KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

NoRedInk

Is this your company?

NoRedInk

Add a Review

NoRedInk Reviews

Updated Nov 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 30 reviews

4.6
88%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
NoRedInk Founder/CEO Jeff Scheur
Jeff Scheur
24 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,873

959 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Organized and Proactive

    Sep 3, 2021 - Virtual Trainer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company and its managers have their act together and are truly strong leaders who care about their teams. Wonderful, supportive environment. Remote work makes the hours more flexible. The company is always striving to improve and the website is continually being upgraded based on relevancy and customer feedback.

    Cons

    Nothing to add as cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great but growing

    Nov 2, 2021 - Education Consultant in Oceanside, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employees at NoRedInk are genuinely wonderful people. Collectively, the leadership and employees at NoRedInk create an authentic culture that promotes self-awareness and self-actualization as a means to increase performance. In my time there, the company sponsored several events and company-wide trainings to provide personal growth opportunities. Additionally, NoRedInk backs up their values by providing employees with unlimited vacation time, remote work opportunities, and above-average benefits (e.g. fantastic maternity leave package). On top of the positive attributes of NoRedInk's work culture, the company is mission-driven, and leadership excels at staying focused on a clear vision. Jeff's (Founder/CEO) focus on doing a few things extremely well saves the company from frivolously spending resources, and everything in the product is created with rigorous intention.

    Cons

    At the same time, the company's unwavering focus on doing specific things in specific ways translates to a shade of distrust in the culture. In my time at NoRedInk, I saw impressionable, young employees do well, but I also saw seasoned professionals run through a revolving door as their expertise was denied time and time again. My interpretation of this pattern is that young professionals can put trust in NoRedInk, but NoRedInk has great difficulty in trusting seasoned employees and capitalizing on their experiences. A number of senior members mentioned to me on their way out that they never did the jobs they were hired to do, and I experienced this as well. I was told in my interview explicitly that teammates would report to me, have 1:1s, and escalate questions to me. (My reference can attest to this story, since she was asked about how I would perform as a manager prior to my joining the company.) Instead, I was treated like a junior employee, and my greatest contributions to the team were funneled through other people. Intentional or not, at times I definitely felt stifled. I considered leaving early on, but felt very torn between having a positive attitude and being a great teammate (in any capacity) -- and being recognized for my professional skills and experience. Just like in any company, there is a balance between contributing to a group identity and retaining your own individual one. I stayed on and decided I would use the opportunity to learn about and practice leadership (from any role) and collaboration. In the end, though, I learned that the saying "title doesn't matter" is only partially true. At some point, title absolutely does matter - it describes the relationships between employees - and title will be the difference between the same exact conversation being appropriate or not. I also felt that my potential would never be expressed in the company because - despite a perfect record of exceeding performance goals for 14 quarters in a row and going above and beyond my job title to lay foundations for infrastructure and processes still in use today - I still received mediocre performance reviews (e.g. growth feedback to send the exact same email on the exact same day as other teammates, despite our working in different territories/ client segments) and never felt that I was truly recognized for what I know and can do in the industry. Instead, our company once themed a retreat based on a project I completed, and the message was that "a good idea can come from anywhere." While this is absolutely true and an important value to genuinely live by, it's also true that sometimes - professionally - "good ideas" are rooted in expertise, experience, and best practices passed down from mentors. I was honored by the callout and grateful for the chance to do something different from team processes, but what I really wanted was to be recognized as the professional I am; and for my "good ideas" to be seen for what they are - industry best practices. Especially because I've experienced other work environments, I cannot help but feel that after numerous, unprofessional, unpleasant encounters at NoRedInk, my being a strong, straight woman was disadvantageous to my chances of success there. There is still just one woman on the entire L-team at NoRedInk (the other one lasted a few months) - and in my entire time at the company, we never reached the 3-person minimum at the leadership table to make any cultural difference. This is NOT to say that I believe all leaders at NoRedInk hold biased beliefs; but I do believe that where power is most concentrated, there is noticeable room for growing a diverse mindset. In sum, I highly recommend NoRedInk for young professionals or for employees seeking to try something new in their careers. If one of your main assets is your field expertise and you want to work at NoRedInk, it can work - just be prepared to follow the leader and go with the flow.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    yes

    Aug 17, 2021 - Sales Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work life balance fun work envirmonent great growth oppurtunity for new college graduates and ability to learn new skills and tasks

    Cons

    there are not many cons it is an awesome place to work and you are going to make decent money and still be learning at the same time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company

    May 13, 2021 - Manager, Customer Success 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Winning organization Strong Leadership Employee Development Growth Opportunities

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Company!

    Apr 15, 2021 - Partnership Development Representative in Temple, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote, flexible, cares about teachers & students, stays true to its core values

    Cons

    None come to mind at this moment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Very thorough and purposeful onboarding

    Apr 26, 2021 - Account Executive in Carmel, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very collaborative, bright and inquisitive colleagues

    Cons

    I was automatically assigned a MacBook Pro. I haven't used a Mac in over 20 years. I find that learning a new device is distracting me from focusing on the work I need to learn in order to be successful in my role.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company with a mission that matters!

    Apr 12, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Steady and responsible leadership, both from managers and C-level. This is the best run company I've been a part of! It's refreshing to have focus and not tons of pivots. - Wonderful people. They hire reliable, kind, and smart folks. - Good product that helps teachers. The writing tools are especially strong. The company makes good investments into the product and listens to customer feedback. - Good benefits. Paying for 100% of healthcare is great! - Zero drama (from my experience anyway!) It's so awesome to not have work stress outside of work.

    Cons

    - Methods and processes can feel overly careful. I wonder if the emphasis on structure can sometimes stifle creativity. - Some work needed on a cohesive company voice, brand, UX touches that delight, etc. They just hired more marketing folks recently, which is great! - Career growth can feel intimidating due to structured growth rubrics. I must say though, there is a good track record of promoting internally. - Lack of 401k match - Efforts are made to connect employees but overall vibe lacks a true community feel.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Rigorous Standards and Fair

    Feb 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Inclusive culture, focus on equity, learning and growth

    Cons

    Rigorous pursuit of excellence can lead to more deliberate decision making processes than I've seen in other fast-paced start ups

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A team committed to continuous improvement

    Jan 26, 2021 - Implementation Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dedicated, driven team Mission-oriented company and co-workers Great opportunity to make an impact in education outside of the classroom

    Cons

    Find it hard to say "no" at times and set boundaries. That's an individual challenge that becomes less relevant as bandwidth increases and teams grow. We've been a bit slower to adapt in some situations than I think was necessary, but I do think the team is committed to getting it right rather than being right.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to focus on continuous learning and growth

    Jan 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - very smart and dedicated leaders who are experts in their fields - supportive and kind colleagues! - mission-driven culture with employees who genuinely care and are passionate about education

    Cons

    - can sometimes be too academic and process-focused for a start-up environment. - more structured than many start-ups which is great in many respects, such as supporting internal equity, but can pose some limitations in terms of flexible approaches to solve challenges

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

NoRedInk Reviews FAQs

88% of NoRedInk employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated NoRedInk 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at NoRedInk to be management, career development, senior leadership and the cons to be compensation .

Popular Careers with NoRedInk Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at NoRedInk? Share Your Experiences

or