Meritage Homes Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Meritage Homes CEO, Executive Vice President Phillippe Lord
Phillippe Lord
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "A cutting edge, entrepreneurial organization which lives its core values every day(in 24 reviews)

  • "Plus, the homes are really energy efficient and beautiful(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The upper management in the division have no business being in their roles(in 13 reviews)

  • "such high turnover its hard to build a system because everything changes so often(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      True Values/Best company I’ve worked for

      Oct 20, 2020 - Sales Counselor in Stuart, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment, a fun place to work with stellar management with true values. Management do care about their employees. I recently lost a family member and not only they were supportive but they gave me the time I needed to be out, for that I will always be grateful and loyal to them.

      Cons

      Haven’t experienced any Cons, great company and team.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Meritage Homes Response

      People Operations

      Thank you for the fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your management team in South Florida were supportive and empathetic to you during a difficult time, and that you love working at Meritage Homes. If you ever need anything, please don’t hesitate to reach out to your Manager, local People Operations Leader or HRFeedback@meritagehomes.com.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      National Builder does it right!

      May 10, 2021 - Land Acquisition Manager in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      After coming to Meritage from another major national builder, I can definitely say that Meritage does it right. One of the biggest things I was missing in my previous company was a sense of culture and value for it's employees. This was echoed repeatedly to me in my interviews with Meritage and after 2 months I can 100% say I made the right move.

      Cons

      The only con is having to learn a new way of doing things. Learning a companies process and procedures is never an easy or quick task, but Meritage has set me up with a wonderful 90 day training to do this!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture and work environment

      May 5, 2021 - Sales Counselor in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My experience so far has been amazing. From the 1st interviews with the hiring agent, to my interviews with managers and VP of sales, I felt very welcomed. The overall work atmosphere is very positive, and everyone has been very receptive. It’s only been 2 months since I was hired, but I already know that this is best decision that I could have made.

      Cons

      Can’t think of anything negative

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to have a career!

      Apr 26, 2021 - Sales in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management is fantastic in Tucson area. Meritage has the best land and their homes are very energy efficient. Really dynamic co-workers who are kind and supportive. I love selling for this company.

      Cons

      Wish we could make more money but overall competitive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Harsh Atmosphere

      May 10, 2021 - Construction Operations in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are the best in the industry

      Cons

      Poor leadership at the executive level

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good to get into industry

      May 5, 2021 - Construction Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are people willing to train you and answer questions Meritage team in the field is great

      Cons

      Competing interests within the company Each department works in a silo Construction bears most responsibility in terms of running the business

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      You will want to work here!

      Feb 16, 2021 - Customer Care Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and benefits. Company provided technology is great and cutting edge. The onboarding staff was very helpful and my team and supervisor are supportive. The company is open to ideas and concern and acts upon them accordingly. The bonus package and special incentives is better than any other company I have worked with.

      Cons

      Being on the construction side you cannot wear jeans even though you are in nice company provided shirts/jackets.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Barely going on two months with Meritage Homes.

      Feb 16, 2021 - Assistant Construction Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great group of people that I work with. Environment is what I have missed when I worked in construction in years passed. Very similarities when I owned my family business. Always striving to move forward.

      Cons

      The only real thing is to have courses/learning/training process on how to use more of the apps that are needed in the construction side of Meritage.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      "Start with Heart" is a great mantra for Meritage Homes!

      Feb 27, 2021 - Sales Counselor in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to earn good money and a work environment that encourages ideas. Team working to improve process, communications and overall work environment. Unlike other builders I've worked with Meritage Homes is interested in building long term career employees that value a team support system.

      Cons

      Decisions are sometimes made without consideration of all the impacts to the company or employees. Silo decisions are not usually the best way forward.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A great place to work!!!

      Feb 16, 2021 - Purchasing Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meritage has a set of Core Values and we actually live by them; We build homes that are environmentally friendly; We are constantly changing to stay in front of trends in the market, which is highly unusual for a large company; Work/life balance;

      Cons

      Our business is cyclical, which can be stressful at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 373 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Meritage Homes Job Seekers

    Outside Sales Counselor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Assistant Construction Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Meritage Homes? Share Your Experiences

    Meritage Homes logo
    or