National Interstate Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
National Interstate President and CEO Tony Mercurio
Tony Mercurio
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good lunch program with daily specials at an affordable price(in 19 reviews)

  • "Lunch program, free parking, and co-workers who make the suffering better for a couple minutes a day(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Natl is an awesome work place!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Richfield, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Interstate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been here just less than a year and I love working here. I get to work with amazing, talented people who also love what they are doing . I have the freedom and empowerment to take my career wherever I want to go with support from the upper management. A beautiful facility and campus with many awesome perks. I'm part of an award winning "Best" IT group in northeast OH and I'm proud to be an employee. We are constantly growing and everyday is a new challenge with something new to work on and discover. I'm lucky to be a full-time employee here at NATL.

    Cons

    There are no cons here at NATL.

    National Interstate2019-07-26
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Interstate

    Pros

    The senior management team knows the business and cares about the employees The company results are industry leading The culture and values are strong

    Cons

    I have no cons at this time. No company is perfect but National Interstate is doing it right.

    Continue reading
    National Interstate2019-07-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It's Okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Technician in Richfield, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Interstate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You have the option to work remote - Great Holiday parties

    Cons

    - Low compensation - Average benefits - Poor Training

    Continue reading
    National Interstate2020-03-14
  4. "Good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Product in Richfield, OH

    I have been working at National Interstate full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good managers and insurance products

    Cons

    Lost many nice benefits this past year

    National Interstate2019-11-20
  5. "Great People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Richfield, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Interstate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great energy from the majority of workers in most divisions

    Cons

    Management is often disconnected from day to day

    National Interstate2019-10-03
  6. Helpful (12)

    "They don’t care about you"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims in Richfield, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Interstate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lunch program, free parking, and co-workers who make the suffering better for a couple minutes a day.

    Cons

    National Interstate is like an abusive relationship and until you’re gone you don’t realize how much better off you are. This is a company where they don’t mind employing the kind of people who will make racist remarks and not write them up for it even after its been brought to HR numerous times. They will work you to death because no claims adjuster wants to be there and no one can keep up with the amount of claims that are coming in. There’s a reason why most if not all adjusters have been there less than a year. This company will squeeze every ounce of life you have in you and leave nothing left for a social life because you are stressed out and you don’t know who your supervisor will be because it’s just musical chairs. The technology used makes your job 10x harder because using several systems just makes the front loading of claims SO easy especially when you’re getting over 10 claims a day. They are habitual liars about promotions. If they don’t like you, you will not advance in this company. Even if you have better numbers than most, they will come up with some lazy excuse of a reason as to why you’re not good enough. This isn’t until after they say you have one coming and “you’ve been doing so great, you’ll have it by *insert month*”. Guess what, it’s not coming. One of the most ironic things about this company is that a good amount of the QC department is made up of people who were failing in the eyes of previous QC as adjusters and then they move into these QC roles (because the other ones quit or moved to a different department because claims is a cesspool) only to judge your work. Management does not care about you. They are there only to serve themselves. They will fake a smile and then behind closed (sometimes even open!!!) doors will talk crap about employees. With a turnover rate probably over 60% at this point in claims alone, please do yourself a favor and do not touch this company with a 10 foot pole. Just don’t.

    Continue reading
    National Interstate2019-08-26
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Not worth it. DO NOT WORK HERE"

    2.0
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Interstate

    Pros

    Nice cafeteria, nice buildings, okay parking.

    Cons

    Nepotism is rampant, so are favoritism, shifting blame, and not keeping promises. The pay difference between employees is crazy. The health insurance is so useless it’s like you don’t have health insurance. Crazy high deductible. Management will promote their friends but deny good candidates. The workload is ridiculous. Part time employees are treated like garbage. There’s no diversity.

    Continue reading
    National Interstate2019-07-12
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Not for everyone"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Richfield, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Interstate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Profitable company, some departments are great, some leaders are great, have to find the right department with the right leader.

    Cons

    Favoritism, inconsistent, spiteful, fraternity culture, poor leadership, unclear expectations, close minded, blame rather than accept any responsibility,

    Continue reading
    National Interstate2019-05-09
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Sales and Customer Service"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Specialist II in Richfield, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Interstate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance, onsite cafe and Starbucks, three gyms, game room, mom room

    Cons

    Diversity is behind Compared to Industry

    Continue reading
    National Interstate2019-02-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Interstate full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are passionate about the industry. The new building is a tribute to the culture of the company. Great open door policy.

    Cons

    Continue to promote wellness - great start though

    National Interstate2019-01-31
Found 125 reviews