Netronome Reviews | Glassdoor

Netronome Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Niel Viljoen
8 Ratings
  1. "My time here was well spent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Silicon Design Engineer in Boxborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Netronome full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I joined Netronome out of graduate school and stayed with them for a long time. I had access to very talented mentors and great opportunities along the way. Netronome has a well-architected product that is first-to-market, super-programmable and has all kinds of cool hardware acceleration features that can be used for SDN/NFV offload. The hardware and software engineers are high quality and get along with each other....

    Show More

    Cons

    - Lack of formal leadership opportunities. - No women in leadership roles. - Everybody in the company (engineers, management, etc) is not held to equally high standards. There should be no room at Netronome for folks that are not team-players or repeatedly demotivate entire teams.

    Advice to Management

    - Keep your teams motivated so they perform well. - Keep your remote teams up-to-date on strategy changes early. - Provide more avenues for cross-site interaction at a peer-to-peer level. - Provide more leadership opportunities for employees that perform well. - Speak with your engineers often and pay attention to their suggestions. - 360 Degrees Performance Reviews.

    Netronome2018-03-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Stalker Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DV Engineer in Boxborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netronome full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i heard from some body that you don't have to work very hard to stay here. relaxed atmosphere.

    Cons

    managememt stalks candidates... i interviewed for a position and it went well.... hiring manager was indecisive but could not say clear yes or no. kept calling and emailing to talk more. weird ... i finally said I found other job to make the calls stop. make up your mind buddy. also stop seeing my lnkedin and facebook page. stop stalking... cmpensation not good but you get paid for how much you work (not much hard...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    don't stalk people, it makes them not work there.

    Netronome2019-07-02
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Management problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Silicon Engineer in Boxborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netronome full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    See other reviews for pros

    Cons

    Bad local management. Too many managers too... No growth opportunities for career advancement. Below market salary and benefit. Cannot survive on only challenging work and flexible hours, need money and growth also.

    Advice to Management

    You have too many bad managers. Managers are not good technically. Managers don't know how to manage. Most of your talent is gone to other places maybe for this reason.

    Netronome2019-05-22
  4. "Senior Design Verification Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Verification Engineer in Boxborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Netronome full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work and learning opportunity. Good flexibility to balance work life with family. Great colleagues

    Cons

    less salary, no 401k matching, no bonus.

    Advice to Management

    try to retain current employees . Many of good engineers have left company due to lower benefits compared to competitors .

    Netronome2018-11-14
  5. "Silicon Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netronome full-time

    Pros

    Lots of good work to do. Very friendly environment.

    Cons

    Lack of management. lack of staff.

    Netronome2018-10-26
  6. "Unique opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Netronome full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities to work on complex SOC designs; opportunities that are seemingly becoming more and more rare.

    Cons

    Total compensation could use some improvement.

    Netronome2018-09-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "promises, promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netronome full-time

    Pros

    Paid-time-off allowances are generous. The company pays all the health insurance premiums. The environment is casual and no-nonsense when it comes to the engineering work. The local engineering team is of high quality.

    Cons

    For many years the companies senior management team has been predicting an exit (i.e., the sale of the company or IPO) with a 1-3 year expected window. Senior management micro-manages the engineering teams.

    Advice to Management

    15 years is too long for a company to operate in the startup mode. Kick things into high gear and make a serious investment in the company and drive to fulfill the exit we have been told to expect for the past many years.

    Netronome2018-07-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Could have been so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Silicon Development in Boxborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Netronome full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Talented engineers across the company * Interesting work * Good product * Free food in the kitchen * Insurance is covered

    Cons

    * Poor top-level leadership that does not deal with poor mid-level management * Internal communications are non-existing * Talent is draining away because of poor management

    Advice to Management

    It is not too late. Listen to your engineers and face your problems head on.

    Netronome2017-10-17
  9. "Great DV opportunities, wonderful engineers, mgmt could use work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netronome full-time

    Pros

    Great DV opportunities, using latest tools and technologies. Free lunch in the kitchen. Verifiers/designers have excellent working relationships.

    Cons

    Documentation could be improved in some areas. Management has unrealistic schedule expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your engineers regarding scheduling.

    Netronome2017-09-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Confused Management?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netronome full-time

    Pros

    Generally ok work atmosphere at the lowest level. Decent benefits. Overall good coworkers.

    Cons

    Dysfunction in senior management allowed (and encouraged?) by the leadership. Poor communication. Same behavior trickles down to mid management.

    Advice to Management

    Fixing the management culture is very important for the success of the company.

    Netronome2017-08-01
Found 22 reviews