MercyFirst Reviews | Glassdoor

MercyFirst Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
MercyFirst CEO Gerard McCaffery (no image)
Gerard McCaffery
15 Ratings
  1. "MA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MercyFirst full-time

    Pros

    excellent medical team dr h and np and nursing staff

    Cons

    love the children to much i wish i could take them home with me

    MercyFirst2018-10-24
  2. "Extra work, fear based environment for (fiscal) administrative staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Syosset - Fiscal in Syosset, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MercyFirst full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Vacation time. Some people are pleasant, drive your own personal growth, and open your eyes to the issues that these children face. But, that*, is not the fiscal department - which is outshadowed by the Cons.

    Cons

    Mercy is made up of three types of people. TOXIC, technical workers, and decent quality people with empathy and above average skills. The TOXIC people are unfortunately, in management positions - I found their fiscal department especially driven by a fear based environment, driven largely in part by the personality of their CFO. Her behavior demonstrated she was more interested in personal satisfaction and her... personal life & personal attitudes than maintaining the professional structure required to safely run the department. The efforts of the more stable and structured underlings threatens her ire. Boundaries are crossed. Not everyone is horrible, but even some of MercyFirst's general and fiscal managers are only looking out for themselves, and you will find the need to document/record their behavior.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps open a Survivors Group for your employees.

    MercyFirst2019-05-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Youth Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MercyFirst full-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule. Great co-workers.

    Cons

    low pay with a lot of responsibility.

    MercyFirst2019-04-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MercyFirst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some staff care about the kids and reuniting with their families.

    Cons

    Upper management does not care about staff and the reasons staff are leaving at a high rate. If they cared or did exit interviews they could see the reasons and addresses the huge problems they have. The sanctuary model and its values they claim to embrace is definitely not practiced especially by management.

    Advice to Management

    Retire and bring in new leadership that has fresh ideas. Value your staff.

    MercyFirst2018-06-24
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Do more with less mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MercyFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to learn a vast amount of knowledge. Coworkers are not worried about job security and will teach you everything they know.

    Cons

    Do more with less mentality. Departments are understaffed and simply distribute the work of the individuals that left/got layed off to the remaining workers in each department. Health insurance has gone up 20% yearly for the past few years.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees as people. Employee retention should be a focus and it should not be all about saving a dollar. The core values of the agency should be followed by all employees to fulfill the mission. Management should be proactive when issues arise, not reactive, which is the current method of leadership.

    MercyFirst2018-04-25
  6. Helpful (3)

    "There is no future here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Syosset, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MercyFirst full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The staff is very committed to the residents. They do a lot with a little.

    Cons

    Very expensive medical insurance with consistently rising premiums. About 1 raise every 10 years. Dental insurance being discontinued 7/1/18. CEO and most senior mgt. do not care about you.

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting staff walk out the door. Learn that staff is not replaceable without a price. Admit mistakes and be honest.

    MercyFirst2018-04-11
  7. "youth siupport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Youth Support in Syosset, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MercyFirst part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    i love to offer physical, emotional and psychological support to those that needed it

    Cons

    not now i have nothing for now. may be later

    Advice to Management

    keep up with good work

    MercyFirst2018-03-06
  8. "Caseworker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caseworker in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MercyFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment Paid holidays Flex time

    Cons

    No overtime pay Some offices dont have parking lots

    MercyFirst2017-12-26
  9. "Cliquey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caseworker in Syosset, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MercyFirst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have to really love youth to work here. Watching them grow is the experience many who come her search for. Lots of overtime available. Growth from within.

    Cons

    Many individuals tend to undermine everyone's work. Zero structure within the system. Extremely cliquey. Low wages with minimal support. If your lucky support only comes from immediate supervisors. High risk of injury from clients.

    Advice to Management

    Care about the kids more than your career.

    MercyFirst2017-08-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Ok but rather corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Planner and Case Planner Supervisor in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MercyFirst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They promote from within. There are great opportunities for growth. I really liked working with the families.

    Cons

    The training before you started your job was non-exsistent, sink or swim puts it mildly. No raises other than state mandated increases. Rarely puts money into retirement. Felt like we were always stopping the kids from living normal life's with how liability adverse you were.

    Advice to Management

    Consider the fair and prudent parent standard. Trust your staff. Give raises or retirement money

    MercyFirst2017-06-06
Found 29 reviews