Nipsco Reviews | Glassdoor

Nipsco Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Violet Sistovaris
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nipsco

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with!

    Cons

    No problems with the job!

    Nipsco2018-10-30
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GAs Operations Supervisor in Merrillville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nipsco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are well equipped and the pay is decent. The company invests a lot in its employees

    Cons

    Union environment makes it hard to serve the customers. Broken processes need fixed.

    Nipsco2019-05-29
  3. "Great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Station Electrician 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nipsco full-time

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are great with optional overtime.

    Cons

    Management don't care about you and will close a power plant without telling you what they will do with you.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest to employees.

    Nipsco2019-04-13
  4. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nipsco full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to start new division

    Cons

    New opportunities, stifled by old management style.

    Nipsco2019-03-27
  5. "One of best employers in area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Valparaiso, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nipsco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, flexible schedules

    Cons

    Attitudes of hourly employees can be hard to work around

    Nipsco2019-03-26
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nipsco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I cant really think of one

    Cons

    Way too many to list

    Advice to Management

    Sell to another electric utility

    Nipsco2019-02-14
  7. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Nipsco full-time

    Pros

    Good compensation, responsible for own work load, learn a lot of information that helps you in every day life even.

    Cons

    Sometimes a lot of orders come in at once and you are expected to get them done whether you work overtime or not. Though the company has an overtime policy, it is kind of frowned upon to get paid overtime for anything except storm duty.

    Nipsco2018-10-05
  8. "Great company to work for, in part because they have both union and company employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distribution Clerk in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nipsco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, amazing benefits and vacation, room for upward mobility, they hire from within

    Cons

    industrial working environment, some offices are male dominated

    Nipsco2018-06-27
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nipsco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, everyone in my office is friendly and always willing to help each other, lot of opportunities if saught after

    Cons

    Upper management changes relatively often, not much of a con but new supervisor can have a different outlook on some topics so there's a brief adjustment period

    Nipsco2018-06-01
  10. "Great Place to Work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nipsco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are good at what you do, you are given a lot of flexibility at your job. Projects range from simple to complex and you have the ability to take on new challenges. It’s both an independent and team environment as you can lean on senior staff and management when need be. Benefits are great, although the cost of health insurance is alway increasing. If you work hard and accomplish your tasks, you will receive a good...

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is inefficient and can be wasteful with rate payer money. It’s hard to implement change in areas beyond your control. The labor union, which I support, has maybe too much power in that many union staff have become complacent and ineffective.

    Advice to Management

    Create accountability for union staff and follow the money. Some construction contractors are taking advantage of lax oversight and poor contracts to take in the dough at the expense of the ratepayer.

    Nipsco2018-05-18
Found 56 reviews