Nextep Reviews | Glassdoor

Nextep Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Nextep CEO Brian Fayak (no image)
Brian Fayak
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Now that the construction is over, there are no cons(in 5 reviews)

  • "I've yet to come across anything negative here(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "The Ultimate Culture Zone - Nextep is a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Coordinator in Norman, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nextep full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A strong sense of community and philanthropy, transparency, impressive technology/ innovation and an extremely talented workforce. A steadfast culture of customer service and practicing what we preach. There is also a strong emphasis on making employees feel valued and appreciated. Nextep is a challenging, but rewarding organization that knows how to work hard, but also how to have fun! It is absolutely a great... place to work!

    Show More

    Cons

    There can be a small amount of separation of our Corporate Office from the Sales Teams. Because our 9 sales markets are outside of our corporate office location, there can be somewhat of a disconnect regarding communication However, our annual Corporate Conference helps counter that drawback. It is an opportunity for all of Nextep employees to come together, meet one another and become a cohesive Nextep unit.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing-IT IS WORKING! In my first 6 months here at Nextep, I kept expecting for the ball to drop and things to drastically change, but it certainly hasn't. Everything that was communicated when I was hired is still in practice today. I am thankful to be a part of an organization that encourages and embraces change and brings value to employees. Not only is Nextep a great place to work, but it... has improved other areas of my life as well!

    Show More
    Nextep2019-06-27
  2. "Caution!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nextep full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great customer service and internal operation standards for prospective buyers and existing clients. Helps with selling,

    Cons

    Incompetent Directors and Regional Managers. As a result, everyone fails.

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate your leadership in all markets, and ask yourself: is this model really working?!?! It’s not.

    Nextep2019-09-15
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Business Consultant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nextep full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Completely integrated technology utilizing google cloud -Clear sales process; great processes to follow and understand as a brand new sales person. Perfect for someone with no previous experience.

    Cons

    When preparing for an interview with Nextep, you will find great reviews. Nextep boasts its high glassdoor rating and claims that employee job satisfaction and happiness are high on it's priority list. I am confident that Nextep is somehow able to hide negative reviews, or they have gotten lucky and not many people have written them. Perhaps satisfaction rates are high for employees who work at headquarters, but I... can guarantee you that job satisfaction and employee happiness are not high within the Business Consultant role. Your interview will be rushed - they will make you feel like you need to start right away because of the immediate successes that you will feel in a groomed market. The realty is that you are needed immediately because of the high turnover this company feels. No market ever has a full team. In the territory I worked, I saw 5 people leave or be let go. A full team is only 6 people and I was with Nextep less than a year... You are your numbers in this position. Nextep is not looking for anyone to bring their own sales style to this job. There is not even the opportunity to develop your own elevator pitch. EVERYTHING - from proposals, initial presentations, and phone conversations - is scripted. You are expected to make a set number of calls, emails, and marketing visits in a week. Not only are you driven by activity numbers, but you are held to weekly AND monthly KPIs. If you do not hit every single number, your work ethic and approach to sales will be questioned. Nextep follows a very 80's style sales mind set but tries to emit a millenial feel. You will be told that this is a $100K+ job per year. There is potential to feel this earning potential, but it takes well over a year. The grind of the day-to-day is not realistic to keep up for a long period of time. Even if you hit your yearly revenue goal, if you go 2 months without hitting activity driven KPIs, you will be put on retention. No matter your tenure or previous success, your job is not safe for more than, give or take, 60 days at a time. I believe in the PEO model wholeheartedly and know that Nextep's approach to its customers is truly unique in the market. I believe that this company has a great product, but its approach to sales and the people who are expected to drive revenue is hurting their business. Employees are treated like activity drivers vs people - anyone can fill your spot if they can make enough phone calls in a day. Biggest con is the miscommunication about the job and the reality of the position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow people to be people. Trust that your sales team wants to make money as badly as Nextep does. Trust them when they tell you it is not in their interest to visit, call, or email an account for the 10th time - don't continue to push your team onto blocked caller and visitor lists. Allow people to bring their previous work experience to this role. Understand that Nextep should value other businesses' timelines as... much as their own if they want to be a true partner. Nextep is not selling used cars, you are selling a relationship!! First and foremost, value the relationships with your own employees. And lastly, give your employees the benefit of the doubt. Nextep has shown over and over again that at the slightest decline in performance, they will replace their employees.

    Show More
    Nextep2019-07-08

    Nextep Response

    July 12, 2019CEO

    Feedback like this gives us an important perspective because our greatest desire is for our employees to thrive in their roles. We are an open feedback company and work to find solutions for our employees when they come to us with issues. We realize that sales isn't the right ...

    Show More
  4. "Best company ever!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norman, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nextep full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working here. It is a joy to come into work every day and get to work with an incredible team of driven people. The culture here is like none other! You know you've found the best place to work when your manager and your team get onto you for responding to emails outside the work day -- that's rare in today's work culture. The people here are driven, friendly, and super helpful, and they are committed to... maintaining a healthy work/life balance. My work day goes by so quickly, and I finish my days energized. I cannot say enough good things about Nextep!

    Show More

    Cons

    I have yet to come across any. I wish there were more job opening so all my friends could work here too!

    Nextep2019-06-10

    Nextep Response

    June 17, 2019CEO

    Culture is one of those things that can make a company soar to greatness, or fail. We work hard to protect and develop our company’s culture and are so glad to have you on board!

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic Sales Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nextep full-time

    Pros

    Can learn the fundamentals of PEO. Having a personal connection/relationship with upper management will benefit you, regardless of skill.

    Cons

    Favoritism. Favoritism. Favoritism, especially in the central/northern region. Having a personal connection/relationship with upper management or have the same social or economic status, will benefit you, regardless of skill. Sorority-like mentality. Some RSMs and directors are only self-promoters and have no management skills. For most, it's their first job out of college. Exceptionally high BC turnover. Most... organizations hold their management accountable for high turnover and inability to meet team goals, not this company. Most RSMs had one good year and then were promoted. Most unable to close deals. BC is held accountable, even though poorly trained and RSMs doesn't invest time in developing their BCs. If you challenge or provide constructive criticism to management, you could end up with a target on your back, so proceed with caution. BUT, good news...If you are a favorite then they'll hold your hand and you could be considered for a promotion, regardless of skill. You're looked down upon if you don't participate in drinking events or want to connect with all on social media, even if you believe people have a right to keep their professional and personal lives separate. And they don't practice their core values.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    RSMs and some directors need to be held accountable. Stop with the favoritism.

    Nextep2019-06-07

    Nextep Response

    June 11, 2019CEO

    We appreciate your feedback. People are our first priority, which is why we encourage open communication with all management levels. All of our sales leaders have worked in sales at Nextep and have been promoted based on excellent performance and leadership skills. With the exciting ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Unbeatable culture and a hunger to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nextep full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People and culture, the talent level of the team, transparency, prioritization of training, respected reputation, growing company, dedication to values internally and externally.

    Cons

    No notable cons to speak of. A growing company can shuffle a bit as it expands, but it's not a negative aspect.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value and protect Nextep's culture as the company continues to grow.

    Nextep2019-04-10
  7. "Think twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norman, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nextep full-time

    Pros

    Nice office, benefits are decent but not great

    Cons

    Political, can’t trust anyone, company image is valued more than employees, low pay, stressful

    Nextep2019-01-08

    Nextep Response

    March 13, 2019CEO

    While we hold our culture dear, our very highest priority is our people. Getting honest and timely feedback is important to us so that we have a chance to address any unhappiness or improve in areas where it's needed. We appreciate your feedback and would like to hear more.

  8. Helpful (7)

    "Business Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Consultant in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nextep full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is really nice. Especially at the corporate level. The culture at headquarters is truly one of the best I've seen. Love how they give so much back to the community.

    Cons

    Ok, so to sum it up, this is NOT an outside sales roll. You are more or less, a glorified appointment setter. Be prepared to hammer the phones. If you do not like cold calling, this is not a position for you. As far as meetings go, be prepared to memorize a 10 page script and be able to recite it word for word during these meetings. They have a system, and they don't allow you to change or alter it in any way. And... it works for them. But if you are coming from a true outside sales roll, this will be a miserable experience for you. This is the most micromanaged positions I've ever seen. Some people work well under that, I did not.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please be more upfront to your candidates regarding the actual day to day lifestyle. Please inform them this is a cold-calling, micromanaged type of position. That you don't give them freedom to be themselves, that you will transform them into the machine you need to make the system work. This isn't a bad thing, this works for a lot of people, but candidates should really know how it works prior to accepting a... position as a "Business Consultant."

    Show More
    Nextep2018-11-20

    Nextep Response

    November 26, 2018CEO

    Thank you for your candid feedback. In our experience, our training program and process garners the most positive feedback from our salespeople. Many attribute their long-term success to having a clear path, with experienced managers who help them on a day-to-day basis. Nearly ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Business Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nextep full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is amazing, you won't find an employer that is doing the same thing that Nextep is. The management gives you unlimited resources in order for you to reach the goals that you want to reach. The work/life balance and freedom you have is amazing!

    Cons

    There is nothing that I would chance at Nextep.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice other than to keep doing what you are doing.

    Nextep2018-10-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Operation Support Speacialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Support Specialist in Norman, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nextep full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility Family oriented Positive work environment Genuine people Feeling Valued I started towards the end of June and was getting married in August. I couldn't believe that I actually started with PTO available to use for our honeymoon.

    Cons

    I can not think of any negatives.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going above and beyond for your employees. It makes a difference knowing that you are valued.

    Nextep2018-10-30
Found 85 reviews