OLG Reviews | Glassdoor

OLG Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 195 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Rigby
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lottery in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OLG for less than a year

    Pros

    none at all. no pros at all.

    Cons

    the whole place is bad

    Advice to Management

    redue it

    OLG2017-06-24

    OLG Response

    June 28, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your feedback with us. We read each of our reviews and take them seriously.

  2. Helpful (5)

    "Dont wor kherer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OLG part-time

    Pros

    Friendly people to work with

    Cons

    Not alot of growth within company

    OLG2013-03-13

    OLG Response

    February 13, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your feedback with us. We read each of our reviews and take them seriously.

  3. "Good pay & Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cage & Coin Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OLG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Pension. Lots of layers to allow for promotions.

    Cons

    Everything takes for ever. Because there is a manager, senior manager and VP of everything it takes for ever for decisions to be made.

    OLG2019-08-12
  4. "CSR/Ambassador/business developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host 

    I worked at OLG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, meet new people,

    Cons

    Political parties decisions effect Government agencies directly

    OLG2019-08-06
  5. "Happy with the experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing - Gaming in North York, ON

    I worked at OLG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management in my particular line of business had some excellent leaders. Opportunities did present themselves to move around and gain valuable experience.

    Cons

    Red tape of a crown corporation made some work redundant or needless. It's an office job. There is a lot of sitting at desks often at cubicles. It's not necessarily a "con" but a fact that it isn't the best thing for one's mental or physical health.

    OLG2019-07-30
  6. "great pay! depressing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Ajax, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OLG part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great pay and great learning experience with room for growth!

    Cons

    patron activity is very depressing

    OLG2019-07-28
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Analyst 

    I worked at OLG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible work, great work pace, good salaries

    Cons

    lots of red tape

    OLG2019-07-26
  8. "Toxic at best - run far far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OLG for less than a year

    Pros

    - Some great people - Downtown location

    Cons

    - Life/work balance - Not a lot of opportunity to grow - Clique / very high school - Corrupt management - Working almost every Saturday - Cannot take time off as a temporary worker or you will be looked down upon - Acquiring a full-time position is extremely difficult - No overtime for temporary workers - Temporary workers work more hours than full-time workers and don't receive proper compensation.

    Advice to Management

    - Value your employees - Encourage a better work/life balance

    OLG2019-08-09
  9. "Government funded but privately run, no need for experience as they'll promote you if you're connected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OLG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    amazing team in my department, great benefits, minimum 3 weeks vacation, flex work week

    Cons

    long hours, you have to be in a clique to belong, monthly parking for employees is expensive, pay is low

    Advice to Management

    it's sad that experienced people who are qualified for a role get overlooked because someone with no experience knows the hiring manager or is well connected; shame on upper management to turn a blind eye; stop wasting government money on foolish appointments, hire according to experience - I would have stayed if it didn't operate as a private company

    OLG2019-08-02
  10. "Great Compensation But Horrible Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Slot Operations Supervisor in Brantford, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OLG part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money, benefits, some of the people

    Cons

    over-reliance on precarious employment, dishonest, bullying management very clique-ish, not customer-focused, people

    Advice to Management

    Be honest, eliminate the bullying culture and deal with real not "the game"

    OLG2019-07-27
Found 195 reviews