O2 Reviews | Glassdoor

O2 Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
O2 CEO Mark Evans
Mark Evans
198 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pension contributions & flexible working policy including home working(in 57 reviews)

  • "The company is working hard to deliver on work life balance and they do it amazingly well(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "The business is very focused in Head Office, (Slough) meaning lots of early starts and very late finishes(in 11 reviews)

  • "Lack of understanding work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Review of O2 (Telefonica UK)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Research Writer in East Berkshire, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at O2 for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly company, considerate attitude towards employees and contractors. The company carries out many stimulating, creative projects. Combines friendly, supportive attitude with a high level of competence and professional approach to work.

    Cons

    Sometimes the pressure of work (dealines) is excessive.

    O22017-02-06

    O2 Response

    January 26, 2018Resourcing Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really do appreciate it. Great to see that you had many positives whilst working for us, this makes us really happy as our employees make o2 the great place it is to work. We take on board your cons and at times our work can be pressured but we do promote that our employees have a healthy work/life balance and we do operate an open door policy so if any of our employees felt stressed or pressured then we are here to support. We can see that you no longer work for us so thank you for being part of the o2 family and that your career is going well.

    Show Less
  2. "PM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Environment, variety of work, facilities

    Cons

    Governance systems and risk based methodologies

    O22019-10-11

    O2 Response

    October 14, 2019Social Reputation Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for leaving us a review. We’re glad to read you enjoyed the working environment and your role in general. It’s difficult to comment on the cons you have mentioned, without more information but we will take these on board. We can see you no longer work with us so we hope your career is going well. Thanks again.

    Show Less
  3. "Review O2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Risk Analytics Manager in Leeds, England

    I have been working at O2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, work from home policy, flexibility

    Cons

    Extra hours not paid, small team

    O22019-10-08

    O2 Response

    October 9, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to see you have such a good working environment and benefit from flexible working and working from home. For your cons, we’d always recommend to our people to speak to their manager in the first instance, to see if any other arrangements can be made for your hours of working. We can see you’re still working with us, so do hope you continue being part of the O2 family.

    Show Less
  4. "Very reliable employer, good work package."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Performance & Analytics Designer in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to shape your carrier path.

    Cons

    Too small capacity of parking lot at Slough HQ

    O22019-10-01

    O2 Response

    October 2, 2019Social Reputation Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for leaving a review. We’re glad to hear you felt there were lots of development opportunities when working for us, as this is something we do like to support our people with. In regards to your con about parking, we’re aware of some issues with parking at our head office in Slough and we’re working to find a solution for this asap. Thanks again for leaving a review and we hope your career is going well.

    Show Less
  5. "In at the deep end."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - O2 Guru 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started my role at only 19 (now 20) my first time in retail and as part of a leadership team. Through my unique circumstances in my store I have got to experience all aspects of store leadership. Not only have I been able to help our customers but I have been able to help run the store and cover for my manager. In the almost year I have been with O2 I have gained so much experience and been able to start growing... my skills in several areas.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of training opportunities. My induction training wasn’t until two months in to my career at O2. The lack of training available has meant I’ve had to teach myself the role and I feel that I could be a greater asset to the company with more training.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more time and money in to training. We are the face of the company and we need to be on the ball from the start. Although we have some brilliant how-to guides and information available on the intranet nothing beats old fashion training, even just providing store leaders a more detailed training guide for new-starters or people new in to their role.

    O22019-10-15

    O2 Response

    October 18, 2019Social Reputation Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for leaving a review. We’re glad to hear you’re enjoying working with us and in your first year, have already gained some really valuable skills for your future career. In regards to training, we’d recommend to feed this back to your store leader as you should have had some training sessions scheduled when you first joined us. If you manager doesn’t have the training guides they need, they can contact their regional leader about this in their first instance. Our HR team are also on hand to help if you or your manager would like to discuss this further. We hope you continue to work with us for many more years. Thanks.

    Show Less
  6. "Good salary, bad management choices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guru 

    I have been working at O2 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fantastic perks free airtime on phone and tablet access to perkbox opportunity to win tickets to o2 arena's

    Cons

    staff turnover management communication always looking to cut costs in any way possible including loosing staff

    O22019-10-13

    O2 Response

    October 14, 2019Social Reputation Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We’re glad to read you enjoy the staff perks we offer for our people. In regards to your cons, it’s difficult to comment on this without more info but we would recommend to speak with your line manager about this in the first instance. Our HR team are also on hand if there is anything you wish to discuss further. Thanks again for your review and we hope you continue to work with us for many more years.

    Show Less
  7. "O2 part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount Fun Family like team Competitive bonus Liked working with latest phones

    Cons

    Competitive targets at times Bonus scheme always changing Needs to have more perks to staff Customers can be too demanding Most expensive phone network

    O22019-10-11

    O2 Response

    October 14, 2019Social Reputation Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for leaving a review. We’re glad to hear you enjoy the benefits of working with us and get along well with your colleagues. In regards to your bonus targets, it’s difficult to comment on this without more info but we would recommend to speak with your line manager about this in the first instance but we know that last week we did announce a change to bonus which was received really well in stores so hope that has made a difference. We’ll take your feedback on board regarding more staff perks. Thanks again for leaving a review.

    Show Less
  8. "10 years and going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Specialist in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, brilliant colleagues, excellent senior leadership team

    Cons

    None I can think of

    O22019-09-26

    O2 Response

    September 26, 2019Resourcing Consultant

    10 years - that is a great achievement, thanks for being part of the o2 family and for leaving us a really nice review. Here's to the next 10 years.

  9. "Technical Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Analyst in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, benefits and training

    Cons

    You're in that corporate bubble where most things need to follow process.

    O22019-10-09

    O2 Response

    October 10, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Hello and thanks for your review. We’re pleased to see you have a great working atmosphere and enjoy the benefits available at O2 – our staff perks are what really make us stand out as an employer. It’s also great to hear you consider training one of your pros too, as we invest heavily in our people with things such as our digital learning platform, O2 Campus. For your cons, processes are often necessary when working in such a fast moving industry, but we are currently going through some internal transformation which will bring together and simplify many areas of the business. We’ll certainly take your feedback about this on board though so thanks for this. We see you’re still working with us, so do hope you continue working as part of the O2 family.

    Show Less
  10. "Overall a really enjoyable experience however a lot of that depends on your store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O2 part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff phone tariff makes it really cheap and discount on accessories is good too. You also got a really good discount for friends and family but this has been cut hugely since I left from 60 to 10 discounts (forever, not per year). I had a really good store and initially managers were helpful and laid back Pay was relatively good Flexible with shifts to fit university timetable

    Cons

    Area manager was unsupportive, highly focused on sales without addressing overarching problems in the store that were leading to bad sales and morale Very little scope for progression

    O22019-10-07

    O2 Response

    October 8, 2019Social Media Reputation Specialist

    Hi, thanks for your review. Great to hear you had a relaxed working atmosphere, and the benefits and pay on offer were to your liking – our staff perks are what really make us stand out as an employer and our basic salaries and bonuses are up there with some of the best in today’s market. For your cons, staff perks can change from time to time to ensure we’re offering the best range of benefits to our people, but we’ll take your feedback about this on board. As you found little scope for progression, we’d always recommend to our people to speak to their manager in the first instance to ensure they are kept in mind for any opportunities that arise and all of our vacancies are advertised internally so that everyone can see what development/progression is on offer. It’s disappointing to hear you found your area manager unsupportive. We do hope that you did speak to them directly about this but we have our My HR team on hand who can also support with any concerns so unsure if you reached out to them. We can see you’re no longer working with us, so wish you the best of luck in your future career.

    Show Less
Found 428 reviews
</>Embed