Open Solutions Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Open Solutions President and CEO Jeffery W. Yabuki
Jeffery W. Yabuki
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very good for Work life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • "work from home culture nurtured recently which is an add on(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is in chaos mode(in 5 reviews)

  • "As per my previous organizations Senior management targets were visibly in line with process goals but here they are in completely opposite directions(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fiserv has provided new life which will allow OSI to pursue it's full potential.

      May 30, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challenging, remote employee, flexible, great customer base

      Cons

      There are a lot of information gaps due to company restructuring which was a result of the banking bust.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      No clear direction wherewe are going but there are many layoffs so the flexibility and location are keeping me here.

      May 26, 2011 - Network Engineer in Cherry Hill, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You have direct input to make change. It has all the potential to become an industry leader if the senior team focuses on thier core deliverables. Managers are flexible with hours. There is investement in technology.

      Cons

      The products clearly show the company's lack of investment into quailty and care. Upper management ignores the few quality products it has acquired. It is either a false or delusional belief that what they have is great however, sales speak for themselves. Make a good product and it sells itself, everyone but the senior team seems to understand this. Layoffs occur while we are being told ther company is doing great and we have the best in the industry which leads to a very poor corporate culture. Senior team is a good ol boys club many hired from the same company.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Live for today at Open Solutions

      Oct 26, 2008 - Consultant in Glastonbury, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are very likely worse places to work. Truly, it isn't such a bad place to work...it just isn't a good place.

      Cons

      CEO has no clue about our business or how it is run, though he seems to be good at acquiring companies and then mismanaging their content. The company is only interested in making decisions that will lead to the greatest profit TODAY. There is no interest in making decisions that would make more money in the long run (anything longer than 1 week!). In my department (Implementations) the staff is horribly overworked, and continually looked upon as the cause of all problems with customers, despite the fact that customer reviews continually note how overworked our group is, and how consistently poor the software is.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Was Great in the beginning, then went downhill fast

      Jun 13, 2011 -  in Glastonbury, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It used to be a fun place to work. Most of the people are great people to work with. We used to have a great Product. The great Product and most of the people that made that product great (Development) have been let go.

      Cons

      Most of the non-management works are great people. Some of the Managers are good people and some SHOULD NOT be in the position they are in. We have many layers of management that is not needed. They do not share info with the employees and always tell us how we are doing so well. Yet we are closing office everywhere, if that is how we are doing OK . Who ever is feeding into that is clearly delusional. Our cleints are not stupid and can read between the lines why can Management!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Stay away from this sweat shop.

      Dec 8, 2008 -  in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you want to work long hours and be screamed at to boot by people who have no idea on how to run a company this is the place to go. Lower level workers for the most part are nice and bust their humps trying to make things right but for the most part they are being abused by type a+ mean personalities in upper levels.

      Cons

      Management is totally and I mean totally incompetent. 80+ work hour weeks are the norm in the financial area. Forget about getting any type of positive feedback on any work you've done. It's all negative feedback and it's all about the blame game. For a software company it's almost comical how bad their internal systems really are. The bus is always being warmed up at this company just in case some one needs to be tossed under it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Transformation is complete and life is good

      Apr 22, 2010 - Vice President of Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open Solutions has some of the highest caliber people I have ever worked with. We experienced exponential growth over the past 6 years and had to make some changes that have been hard on our clients. It also created a workload that cause some good people to fall out. We now have a president with an operational/service background and he has put quality people and strong disciplines in place to enable us to scale for the next 20 years. We rewrote our entire front end and our clients are now seeing the benefits and glowing about the changes at our annual conference.

      Cons

      We still have some work to do. Open Solutions has a tendency to bite off more than it can chew and that puts a lot of pressure on our employees. Better than being stagnant though.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Most improved banking software company

      Apr 22, 2010 - Manager in Glastonbury, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Huge improvements in service and leadership from 2 years ago. The company has invested millions in software and internal systems. Teamwork is improving and there are a lot of very dedicated long-time employees that keep the wheels turning. The company has the most modern platforms in the industry but there was a lot of pain in getting there. Good place to move up in the ranks due to the growth.

      Cons

      Fast moving company in competitive market and the bar is high so there are heavy demands on employees time. Need to phase out the legacy platforms but I beleve there is a plan in the works for all except one which will be kept long term.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      If you don't have a life and enjoy worrying about your job stability, join the OSI team.

      Sep 10, 2012 - Account Manager in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Core is a great product with ongoing creativity for development, albeit limited. CEO is advocate for clients. Employees are the best of breed and really great people. It used to be a great place to work with a family atmosphere.

      Cons

      Other products purchased through the years are not developed. Financials are questionable, service and product development stripped down to just get by. Consistent reductions for many years, ongoing. Employees don't feel secure about their future are are overworked. Unless you are "in" no opportunities. Regardless of delivery or years of dedication, you are "let go" without trying to find another area where your expertise could be used. Worked long and hard hours, including nights and weekends. Road Warrior is putting it mildly. No contribution to 401k. Needs to be purchased by someone who cares in order to go to next level.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Had to grow up sometime

      Oct 13, 2008 - Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The environment at corp. HQ in Glastonbury is very clean, modern and new - very nice building. For me the, flexibility was very good (work from home and move hour around when I needed to), my peers were wonderful, and the bosses I worked for were not stiffs and were liberal with the expense accounts as a reward for working hard or strange hours. Going out with coworkers and your boss picking up the tab made up for aggravation of odd hours, etc. It also went far to build teamwork and better get along with those you work with. There was this work hard/play hard mentality at Open for awhile and the comradeship it build was a powerful thing and drove us to do some great things and worked to build respect between coworkers. Seriously, I don't think that most management in a lot of companies realizes how far this sort of thing goes in building team work and lifting moral when times are tough. I also felt that I had the latitude to work with little oversight and could put together tech solutions whatever way I saw fit so I guess you can say that for me I felt empowered in my job. This is strange to say but I feel the senior management was pretty competent, specifically the CEO is relay sharp as well as some of the other senior leadership I spoke with or worked with.

      Cons

      Well any smaller company will demand more work from employees I feel so there were some long days, but not necessarily routinely. The bigger problem was that the company lost a lot of its 'charm' once they started acquiring other companies and rapidly growing. When the moved into the new building that was so nice and scrapped the jeans/T-shirt dress code for business casual I knew days were numbered. Yes I know small companies need to grow up but this was sad a sign that things were going to become more corporate. Sure enough one acquisition after another the company lost its personable feel and started to become more political. Politics eventually overwhelmed the desire to find the best solution but rather the best solution given some unnecessary constraints (as set by politics). As is typical after several acquisitions products were eliminated or consolidated, sometimes loosing some people associated with them. This caused confusion in some cases as people previously comfortable with the products they worked with suddenly owned something entirely foreign to them which caused support issues and frustration in general. Also with the infusion of many people from other companies talents were overlooked because responsibility of products or services was moved to some other office. I hear that this continues to be the case from the folks that I keep i touch with that haven't moved on yet.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Leading the Charge

      Apr 22, 2010 -  in Glastonbury, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast-paced, innovative, great team of people. New senior team is very engaged and willing to try new ways. Implementation of Lean/Six Sigma has laid the foundation for solid growth.

      Cons

      Fast-paced environment is not for employees looking to coast. Middle management and senior team have very high standards for work in quality and professionalism.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 108 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Open Solutions Job Seekers

    Marketing
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Open Solutions? Share Your Experiences

    Open Solutions logo
    or