Native Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Native Foods Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Michael Mack
3 Ratings
  1. "Lead manager/ cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Lead Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Native Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good working environment,safe place to eat

    Cons

    Understaffed sometimes but works very nice

    Native Foods2019-05-28
  2. "Great Company and Even Greater Value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Native Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun exciting environment to work, being able to learn and talk about all forms of vegan food. I am not vegan and this position was a wealth of knowledge. Great pay, benefits, and with a few locations in Chicago it allowed for some travel and not just a cubicle.

    Cons

    The company was growing rapidly, their expansion outpaced their ability to manage properly. This was also a few years ago so I can’t speak to their abilities now. I was also there for a little over a year and we had 3 CEO’s. The last one made the decision to cut many people for the betterment of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Adapt, listen to your customers, don’t be afraid to expand but do your market research before!

    Native Foods2019-04-16
  3. "Listen to your team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Native Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food a manager Diverse group of people

    Cons

    Menu is too extensive Pay is too little

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees their the faces of your companyr

    Native Foods2019-03-22
  4. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Native Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, tips. 50% off meals

    Cons

    3 hour shifys. Tough guidelines. Hard work

    Native Foods2018-11-17
  5. "Assistant store manager salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Native Foods full-time

    Pros

    In store management is great, family attitude

    Cons

    nearly impossible to get a hold of

    Native Foods2018-09-04
  6. "A Lot of Great People But Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Lead in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Native Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with in-store were great. I had an incredible manager who gave me the exact shifts I wanted so I could work through grad school.

    Cons

    Upper management was struggling to make the business make money and continued to make changes that were uninformed by store-level staff or customer base. They didn't understand vegan food or what people liked about NF, and weren't interested in learning from any of us. Lots of upper level turnover.

    Native Foods2018-08-09
  7. "The best thing about this job were my co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Lead in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Native Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the Hyde Park location for 2 years and the best part was the relationship that I formed with my co-workers.

    Cons

    The restaurant was always understaffed, there was a high turn over of general managers and as a result, there is a couple of times where this store had no store manager, I did not feel appreciated by upper management, upper management did not seem to realize that we had lives outside of working here, and terrible onboarding on new employees.

    Advice to Management

    Establish a proper training orientation for new people and don't just throw them on the line to work and hire some actual vegans.

    Native Foods2018-05-16
  8. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Native Foods part-time

    Pros

    Great food Great cause Great people and music

    Cons

    Expensive No other issues noted Other then that

    Advice to Management

    Sell organic beer

    Native Foods2017-11-14
  9. "So So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Native Foods

      Pros

      Cool Place to work, good location

      Cons

      Coworkers, overtime, poor pay, manager

      Advice to Management

      Hire people who actually care about vegan food, the manager only recommended french fries since she didn't like it - and told customers.

      Native Foods2017-10-29
    • "B- Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shift Lead 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Native Foods full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      It's a very easy job and the customers are usually pretty friendly. The menu is easy to learn and the food is pretty good. Great if you are a vegan/vegetarian because you always have access to cheap (and sometimes free) veggie food. This job was a nice resume builder and it gave me experience with customer service, management, and working in a restaurant. Tips were pretty good since we made minimum wage base pay.

      Cons

      Upper management needs improvement. I was lucky to have one of the best managers in the whole company but I would often visit other locations and it was clear that there is little continuity between locations and there is little structure as far as training, raising up leaders, and executing pay increases. The atmosphere was often cliquey. I saw shift leads step down to be regular employees because being a lead didn't...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      This goes to corporate. Focus on taking care of your cashiers, food runners, cooks, and leads. Let them know you actually care about them by giving incentives and raise schedules. Make expectations more clear and try to give them enough hours to actually make money. Make more of a separation between shift leads and cashiers/food runners. If you pay them more and give them more responsibility, they might actually use discipline...

      Show More
      Native Foods2017-07-22
    Found 38 reviews