Octagon Reviews | Glassdoor

Octagon Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 188 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Octagon CEO Rick Dudley
Rick Dudley
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and didn't see a lot of games(in 20 reviews)

  • "Low pay, especially for amount of time an effort you put in(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    ""All-In""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octagon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Just got back from our All Company Meeting which happened over 3-days in Springfield, MA. This time together with my colleagues reinforced for me what a great agency Octagon is. The commitment Octagon shows to its employees was showcased through-out our time there. We were involved, we had the chance to learn, showcase our successes and most importantly we had the opportunity to have fun and interact with one... another. Key take-aways: great ppl, great work and a real investment to be the best.

    Show More

    Cons

    Still need to continue to move the needle on becoming more competitive in the marketplace related to salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing related to inclusive diversity.

    Octagon2019-03-29
  2. "Overall, Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ACCOUNT TRAINEE in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octagon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office in Stamford stocked with food, lots of opportunities to travel, awesome community, can easily jump in and help other teams, working in the sports world, upper management is awesome

    Cons

    Pay isn't great even after you advance to become an account exec or account manager (especially for cost of living in East Coast), Only so much advancement that you can do, "Cool tax" for working in sports

    Advice to Management

    Everything was

    Octagon2019-06-05
  3. "The high side of agency life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Octagon full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful culture of inclusiveness and openness. HQ is new and beautiful overlooking the water. A lot of work depends on the client you work for, but Octagon works hard to support their staff and be an advocate. Traveled the world.

    Cons

    At the will of the client, agencies never sleep. Not always the most clear about potential for upward mobility, left guessing about opportunities for promotions. You do the work for the awesome experiences, not for the pay.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in professional development. A very young culture is great and energizing, but often felt there was a disconnect with such young core and older management - nothing much in the middle.

    Octagon2019-08-09
  4. "Good Life Balance, Poor Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Octagon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance is highly valued Kind People Big retainer clients

    Cons

    Upper management is mostly male Pay is not competitive

    Octagon2019-08-02
  5. "What to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - ACCOUNT TRAINEE 

    I have been working at Octagon full-time

    Pros

    Able to work from home.

    Cons

    Can get boring at times and repetative

    Octagon2019-07-08

    Octagon Response

    July 29, 2019VP, Talent Acquisition

    Hi there. Thanks for your comments. We've got lots of work - - some super cool and interesting and some stuff that is routine day-to-day that goes along with the rest. That being said, if you aren't being challenged, raise your hand, we may not know. We are always looking for folks to participate in other work, whether on your current team or other. For us, taking initiative and ownership is just as important as experience in a related field or area of expertise.

    Show Less
  6. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - ACCOUNT TRAINEE 

    I have been working at Octagon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is great experience right out of college.

    Cons

    I don't think it is for everyone.

    Octagon2019-04-29
  7. "World Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Director 

    I worked at Octagon full-time

    Pros

    Rewards Excellent Work (Recognition) Great Clients Office Location

    Cons

    Small Raises & Bonuses Unable to Transfer to different BU

    Octagon2019-04-16
  8. "Great Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octagon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, challenging multidisciplinary work, good company culture, regular access to senior management, flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Company structure inhibits growth at senior levels.

    Octagon2019-03-30

    Octagon Response

    April 6, 2019Talent Acquisition Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to share a review! It's great to know that your time with us has been rewarding. We pride ourselves on our open door policy to senior management and know that being flexible helps our people to accomplish great work. With our new structure, focused on specialized specialists, we're confident that employees at all levels will have the opportunity to gain a stellar level of expertise. If you'd like to share your thoughts or insights as to how we can promote growth at the senior levels we'd love to hear them! Feel free to send us a note at opportunities@octagon.com. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Show Less
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Octagon full-time

    Pros

    Teams are very welcoming, the work is challenging but exciting, and the office is great

    Cons

    Travel can come up very last minute

    Octagon2019-03-22
  10. "We can do better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ~Employee ~ in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Octagon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Culture and Awesome Perks.

    Cons

    The company struggles with equal pay across the board as it relates to women and people of color getting equal pay to white men.

    Advice to Management

    The Support Service Groups are not treated equally when it comes to "salary". Employees understand their position do not generate revenue, but they are important and should feel valued.

    Octagon2019-04-19

    Octagon Response

    April 30, 2019SVP, People and Culture

    First, let me congratulate you on 10+ years of service and thank you for your dedication to our company. In regards to your comments, I can assure you that our compensation philosophy and practices are based on performance, and not influenced by race or gender. We have instituted various compensation committees to help ensure that visibility and participation in salary decisions is not limited to senior leadership. To hear that you don’t believe you are valued is very concerning to me as every department is critical to our business success. I would greatly welcome the opportunity to talk with you and learn more about your concerns and your experiences within our company. I hope to hear from you.

    Show Less
Found 188 reviews