. Doing the same thing as always especially in a tech company can be a dangerous thing.

    Match Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – Director, HR

    Sorry to hear the feedback. We'd love to collaborate with you for some fresh ideas--if you are open to talking with HR, let us know!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Finance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Match full-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in with tons of smart people and an interesting industry.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Match Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – Director, HR

    Thanks for the feedback!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Match full-time

    Pros

    culture; salary; team environment; ability to work from home when necessary; fun office environment

    Cons

    expect to put in a lot of hours

    Match Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – Director, HR

    Thanks! We think it's pretty great as well!


  7. Helpful (2)

    "The best of Dallas tech companies! Amazing place, amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Best place I've ever worked.

    - Fun, casual, social culture. In addition to the fun events HR organizes, there are a lot of employees here who are just genuinely caring and friendly. I find that I look forward to going to work every day for the people.

    - Exciting, challenging work. If you are a developer and want to work on the most cutting-edge in-demand tech stack, this is one of the best places to be. They also try to keep an active presence among Dallas's tech community through meet-ups and such.

    - Lots of opportunities for developers who are new to the industry. In my time here I have seen a lot more junior developers get hired onto several teams and they are all doing great, even if its one of their first jobs. A lot of effort is put into making it a welcoming learning environment to really help everyone grow as developers, whether you've been there for 10 years or 10 days.

    - Fantastic managers who really take the time to get to know their employees and adapt to the needs of the team.

    - Constantly improving in every way! Every day here, it just gets better and better.
    They have been putting a lot of effort into getting employee feedback, which makes me believe the trend will continue!

    Cons

    - Priorities change fast, so you just have to be ready for whatever you're working on now to be de-prioritized tomorrow in favor of something else. Just be ready to shift gears.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Match Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – Director, HR

    Wow! Thanks for the great feedback! Really nice to hear!

  8. "Love it so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Match full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I haven't been here for too long yet but loving every part of it so far! Everyone is super friendly and helpful and the work environment is open and inviting.

    Cons

    Just the commute, a lot of traffic around the area

    Match Response

    May 2, 2018 – Senior Recruiter

    Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you're enjoying everything about Match! If there's anything you need, don't hesitate to reach out to the Match HR team.


  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Match full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Great onboarding expierence
    -1:1s with manager
    -Fun and engaging company culture
    -People are friendly and welcoming
    -Work/life balance

    Cons

    Can't think of any!

    Match Response

    May 2, 2018 – Senior Recruiter

    We appreciate your positive feedback about our team, culture and onboarding! Thanks for sharing and let Match HR know if there's anything you need.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Data Driven, but Lacking in a cohesive high level strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Match full-time

    Pros

    Very data driven, with a lot of talented people who are mostly collaborative and congenial

    Cons

    Lack of a cohesive overarching strategy that unifies all of the brands and initiatives, and prevents these from competing against each other.

    Advice to Management

    Take a step back to really determine each brand's purpose and mission and how that should be cascaded through all efforts to reduce cannibalization and competing goals.
    Avoid short term decisions to appease wall street and focus on long term growth

    Match Response

    May 2, 2018 – Senior Recruiter

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the company culture and team and we appreciate your insight and advice. We wish you the best in the future!