Optiva Reviews | Glassdoor

Optiva Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 203 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Optiva CEO Danielle Royston (no image)
Danielle Royston
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optiva full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, Remote working, High contractor pay

    Cons

    No benefits, Weak vision, Strict monitoring

    Optiva2018-09-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optiva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, large number of large telco customers provide excellent challenges. Contributions are usually recognized and plenty of room to grow. There is a lot of discussion on Culture & Values however (see con)

    Cons

    Growth coming from acquisitions and management is struggling to integrate new technologies and talent. This is leading to confusion in Sales and increased costs in R&D/Support. If this doesn't change there may be a limited future. Culture and Values seems to be mostly lip service. Not much emphasis on developing talent and retention of key individuals is reactionary.

    Advice to Management

    Improve Product Management which should be addressing the "Con" and providing leadership to the customer facing teams.

    Optiva2016-04-19
  3. Helpful (5)

    "this company sucks because it doesn't respect employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Poland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optiva full-time

    Pros

    it was ok to work for a while since we were bought by them from another company

    Cons

    they laid us off just after a year

    Advice to Management

    top managements never care employees

    Optiva2014-09-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Once a great company ruined after acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optiva full-time

    Pros

    It was an amazing company with great people, product and culture.

    Cons

    After acquisition, it was ruined with no more Physical offices. R&D is outsourced to contracting firms.

    Optiva2019-08-22
  5. "Perfect remote job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Chief Software Architect in Nizhniy Novgorod
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optiva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Very good teem

    Cons

    All are fine. No cons

    Optiva2019-07-05
  6. "Fault Management Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FM Engineer in Calcutta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optiva full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everyday is a challenge and we face it as we have a great team to support us.

    Cons

    Manpower crunch and so Long working hours.

    Optiva2019-06-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "CEO's decisions are against employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Segment Designer in Calcutta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optiva full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No pros ... only cons

    Cons

    There is no end to cons of this company. I worked for Orga --> Redknee --> Optiva. In orga engineering and work environment were really at the top. When Optiva took over, the environment was drastically deteriorated. Employees were forced to quit with practically no reason. Its a very dangerous place for any employee as the top management is always against employees of the company

    Advice to Management

    Quit immediately

    Optiva2019-07-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "it was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FM Engineer in Ahmedabad
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optiva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working culture and good team work

    Cons

    NA NA NA NA NA

    Optiva2019-04-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "while you're there enjoy everything the company offers you - it's all fleeting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Optiva full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We can do Home office; Travel to multiple countries;

    Cons

    Politics; Company for Tier 2-3; Lack of professionalism (too many leaders in all levels with no hands-on); Too many changes in mgmt levels

    Advice to Management

    They always know what to do...

    Optiva2019-02-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Review of Redknee OS India Pvt Ltd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Calcutta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optiva for more than a year

    Pros

    Has some standard policies, strong sales and marketing team

    Cons

    got Bankrupt, so what to say

    Advice to Management

    no advice

    Optiva2018-11-28
Found 203 reviews