Netlist Reviews | Glassdoor

Netlist Reviews

Updated February 9, 2017
18 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.7
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Netlist Chairman, President, and CEO Chuck Hong
Chuck Hong
14 Ratings

18 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netlist full-time

    Pros

    Experienced company that's focused on cutting edge technology vs the cookie cutter approach. Several major innovations in the past that others are current using. Upper management lets you know where they're coming from.... nothing hidden. Encourages travel to build lasting relationships. Sales is provided with the tools to be successful.

    Cons

    Engineering heavy that's used to a quiet environment...... Challenging for sales to keep voice down during sales calls.

    Netlist Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Sr. Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for pointing out what makes Netlist a cut above others in the industry, it's greatly appreciated. I understand your challenge with using the phone in a quiet environment. Fortunately the ... More


  2. "Credit & Collection Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Manager in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Credit Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Netlist full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company with supportive management, focused on building great products and a safe & healthy environment; allows you to work with a flexible schedule

    Cons

    Hope in a close future the company will find a bigger office so everyone has more space in their office and cubicles

    Netlist Response

    Oct 31, 2016 – Sr. Human Resources Manager

    It's good to know that your 10 years at Netlist have been a positive experience. I believe we can all agree that a healthy environment and the ability to work a flex schedule go a long way toward ... More


  3. "Sales Operations Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    People are friendly and supportive of one another. Flexible. Salaries are inline or above market.

    Cons

    Location - For some, traffic can be difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Teamwork - Communicate

    Netlist Response

    Sep 23, 2016 – Sr. Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your shares in all categories. Regarding management, I understand your advice for teamwork and communication. These have a tendency to slip when time is short and deadlines are the ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Potential for Success"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netlist (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Salary is decent and benefits start w/in 30 days. Everyone is friendly & helpful when you ask. Product training is encouraged & provided as often as needed which is very helpful. Kitchen is always stocked w/snacks & coffee which is nice & not usual for most companies. Everyone is very busy but there is a general open door policy. Great product and partnerships. Lunch & learns are a nice way to learn & team build

    Cons

    Benefits are very expensive, the most I've ever paid for just myself. Office in general is very quiet, everyone is very busy but you almost feel as if you need to keep a very low voice. Not the best plan or direction in place which I knew when from the start so going thru some transitional pains trying to find the best path to success

    Advice to Management

    The CEO could be a little more interactive, it's a small company with lots of talented, smart and hard working people, acknowledge them occasionally.

    Netlist Response

    Jul 22, 2016 – Sr. Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for this honest assessment of your experience so far as a Netlist employee. As a relatively new employee myself, I understand transitional pains while navigating a sometimes steep learning ... More


  6. "Smaller can be better"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netlist full-time

    Pros

    In a time when many companies are cutting back, it's nice to be in a place where they keep the fridge stocked. Fresh season fruits, bagels and even a few frozen snacks. Recently my family experienced some personal issues and both HR and the CEO reached out to me. It is pretty rare for something like that to happen at a big company.

    Cons

    Coming from a fortune 500 company, it can be a little difficult to get used to working in a place where processes are not well defined.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on building a strong team. Sometime less is more if you have the right people.

    Netlist Response

    Jul 18, 2016 – Sr. Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your positive words about working at Netlist. Your input on areas of improvement will be addressed. Please always let HR and/or your Manager know when you see areas in which Netlist ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "A very bad company for decent engineers"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Really not much I can say

    Cons

    The management team announced good news prematurely before product is ready. Recent example is HybridDIMM. It makes you think they only want to jack up the stack price instead of doing decent engineering work.

    Netlist Response

    Aug 18, 2016 – Sr. Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for bringing to our attention that you were given incorrect information about Netlist's HybriDIMM product. Please feel free to contact us at info@netlist.com and a member of our Team will ... More


  8. "A Challenging and Fulfilling Company to Work For!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netlist (Less than a year)

    Pros

    (1) I am met with a challenging workload every day
    (2) Personally receive positive feedback from my boss and colleagues i.e. job well done, excellent effort, you exceeded my/our expectations, etc.
    (3) Company is full of intelligent, hand-working team players
    (4) Fully stocked complimentary beverages and healthy snacks - nice perk
    95) Comprehensive and well rounded benefits program with 401k matching

    Cons

    (1) Morale building activities would be beneficial: celebrating birthdays and employee anniversaries, in-n-out lunch truck, summer beach day
    (2) Noting when the company has done something momentous: Send out a message or have an all-hands meeting to let everyone know the good news
    (3) Bring your pet to work day

    Advice to Management

    Only advice I can share is that management should take the time to get to know everyone in their department, ask questions and let them know they care. More 1:1 outreach would be good.

    Netlist Response

    Jul 15, 2016 – Sr. Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your upbeat review. As a new HR presence at Netlist, it is one of my goals to ensure job satisfaction wherever possible. The CEO, CFO and I have worked ... More


  9. "Opportunity, challenging and rewarding !"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netlist full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyable. Don't mind getting up in the morning and coming to work. The day flies by. Challenging work. Company provided snacks and drinks all day.

    Cons

    The nature of the work requires being physically present so no opportunity to work remotely on a regular basis, only if necessary.

    Netlist Response

    Jul 15, 2016 – Sr. Human Resources Manager

    Many thanks for your review of Netlist. After six months of managing HR, I too, enjoy my day.


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Laid-off twice (you should probably avoid this place)"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Netlist full-time

    Pros

    - Engineering leadership comes with a wealth of knowledge and are willing to teach you everything you need to know.
    - Most everyone is in the same boat with you (minus leadership) so at least you get to suffer together.
    - There are people who genuinely care--you'll find them if you're looking.

    Cons

    - Business leadership is poor at best--especially, the CEO. You can hear his rants with a closed door all the way across the office.
    - The environment is incredibly hostile. Be prepared for F-bombs (among the other vernacular), doors slamming, the slamming of things, yelling, etc.
    - After the departure of a senior HR individual, HR department suffered greatly.
    - Everything is needed yesterday and working nights and weekends is the norm.
    - No appreciation for anybody's work.
    - If you're Korean, you are looked favorably upon, but if you mess up, the wrath of the Korean language will come upon you (but at least you'll still have you're job).
    - Turnover. Turnover. Turnover.

    Advice to Management

    The current board has done a disservice to its stockholders by keeping the CEO on board as long as it has. Get rid of him! Start there and cultivate an environment where people want to work.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Nothing good about this company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Company matches your 401K investment but there is a catch

    Cons

    Still the 401K match. This company will find all the excuses or put all kinds of restrictions not to give you the funding they match when you leave



Showing 18 of 18 reviews
Reset Filters