Mencap Reviews | Glassdoor

Mencap Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Mencap CEO Jan Tregelles
Jan Tregelles
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Incompetency throughout every aspect being left with support workers(in 17 reviews)

  • "Some support staff just not the right people to be in that Healthcare role & unable to grasp concept of person centred care for service users(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Personal assistant to Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gratifying and worthwhile. Felt like part of the team. Was included in all parts of company. Regular reviews helped me develop.

    Cons

    Very rigid regarding hours and time off.

    Mencap2014-03-11
  2. "Lack of support but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people Good work life balance in my team Love working with the people we support

    Cons

    Pay is very poor for the location

    Advice to Management

    Pay more

    Mencap2019-10-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The job is amazing, company...not so much."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job itself is great the people you support are wonderful.

    Cons

    Quite a few! Long hours, bad pay, illegal pay for sleep ins. Management and bosses in their ivory towers dont care at all for anyone who's actually.doing the hard work. No career progression. Treated unfairly. Serious issues left to lie.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff accordingly!! Minimum wage and illegal pay for sleep ins isnt acceptable. Take care of your staff and appreciate them.

    Mencap2019-09-17
  4. "Don't do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you support are lovely.

    Cons

    Because the pay is bad and Mencap cannot recruit they will employ absolute dross which they expect you to work alongside and put up with, you will then have to raise concerns and then be shunned with no support from management. I have changed my location to hide my identity.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better candidates, recognise and reward good work, be around more, get rid of staff who obviously shouldn't be working in care, take concerns seriously, support your good staff.

    Mencap2019-10-12
  5. "top class employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housing Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    values based company that delivers exceptional services

    Cons

    very specialist provision, in demanding environment

    Advice to Management

    xxxxx

    Mencap2019-08-21
  6. "Brilliant inclusive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PR Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Inclusive culture, happy and dynamic place to work.

    Cons

    Sometimes one department didn’t know what the other was doing but that’s common

    Mencap2019-08-07
  7. "Great PWS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Doncaster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewarding helping the PWS to get the most out of life

    Cons

    Always short staffed. Overtime expected, poor management

    Advice to Management

    Look after the good staff

    Mencap2019-08-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great job, very poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Bognor Regis, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The tenants. MOST tenants were lovely, the work is not burdensome, but has a great deal of variety if allowed to.

    Cons

    Poor and unsupportive management. Management more concerned with money than the people we look after. Management who had no idea how to manage or even do a rota. No work/life balance. Staff often worked 24+ hours (including sleep ins) some doing all weekend from Sat morning to Sun night. Any dissent is lept upon and often leads to a disciplinary. Anyone on a disciplinary is left completely unsupported and allowed... absolutely no contact with colleagues. management other reviews on here, it is clear that this is a common theme: poor management. Mencap does a lot of PR saying how wonderful they are for tenants, but they are absolutely one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. Without exception. The work can be extremely stressful at times and there is no support from management for this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your attitude towards Support workers, and actually hire managers who know how to manage people effectively. Making money is not the be all and end all, your own PR trumpets the way you have the persons care and support and independence and wishes at heart. This is NOT borne out in practice. Perhaps some of the senior executives and board should do an undercover month at a Mencap group home to see how it... actually is on the ground. Not how you think it is. Perhaps managmemt should read some of the exit surveys from staff and ask themselves if there is a recurring theme and why this is. I will guarantee that this review will not get a reply from Mencap.

    Show More
    Mencap2019-07-28
  9. "Do not go there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Support Worker in Long Eaton, England

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The service user's and Co worker's

    Cons

    The worst company I have ever worked for. Absolutely no regard for staff from the manager's. They work you into the ground, definitely no work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Area managers should talk to all support worker's in private to assatain what is actually happening at ground level

    Mencap2019-07-26
  10. "Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Administrator 

    I worked at Mencap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked with a good team of employees who made my time there positive. There was lots of training & opportunities for staff. Rewarding schemes in place and always lots of charity days.

    Cons

    As a charity you can expect the salary isn't as good as competitors, no bonuses and very few pay reviews. Management weren't always the most professional and put a lot of pressure for high work load on staff.

    Mencap2019-06-20
Found 143 reviews