NG Bailey Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

NG Bailey Reviews

Updated November 16, 2017
39 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
NG Bailey Chief Executive David Hurcomb
David Hurcomb
22 Ratings

39 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "NG Bailey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Leeds, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Administrative in Leeds, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NG Bailey full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good management. The people who work for the company are hard-working and great to work alongside.

    Cons

    Company communication is not always great

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all relevant information is communicated properly to teams


  2. "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NG Bailey full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment, colleagues, and internal systems offer support and good training opportunities

    Cons

    Management structures can be restrictive

    Advice to Management

    Generally, the management team is good however, there are some bad apples more interested in managing by email or filling out forms rather than actually leading their teams.

    NG Bailey Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – HO HR Services

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your advice to management. If you would like to discuss any of the points further then please get in touch with your local Human Resource... More

  3. "Stifled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NG Bailey full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company with a passion for training and delivery excellence.

    Cons

    The management structure makes achieving anything worthwhile a lot more complicated and exhausting than it should be.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff and truly work as one.

    NG Bailey Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – HO HR Services

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your advice to management on listening to staff, we will make sure we act on this. If you would like to discuss anything further then please... More


  4. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NG Bailey full-time

    Pros

    I have just started with NG Bailey, the recruitment process was very straightforward and I received my offer in a timely manner. The culture and benefits are great and there is opportunity to progress and develop.

    Cons

    It would seem that some of the internal processes can be long winded and can hold up decision making, however I can understand the need for such governance in a large Company.

    NG Bailey Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – HO HR Services

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at NG Bailey. We are working hard on automating many of our processes to help speed up the time for decision making balanced with the need for... More


  5. "Generally a very good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NG Bailey full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits and opportunities. Generally a very good place to work.

    Cons

    They want their moneys worth and some but that's everywhere

    Advice to Management

    Be more aware of work life balance and a little more realistic with workloads. Deal with people issues early.

    NG Bailey Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – HO HR Services

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your advice to management on work life balance and workloads, we will make sure we act on this. If you would like to discuss any of the points... More


  6. "Can't believe the positive reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Lack of leadership, no career progression, no direction, it is safe to say that I did not learn a single thing working for NG Bailey.

    Cons

    Work was not challenging, the hardest aspect of this job was dealing with inept management and distinct lack of processes in place.

    Advice to Management

    Please show some forsight and value your staff a little more than just counting the money.

    NG Bailey Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – HO HR Services

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that you did not have a positive experience and I hope that you had an opportunity to discuss your findings with your line manager or with... More


  7. "Overall Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Leeds, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Leeds, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NG Bailey full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Some really exceptional individuals
    Good promotion prospects
    Opportunity to learn/Training
    Family Members still on the board
    Cash rich, no debt
    Good pension scheme

    Cons

    Some deadwood in several departments.
    Long term employees who just want to 'do a job'
    Inexperienced Managers
    No flexi time

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes an empty chair is better than the wrong bum on a seat.

    NG Bailey Response

    Apr 23, 2017 – HO HR Services

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on NG Bailey and the advice to management. Wishing you success in your future career.

  8. "Great Flexible Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NG Bailey full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great Flexible Benefits package which gives you amongst many offerings the ability to buy and sell holidays. Good Sick pay benefit gives you piece of mind and a good pension scheme. Not often seen as a benefit, NG Bailey has a great training programme available to all employees with many recognised qualifications in addition to supporting day/night release for professional qualifications.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of

    NG Bailey Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – HO HR Services

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review regarding the company benefits.


  9. "Great business to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Islington, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Islington, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NG Bailey full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people at NG Bailey really make it an enjoyable place to work, there is a great sense of community within the business. There' s great opportunity to get out what you put in and reap rewards for working hard. I have found there is little micro management here which allows employees to really focus and dedicate themselves to their role.

    Cons

    Certain things can take a while to get done, due to lengthy processes but you do get a result, progression opportunities are available but should be pushed more by management.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in engaging with employees more, little and often, tell us whats happening within the business and how we are making an impact

    NG Bailey Response

    Feb 27, 2017 – HO HR Services

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review and for your advice to management on engaging with employees, we will make sure we act on this.


  10. "A Good Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Assistant in Leeds, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Resourcing Assistant in Leeds, England (UK)
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NG Bailey full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great family owned company, care about staff, lots of flexibility around working hours as i was bringing up my family, and very supportive during recent illness. My role is interesting and varied and i work with a great group of dedicated people. I would recommend working for N G Bailey

    Cons

    Some of the internal processes are a bit heavy and take too long, but we are working to improve these.

    Advice to Management

    Keep looking after your staff, they are your best asset

    NG Bailey Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – HO HR Services

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review and for your advice to management, the wellbeing and safety of our employees is foremost in our people strategy .


Showing 39 of 42 reviews
Reset Filters