Optiver Reviews

Updated May 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
Cons
  • "Bit of discrepancy in salary between developers and traders(in 10 reviews)

  • "Long hours which are (unfortunately) an industry standard(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging and rewarding IT environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Optiver full-time

    Pros

    Incredibly collaborative environment that presents constant opportunities to learn. Optiver gives young employees a chance to make a serious difference within an industry leading firm. The built in support system of extremely intelligent technical professionals helps members throughout IT learn to act in principled ways, leading to a stable, reliable IT infrastructure. The work is engaging, challenging, and rewarding. That, coupled with the benefits and workplace perks make this a great place to work.

    Cons

    Very few cons come to mind.

    Continue reading
    Optiver2020-02-19
  2. "Good culture and people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Optiver full-time

    Pros

    All the usual tech company perks (breakfast, lunch, snacks, coffee) Reasonable hours for finance in general Good compensation, with transparent performance based bonus system.

    Cons

    Hours could still be better, 8-5:30pm is pretty much the minimum expected for software devs, and it only gets worse. Compared to some other tech firms my peers are working for, that's pretty bad. Compared to other fintech firms my peers are working for, that's pretty good/on par

    Optiver2020-03-24
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic culture built on fear: great benefits"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Optiver full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing, great 401(k) match, fully funded insurance, 25 vacation days a year, annual bonus. Breakfast and lunch provided.

    Cons

    Culture is extremely toxic, especially within IT. Long-time employees fired without warning regularly. CTO gave a speech about how fear should be the main motivator for our jobs, and that keeping our jobs was the reward for good work. Regularly heard others engaging in racist and sexist language during the workday. This was ignored because the individuals were partners within the business. Little to no career advancement opportunity.

    Optiver2020-02-13
  4. "Very Isolating"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at Optiver full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great learning in a short amount of time

    Cons

    You need to figure everything out on your own with zero on-boarding and training. Expectations are not clear.

    Optiver2019-12-04
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great benefits, long hours, good bonuses"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Optiver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Base pay is average, bonuses are good in recent years as the company has done well (bonus payout is directly tied to profits). 401k match is fantastic. Fun company events every few months including a yearly trip. Opportunity to work with new technologies that you may not get to use at a company with smaller budgets. Optiver is not afraid to spend on IT as long as it will improve trading.

    Cons

    Work/life balance for IT Ops staff has decreased a lot in the past 12 months. Working Saturdays and late into the evening has become quite common as projects are pushed by trading. This has also been the source of some recent resentment between various departments. People have become increasingly stressed and overworked in recent months.

    Optiver2019-10-28
  6. "Good at what they do"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Trader 

    I have been working at Optiver full-time

    Pros

    Good at what they do

    Cons

    Culture is not great imo

    Optiver2019-09-17
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great benefits, smart people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Optiver full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to work with a lot of smart people. There is very little dead weight, and everyone contributes. I.T. isn't viewed as a cost to be reduced, because I.T. is the lifeblood of the company. Pay and benefits are outstanding.

    Cons

    With the pay (especially bonuses) being so high, it means management knows you'll put up with a good deal of crap before leaving. Also, the flip side of being a company with lots of smart people is that if you're not above average in your field, your days will be numbered if you happen to slip through their interview process.

    Optiver2019-08-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "They do a lot of things right, but have room to improve"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Optiver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Optiver many years ago, so take everything with a grain of salt. From a trader perspective, they do a lot right. The people are very talented, the software is cutting edge and fast, and the compensation/benefits are very good. I think they also did a good job creating and keeping a culture where everyone tries to improve, and everyone feels like they're on the same team.

    Cons

    I feel like the top traders don't necessarily make for the top managers, and they need to continue to train traders throughout their career. Non-traders sometimes were treated like second class citizens, which obviously shouldn't be the case. The culture is very aggressive - there's a ton of pressure to keep improving or you could be out of the company sooner rather than later, which is a lot of stress to have. And the comp structure, while good, was very top heavy.

    Continue reading
    Optiver2019-07-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The best!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optiver full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very competitive internally and externally. Solid teams.

    Cons

    Relies strongly on organic growth, doesn't hire many experienced traders.

    Continue reading
    Optiver2019-04-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Strong trading firm"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Optiver full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely good compensation, trades a lot of products, well-established, relatively transparent

    Cons

    Some coworkers can be very difficult to work with and won't be told to change by management. Management in general doesn't really listen to your concerns

    Continue reading
    Optiver2019-04-17
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 197 Reviews