Neverware Reviews | Glassdoor

Neverware Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Neverware CEO Andrew Bauer
Andrew Bauer
13 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "A Company That Practices It's Motto Everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neverware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honesty, transparency, and an environment that is open to ideas. A surrounding that echoes genuine people, their hard work and love for the product/company. Because of the characteristics mentioned above, one can truly understand exactly how much one's work contributes and how critically it impacts the business. This is something I have not experienced in my previous companies. The company and the people nurture an... environment that makes me happy to get up and come to work every day.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is an early stage technology company so you can see the industry standard cons you would expect it to have but that's about it.

    Advice to Management

    Stay Awesome.

    Neverware2019-03-15
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A real nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering (and QA) in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neverware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * The people you work with here care about the work and are good at doing it. This was something I loved at my last place, and I'm so glad to again be surrounded by competent people. There was a thing I came across recently where someone from Netflix was talking about a moment early in their history where they had a big round of layoffs and found that they were "getting more work done with fewer people, and... enjoying it more". I think Neverware's unusually stringent hiring process ends up meaning that we've got the kind of people that can get more done with less, and it's inspiring just to see the folks here do so much. We're all also fairly committed to the company. When we were low on money a couple of years ago and everyone's salary got cut only one person out of ~20 left because of it. We've all been through the ups and downs, and we're all sticking around. * The trust in people really helps the work happen. You're held accountable for getting your work done, but there's a lot of freedom to do your work the way that's best for you. Want to show up at noon and work until 8pm? That's fine. See a way to improve the team's productivity? You don't need to write up huge planning documents and push it through a big bureaucracy, just do it or chat with your boss to get the extra resources to make it happen. * Trust in leadership is a big thing, too. It's not perfect, and I don't know that it can ever be with the kind of power imbalance that necessarily exists in a business hierarchy, but I think we do a pretty good job with it. Every month we go through the financials as a company, and Andrew (the CEO) tries to highlight the risks as well as the things that are going especially well. If ever we're in a place where we're going to run out of money again, we'll know long before it happens. * Communication more broadly. We put a lot of effort into getting better at communication. We've added more structured managerial reviews, and twice-yearly peer reviews (which -- I tear up when I think about all the positive things my coworkers said about me, and I'm really trying to work on and internalize what they highlighted as my weaknesses). Leadership is always experimenting with better ways to communicate larger changes that are coming, and I've seen significant (positive) changes in how the folks on my team interact with each other. * The food. The weekly freshdirect order is fine, it's nice to have snacks and quick lunch food around. The great thing about the food is this weird collective thing of everyone bringing stuff in all the time. There's Kendall's regular "armenian cheese with nigella seeds", there's Dave and his wife Cat who bake bread & pastries for the office sometimes, there's Karthika bringing karela chips and spicy thatta chips back from india. And then there's the yearly "Neverware Iron Chef" competition: three solid weeks of "apps and 'zerts". * The product is something I feel pretty good about, too. I believe we've delayed tens of thousands of computers from ending up in the garbage, and I think we've saved thousands of school districts significant sums of money. As we've moved into the "enterprise" space over the past couple of years that's become less of our focus, but it's still something easy to feel good about. If I have to work a job, at least it's not a job building missiles, y'know? A long time ago I heard this thing about how "there's three things that matter in a job: money, enjoyment of the work, and coworkers/environment. If you've got 2 of the 3 you're in a good place". At Neverware I enjoy the work, I love my coworkers, and I get paid a fair salary for what I do.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Money. We're a small startup, and sometimes money is tight. Salaries have been flat for a few years. While the plan is for that to change within the year, it's still been a bit of a drag. * Sort of as a result of that we often focus on running lean, and I think I'm beginning to see some places where we're running a little too lean and it's going to hurt us in the long run. Working on turning that around. * The... "everyone who works here is great at doing their part" comes at a cost: hiring is really slow. We also are learning how to handle people who aren't doing as well as we expect.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I mean, I'm part of management, so...? I will say, in many leadership meetings we explicitly talk about how to be as truthful and nuanced as possible when communicating things to the rest of the company. I've been in a couple of meetings where we start down a path and then stop and say something along the lines of "this feels like us playing politics, let's not do that, let's just be honest". I really love this... about Neverware's management, and I hope we can really work to maintain this as people come and go from the leadership team.

    Show More
    Neverware2019-05-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A company where you actually like coming to work every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neverware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beyond the now-typical startup benefits (food, gym reimbursement, keg, equity), Neverware treats employees like adults - PTO is "unlimited" but perhaps more importantly, employees can set the hours that make sense for them instead of being forced to adhere to arbitrary rules like "Our start time is 8:30am." Of course, being treated like an adult means acting like one, too. You own your role and the expectations are... high, but everyone here is willing to support you because we all want to succeed.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's a running joke-that's-not-really-a-joke that we're all overworked and underpaid. That said, I challenge you to find a company that's this relaxed, fun, and fulfilling in terms of its product.

    Advice to Management

    Truthfully, there's nothing I could say that isn't already very well known or obvious.

    Neverware2019-04-23
  4. "Great people, great product, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neverware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engagement here is incredible. That comes as no surprise, considering the combination of a great product, an exciting startup atmosphere, and amazing people. The product, CloudReady, is simple, secure, fast, and eco-friendly, in an industry where bloatware and over-consumption seem to dominate. The people here are cooperative, smart yet willing to learn, and fun to be around. As mentioned in other reviews,... transparency is genuinely a goal here. It goes both ways: management is open with financials, general strategy, and such, while concerns can be raised, and often are, by anybody who feels the need.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's not much diversity here, even for tech standards. I get that it's not easy for a tech startup, but perhaps this is an opportunity. I'm not asking for diversity just for the sake of diversity (although that would be good, too). It would be both a precursor to, and result of inclusivity which would give us a better shot at raising performance even higher and make life and work more interesting.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to listen and be open. And thanks for creating and continuing to improve the awesome culture here!

    Neverware2019-01-21
  5. "A breath of fresh air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neverware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coming from a career working in larger corporate organizations, this place is a breath of fresh air. This is a company that doesn't just talk about building an inclusive, transparent, welcoming, fun, upbeat culture; they simply just do it. The team here is comprised of some of the smartest people I've come across and it's super-motivating working with those who care about all the little details. It's exciting to be... a part of a team that's trailblazing with a product and technology in a space where there is very little public documentation and knowledge. I have very high hopes for the future of this organization, as it seems they have the right talent, mindset and direction for success.

    Show More

    Cons

    Internal HR/benefits knowledge is a little lacking. I've pointed this out to the leadership team and it's already being addressed.

    Advice to Management

    There's a rare synergy of culture, personalities, talent and transparency that exists here; continue to keep a careful eye on this as the organization grows.

    Neverware2018-12-10
  6. "Strong Buzz!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neverware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In the last year, Neverware has accelerated its sales & marketing efforts, increased its employees and there is considerably more energy and buzz in the office than previously. A deepening relationship with Google, international expansion and significant traction with enterprise customers has made everyone in the company (from long-time veterans to new additions to the team) even more bullish about... CloudReady's place among top Operating Systems, and Neverware's place among top companies in the competitive NYC tech landscape.

    Show More

    Cons

    We're beginning to outgrow our space, which means re-arranging our office to optimize what's left, and as we grow, it will undoubtedly require us to move.

    Advice to Management

    When we move, keep the office in the same neighborhood!

    Neverware2018-12-03
  7. "Director of Worldwide Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neverware

    Pros

    Neverware is a company that truely believes in transparency and accountability across all departments. Amazing culture and opportunity to grow with a true SaaS company backed by Google

    Cons

    Working in SaaS company you need to be able to were many hats when needed.

    Advice to Management

    None at moment been amazing first 5 weeks

    Neverware2018-07-23
  8. "An enjoyable company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neverware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people that work at Neverware are brilliant and fun. It is a hard combination to find. They are also passionate about Chrome OS and the product they are introducing to the world. The office is nice and close to multiple subway lines, the kitchen is full of great food, the culture is relaxed, and leadership is very transparent.

    Cons

    It is still a small company so there are times where you will be asked to do things outside of your job title. It is also a flat company so there are not many opportunities for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Clarification on the vacation policy would be beneficial.

    Neverware2018-04-02
  9. "I really enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neverware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People - my colleagues are smart, dedicated and fun. I love coming into the office every day and working with this team. Product - CloudReady is a great product delivering true value to customers. I enjoy contributing to making it even better. I use it every day! Autonomy & Challenges - I'm given the space to perform the best work, both for myself and for Neverware. If I decide there is something I want to... take on for my personal career growth, I'm encouraged and supported to take it on. There are consistently problems to solve and I enjoy the space to work on them to support the company and learn.

    Show More

    Cons

    We're a young company and that comes with some growing pains. The flipside to being able to own a lot of work is needing to manage a lot of low level administrative details, there are not many situations where delegating that work is possible. I don't know if I would consider this a con, but certainly a reality to working here.

    Neverware2018-03-14
  10. "An awesome company that isn't afraid to get better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neverware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In my experience, Neverware is built on treating employees like adults. There are growing pains, but overall this has created a remarkable culture. Time off and working from home are self-managed and largely governed by an honor-system. That allows work/life balance to co-exist with the kind of passion and (occasional) above-and-beyond effort that helps young companies succeed. The team is still small and very... meticulous about new hires, but that's partly because everyone here could go get an easier job with less "dirty work", and is staying here to be part of something unique. Maybe not everyone's thing, but where else will you get to work on a desktop OS without being part of a mega-corporation?

    Show More

    Cons

    It isn't AI, ML, AR, VR, or any other sexy industry trend. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ The company is still in an awkward-teen-phase when it comes to establishing good managers providing the structure people need. It's happening.

    Advice to Management

    Make it count.

    Neverware2018-03-08
Found 17 reviews