KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

NICHQ

Is this your company?

NICHQ

Add a Review

NICHQ Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 17 reviews

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
NICHQ President and CEO Scott Berns (no image)
Scott Berns
8 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Amazing colleagues

    Jul 12, 2021 - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Regular staff here are highly experienced, educated, capable, and collegial.

    Cons

    Management was a huge problem.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Mission!! Great CEO and HR Manager

    Feb 27, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great CEO and HR

    Cons

    Lack of Diversity and support for HR and Admin staff

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Powerful mission and great people

    May 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working to support/fulfill a deeply compelling mission across many areas of children’s health and healthcare. The organization attracts very smart and passionate people with deep content and other expertise. Including employees, board members, and other collaborators. They bring so much to their work and helping kids and families. I learned a great deal. It’s wonderful that many bright people build great knowledge and skills at NICHQ for a few years and launch into other awesome work in nonprofits, government and other places to continue to help kids and families in health and beyond.

    Cons

    Small/medium nonprofits (all that I’ve worked at) are challenged to build and maintain a diverse funding base. It is not unique to NICHQ and not unexpected given the type of work and being in midst of a robust non-profit sector. Growth in funding diversity improved recently at NICHQ and bodes well for the future. It can be hard in such sized organizations to create enough capacity for day to day work and bigger vision work. Building a team based on needs and strengths goes a long way and was also improving at NICHQ and bodes well for the future.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    NICHQ Response

    President and CEO

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at NICHQ. I am so happy to hear it was positive and we truly appreciate the constructive feedback you provided for management. As you know, NICHQ is a fast-growing organization, and we value all our employees’ input, work, and passion. We are glad we had the opportunity to work with you and wish you well with your career. Best regards, Scott Berns President and CEO

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A bright star in a constellation of Boston-based nonprofits

    Oct 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At NICHQ, you will have the opportunity to do your part to improve health outcomes for children through systems change nationwide. The people at NICHQ typically embody the mission of the organization – they work hard in their capacity to improve health outcomes for children through systems change. Whatever your future position there may be, you will probably learn a lot about systems change and our nation’s health system by doing the work. It’s actually really interesting. Whether you’re a newcomer or a mid-career professional, I highly recommend this organization as a good career move.

    Cons

    None that I encountered, however, the subject matter can be emotionally challenging to discover how many children and families slip through the gaps in our local, regional and federal health systems. The bright side of this is knowing that the work you do *will* help fill those gaps by improving the health systems responsible for ensuring that children can develop and grow healthy and strong.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Executive Assistant

    Jul 6, 2018 - Executive Assistant in Downtown Crossing, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can’t think of one Pro comment to share.

    Cons

    The CEO and COO were the rudest and manipulative people I have ever worked for. Both were out right rude and only perceived to be driven to what the organization worked for when they entertained prospective donors. I had to papers tossed at me, glared looks, rolled eyes at me, both COO and CEO asked for me to schedule time with them and then never were at the meeting, canceled last minute or just said they were too busy. How can anyone do a good job with no guidance?

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Senior manager

    Jul 11, 2014 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Passionate individuals, management that cares, growth opportunities, good values, agility in difficult environment, community, results, mission focused, progressive and collaborative.

    Cons

    Young workforce is not always aware of business best practices so too much effort spent trying to be transparent and responsive, can be too positive so disagreements aren't always in the open, too much flexibility can be detrimental to overall feeling of fairness

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Actions speak louder than words

    Nov 13, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful, passionate, smart workforce. Truly good people.

    Cons

    Disconnect between executive team and the rest of the workforce. See below.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Current changing direction and focus of company brings both great potential and risks for its future.

    Apr 28, 2014 - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Passionate coworkers that believe in the company's mission and values. Great people, tremendous talent, a wealth of opportunities abound if you're proactive in pursuing them. The creativity, talent, and passion of the people here are worth working there. Decent compensation considering it's a nonprofit.

    Cons

    A lot of typical grant-based nonprofit issues: stable funding struggles, turnover, communication. Frequent changes in organization over the past few years have led to much uncertainty around its direction and stability. Issues with communication and empowering employees, though leadership is trying to address these. Company hasn't dealt with turnover very well

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    NICHQ - Mission/driven organization

    Mar 18, 2015 - Administration in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Mission is critical to optimal health for children

    Cons

    Work-life balance is challenging as this is a small non-profit

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    great learning environment for starting out in public health

    Aug 31, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great learning environment for starting out in public health

    Cons

    low pay even for a non-profit

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with NICHQ Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at NICHQ? Share Your Experiences

NICHQ logo
or