National Interstate Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
88%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
National Interstate President and CEO Tony Mercurio
Tony Mercurio
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good lunch program with daily specials at an affordable price(in 19 reviews)

  • "Convenient location with free parking(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "no flex time(in 9 reviews)

  • "no flex(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Mar 29, 2021 - Compliance Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for.

      Cons

      None that I can honestly say.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Fun, fast paced culture, interesting work and great people

      Apr 15, 2021 - Product Management in Richfield, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Filled with awesome people who have a work hard, play hard mentality. The company walks the talk when it comes to doing right by its customers. Beautiful corporate campus with its own coffee shop and great fitness room. A lot of freedom and latitude to make decisions. The company is open to new ideas and innovating. Great work/life balance.

      Cons

      Systems are still behind the times. Need to invest in IT projects and catch up on some big initiatives.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to start a career! Especially for Akron or Kent State students!

      Jan 5, 2021 - Underwriter Trainee in Richfield, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Benefits are great. Pay and PTO are above market compared to other companies. I started with 19 days of PTO per year and a higher salary than my counterparts at other companies. - Covid caused work from home. I am working from home full time and it is so nice. I can wear comfortable clothes, don't have to commute, and I'm saving money too. - I haven't felt like I've been asked to do anything that I don't know how to do. There are no unreasonable expectations and management seems pretty nice too! - Promotions are happening like crazy. My team's problem is they can't keep any underwriters around because they keep getting promoted.

      Cons

      - 401(k) is below market value. We only get a 4.5% match while I have friends getting a 6% match. - National Interstate is a relatively small company and is owned by Great American Insurance Group. I feel like Great American is the big brother and Natl has a bad connotation. - Insurance work can get boring. Pretty quick.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company but stuck in the past

      Apr 5, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good employee friendly culture On site amenities are great

      Cons

      Due to nature of insurance industry, progress is slow even with chaotic work schedules and tight deadlines. A lot of bureaucracy to deal with.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A good place to start, not stay

      Feb 1, 2021 - Claims Representative in Richfield, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The introductory experience for newly graduated young professionals is very good, especially for those in the Ignition program. Decent PTO offering. Nice facilities. Competitive pay.

      Cons

      There’s a suffocating culture of fear in the claims department. People are constantly under threat of being fired. Upper management is totally unaware of the daily work and processes that the claims department performs, and therefore makes many miscalculated and misdirected decisions. Systems are complicated and hard to navigate. Performance is not measured with any specificity and expectations constantly change without any direct notice to the employees they affect. Extremely high turn over leads to constant reshuffling of workloads and confusion about leadership. HR will not assist employees with issues. Toxic “good ole boys” club culture - if you’re not accepted by a certain group of higher up men, you will be openly ridiculed and made fun of. Most people who work here are absolutely miserable.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company

      Feb 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Richfield, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, innovative, great team atmosphere. There’s great leadership in the company and constant positive changes.

      Cons

      Working from home full time should be an option for most positions. Other than that, no complaints.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company!

      Feb 18, 2021 - Claims Adjuster Trainee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are great, PTO is great

      Cons

      Pay lower than industry standard

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Company When Times are Tough

      Jan 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Richfield, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have direct access to my leader and the organization is making diversity a priority. The company has taken care of me during COVID-19.

      Cons

      Sometimes our organization is conflicted between being a large company or a small company culture - this makes for growing pains.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growing Company, Great Company

      Dec 22, 2020 - Claims in Richfield, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stable company with great employees. Company continues to grow which always presents challenges, but the management team does a good job navigating these challenges. Culture is fun, nice office perks and benefits, and the company has been very flexible during Covid-19.

      Cons

      Old systems but company working to implement some new ones.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      pros and cons

      Mar 6, 2021 - Senior Business Technology Analyst in Akron, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible work culture.. great people

      Cons

      strong “boys club” culture... lots of areas to advance your career but the pay won’t reflect that unless you’re one of the “chosen ones”

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 144 Reviews

    Popular Careers with National Interstate Job Seekers

    Claims Adjuster
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Claims Operations Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at National Interstate? Share Your Experiences

    National Interstate logo
    or