KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

OppFi

Engaged Employer

OppFi

Add a Review

OppFi Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 235 of over 248 reviews

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
OppFi CEO Todd Schwartz
Todd Schwartz
8 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "The Loan Advocates complain so much about upper management.(in 6 reviews)
  • "CEO has no idea how to run an org and would rather talk about his boat and company parties than address the actual issues.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Lack of diversity on the corporate side created tension between customer service 'loan advocates' and operations.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Before I never met with my supervisor to talk performance.(in 5 reviews)
  • "After three weeks, my manager got upset on what I wrote on their communication platform, and blamed my second job for my illness and stated that 'HE MADE A MISTAKE IN BRINGING ME ON AND FIRED ME!' I felt so foolish leaving a job that I have been at for almost two years to come work for this glorified, payday lender with interest rates that is absolutely ridiculous!(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of OppFi and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Awesome place

    Jun 21, 2022 - Underwriter in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the company and benefits

    Cons

    No cons, company is amazing

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    OppFi Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear about your positive experience!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Up and Coming

    Jun 15, 2022 - Servicing Strategy in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, remote work, decent benefits, flex vacation time, up and coming - dreaming big

    Cons

    The vision is a little wishy washy with the SEC announcement and multiple CEOs in a short period of time. It's relative to the times though and should work itself out.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    OppFi Response

    Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad that you appreciate our remote work philosophy, flexible PTO, and benefits options. Our team invested a lot of time and energy to come up with a set of offerings that aligns with the needs of our team members and helps us attract new colleagues. Thank you, also, for your feedback regarding our vision. We will continue to look for opportunities to articulate it as clearly as possible, take questions, and frame it in the context of the evolving market forces. Manny Chagas, Chief Operating Officer

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Blown away by my experience!

    Jun 21, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    OppFi has been a breath of fresh air. The culture is inclusive and so incredibly positive, benefits are second to none and opportunities are endless. I’ve never felt cared for at a company like I do at OppFi. They care about their employees and create the forums for voices to be heard, they give everyone a seat at the table and are genuinely excited to have you on the team. Senior leadership’s excitement around the mission of OppFi is contagious and it didn’t take long for me to be all in and feel like we are really making a difference!

    Cons

    Coming onboard amidst leadership turnover was a little unsettling BUT they were open and explained the why which helped to ease my mind and provided stability and established trust.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    OppFi Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am happy to hear that you’ve had a positive onboarding experience and are enjoying the culture, benefits and mission of OppFi. We will continue to work hard to ensure all our employees feel valued and excited about the company’s outlook. Leadership turnover can be challenging but we will continue to be transparent and proactive in our communications. Thank you again! Michelle Y Bess, SVP, People

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Trying to stay positive

    Jun 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits, great pay

    Cons

    Hard to move up, same people get multiple promotions rapidly

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    OppFi Response

    It’s so great to hear that you appreciate the incredible team members we have at OppFi, the benefits, and compensation. At OppFi we have a 4 part Talent Management process called Oppt for Growth, that includes, Quarterly Conversations, Mid-Year Promotions, Talent Reviews, and Year-End Performance Reviews and Promotions to close out the year. While we have a strong process in place, we recognize that we still have more work to do mitigate bias and educate our people leaders on our promotion and internal mobility processes. Thank you for the continued feedback and if you have other recommendations on how to improve Oppt for Growth, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Erin Killingsworth-Walker, Director, Learning & Development

  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    An unfortunate fall from grace

    May 5, 2022 - If I Listed That Would IT Still BE Annonymous? 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    --Competitive pay for performant employees --Nice benefits: 401k, mental health services, employee stock grants --Has a nice office located in The Loop --Flexible working environment

    Cons

    As others have mentioned: OppLoans was a fantastic company to work for. It had great people, a great culture, and it was a fun, rapidly growing business. But since the SPAC happened and OppFi was born, it's all gone downhill quickly. --3 CEO's in six months; zero stability or long-term strategy that is apparent --Uncertain vision for the future --More competitors have entered the space to compete against OppFi's product --Top talent has all left; massive attrition --Layoffs (even for long-tenured employees!) --Almost the entire senior leadership team ran towards the door after the SPAC --Company is being taken over by ex-Discover employees at an alarming rate, bringing with them the boring, bureaucratic, big-company culture that any remaining "startup-stage" employees hate IN CONCLUSION: If you need a corporate job with decent benefits and flexibility, then by all means you should consider OppFi. For example if you're a parent or someone that's not overly interested in the culture of a company at this point in your career, and you just need to find something to get the bills paid, then apply at OppFi. If you want anything more than that, I would avoid.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful

    OppFi Response

    Thank you so much for sharing your insights, and glad to hear that you like OppFi’s benefits, pay and working environment and flexibility. We will always work hard to stay competitive in these areas and many more. I am sorry to hear that the SPAC in 2021 led to a negative experience for you. It has been a big transition in the structure and culture of the company , and we acknowledge that it’s not easy for employees to work through so much change. We are working closely with all senior leaders to ensure that we can re-stabilize the company, communicate transparently, and enhance our culture. Our recently announced business principles and corporate strategy are the starting points in this journey, and we hope to keep improving ourselves by listening to the voices of all our employees through various channels. Michelle Y Bess, SVP, People

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Keeping It Short & Simple

    Jun 2, 2022 - Underwriter in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no pros that come to mind.

    Cons

    Oppfi is a sinking ship. Do not apply here. I repeat, do not apply here. They did a huge wave of layoffs. Then realized they messed up. So they asked a few individuals to come back. If you like your sanity it’s best to find something better. Oppfi is not doing well at all. I don’t see them recovering and was actually happy to be laid off.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    OppFi Response

    The last twelve months have brought a significant amount of change at OppFi and inevitably our culture has shifted, which is expected as a public company. With this amazing milestone, we’ve faced growing pains as our business shifts to a public company structure, framework, and requirements. As leaders we make the best decisions we can with the information we have and when we realize we need to pivot, we are not afraid to recognize that we need to shift direction. One of our top priorities now is to stabilize the culture and employee experience to help retain the incredible team members we have with us. Ultimately, if people are happy, our leadership team believes we can accomplish even more as a business. Michelle Y Bess, SVP, People

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    the company is like titanic

    May 23, 2022 - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is great work life balance

    Cons

    There is no job security

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    OppFi Response

    We appreciate your feedback and are very proud of the work life balance our employees have been able to achieve through our Thrive Where You Work, Work Where You Thrive philosophy. In fact, having a remote flexible work environment is one of the highest rating questions on our Employee Engagement Survey. And we recognize that so much has changed at the company, which may lead to the perception of decreased job security. We’d love to hear your thoughts on what more we can do as a senior leadership team to help increase the feeling of security for our team members. Michelle Y Bess, SVP, People

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Typical Startup

    May 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Snacks - Work events - Fun coworkers

    Cons

    - No growth path - Typical startup culture - Pay wasn't competitive or fair across team - Lack of diversity

    4 people found this review helpful

    OppFi Response

    We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed some of the events that our Employee Enagement Teams help host for our team member in the last couple of years. Our Total Rewards Team has worked hard to develop a consistent Compensation Philosophy that we apply across the entire company. We commit to 1) paying for performance, 2) incorporating company and individual performance, market data, and internal equity into our offer decisions, 3) being competitive with other high growth speciality finance companies, and 4) consistently sharing our approach throughout the year. We have also prioritized the expansion of career development opportunities and invested in industry leading learning and development tools this year. We are committed to the continuous evolution of our Talent Development and Internal Mobility programming. With that said, we've been encouraged by the recent promotions of a number of incredible team members and are committed to supporting them in being successful in their new roles. Michelle Y Bess, SVP, People

  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Do two things: run far away, and then run even further away

    Jun 17, 2022 - Anonymous Corporate Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you're looking for a challenge and to push yourself outside of your comfort zone, this is your spot. The new COO is incredible and will hopefully be the one to lead to company someday.

    Cons

    A candidate looking for their next forever job with a reliable, caring, and integrity-centered senior leadership team should avoid OppFi like the plague. The CEO and the rest of the senior leaders have no other goal than to enrich themselves. We apparently have $20 million available to buy back shares (see the OppFi investor website), but we don't have enough money to keep the company staffed up (nearly 10% of employees were laid off early in 2022, and 10-15% more have left of their own accord, with few backfills). Meanwhile, employees who have chosen to stay are saddled with unreasonable workloads and little to no hope of either gaining teammates to help alleviate the pressure, or being compensated for the extra work taken on unless they threaten to leave with another offer already in hand. The new CFO is heartless (either that or we were just blessed with a fantastic previous CFO) and has few, if any, of the leadership skills and empathy required of someone in that position. They do not display effective prioritization skills, approving roles that are not needed while other teams across the company of one or two people who are doing the work of four to five people plead for growth but get nothing. Between that and many other blunders since they began occupying that role, they generally seem to have no clear mission for the financial and overall improvement of OppFi. The new leader of People may have a background in DEI and Talent Management but lacks most of the other experience (employee relations, compensation, benefits, payroll, employment law, employee experience, etc) to be an effective general leader of HR. Their quickly shrinking team has to take on obscene amounts of work to cover for the fact that the leader simply doesn't know what to do. Instead of striving to improve the employee experience for those folks who remain at the company, they would rather emcee laughably awkward town halls (and literally conduct polls about whether our town halls should be called "town halls" or "all-hands meetings", like why) and be so obviously sycophantic toward to the CEO and COO. Corporate employees may have it bad, but the operational employees have it just as bad. They have to rely on technology that breaks almost on a daily basis, and they often have no idea what they're working towards. The leadership also displays little interest or urgency in making the technology better so that these teams can operate efficiently.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful

    OppFi Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and I’m sorry to hear that your experience with OppFi and the leadership team has been challenging. We definitely acknowledge that the recent reduction in force and attrition has put strain on several teams, and we are actively working on approving open roles and hiring faster to alleviate existing employees from the stress. We will continue to elevate these concerns so that each Senior Leadership Team member can better manage their teams’ priorities, and also find ways to improve the employee experience at a centralized level through the People team. Our customer experience and technology are things we have historically been proud of and been recognized for in the industry, but if they are deteriorating, we would love to learn more so we can identify root causes and find the right solutions for our operational employees and customers. Please reach out to any senior leader, your manager or your People Business Partner directly and let them know what you’re experiencing, or you can even use tools like AllVoices to share concerns or areas of opportunities anonymously. Michelle Y Bess, SVP, People

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Far too many changes

    May 14, 2022 - Loan Advocate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home Good benefits Opportunity for growth Delightful people to work with

    Cons

    Unorganized Favoritism Misleading Unrealistic expectations Poor scheduling

    3 people found this review helpful

    OppFi Response

    Thank you for this feedback. We are really proud of the benefits and remote flexibility that we’ve been able to offer our team members. We’re particularly excited about the great work our Learning & Development team is doing to provide learning journey’s on Navigating Ambiguity, Building Trust, and Championing Change for team members across the company. Be sure to check out our new learning series called DevelopU set to launch later this month. As it relates to the constructive feedback you provided, I’d appreciate the opportunity to sit down with you and discuss some of your concerns 1:1. Please let me know if you’re open to setting up time to chat. Michelle Y Bess, SVP, People

Viewing 1 - 10 of 235 Reviews

OppFi Reviews FAQs

OppFi has an overall rating of 3.0 out of 5, based on over 248 reviews left anonymously by employees. 49% of employees would recommend working at OppFi to a friend and 43% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -23% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, OppFi employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at OppFi. This rating has decreased by -13% over the last 12 months.

49% of OppFi employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated OppFi 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at OppFi to be senior leadership, benefits, culture and the cons to be compensation, career development, management.

Popular Careers with OppFi Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at OppFi? Share Your Experiences

or

OppFi Photos

+ Add Photo
OppFi photo of: Ping Pong on 34
OppFi photo of: OppLoans Level 33
OppFi photo of: Our View!
OppFi photo of: OppLoans Level 34
OppFi photo of: OppLoans Level 33
OppFi photo of: Baskets on 34
OppFi photo of: OppLoans Level 34
See All Photos