Optoro Reviews

Updated May 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Optoro Co-founder & CEO Tobin Moore
Tobin Moore
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work is interesting and fast-paced(in 6 reviews)

  • "This is a great place to start your career if you are a recent college grad(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains from startup to enterprise firm(in 5 reviews)

  • "Hard to advance upper management could use some work(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Even More Motivated After my 1st 6 months!

      May 3, 2021 - Senior Vice President of Talent in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Optoro at the end of 2020 and have found the role, company and opportunity to be exceeding my expectations. I have felt welcomed, supported, encouraged and trusted. High growth companies provide limitless opportunity to grow and gain valuable experiences. There is a lot to manage, navigate and deliver. With this said, the ability to make an impact and know that you are really solving a critical problem is beyond energizing!

      Cons

      I do not have any cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mission driven company impacting the world

      Apr 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Impactful and relevant mission/purpose Innovative and talented group of people to work with Career development opportunities Emphasis on CSR Amazing PTO and sabbatical leave Mid-size company so my voice is heard and invited to the conversation CEO really cares about the employees

      Cons

      There can be too many cooks in the kitchen when it comes to making decisions and easy decisions can take a while because of the "cooks"

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid at all costs - extremely toxic

      Mar 29, 2021 - Product Team in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can learn how to deal with terrible leadership, favoritism and manipulation here better than anywhere else.

      Cons

      - Horrible leadership - high ego, controlling, absolutely don't care about employee well-being, choose favorites and give them all projects, promotions and rewards. - Company has no roadmap and throws stuff at the wall to see what sticks - My manager took credit for my work and presented it as his own to leadership - it's extremely unclear to me what he even does (I created all slides for him) - A toxic culture where people recognize favoritism and awful leadership and bring that negativity to work - Not that I wanted this from the role but compensation is well below market for a horrible experince

      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not much room for growth

      Apr 22, 2021 - Procurement Specialist in Norfolk, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are nice and you can build nice relationships.

      Cons

      Management and no room for growth

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Optoro - the best and worst of working in tech

      Jan 8, 2021 - Product 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Nice office and fun-loving people -Nice perks that come with working at a new-age tech company (events, free food, etc) -Decent work/life balance -Nice mission (in theory)

      Cons

      Depending on the team, a pretty negative culture. Leadership was not transparent and often apathetic to issues, until it was too late (if at all). Unfortunately found the environment a combination of the dysfunction of an extremely new start-up [lack of process & ownership, stepping on toes, professionalism, etc] AND those of an old-school corporate environment [biased, political, pompous attitudes, and wholly exclusive of certain groups]. There was very obvious favoritism of some people, while complete disregard for the work and opinions of others.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Overall a great place to work

      Feb 10, 2021 - Principal Software Engineer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced, challenging, I have a lot of autonomy, I have made an impact on the business. The problem with returns is real and motivating. I genuinely like everyone I work with.

      Cons

      Some growing pains as we mature past the scrappy startup phase; lack of focus/follow-through; desire for and reliance on quick over robust; product direction and target market need to be tightened up

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great start-up culture

      Feb 18, 2021 - Director of Marketing in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      culture, smart people, great mission

      Cons

      constantly changing their business model, priorities, focus

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Nov 21, 2020 - Vice President Sales in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities to learn and grow. Very smart and collaborative staff and management. Executives are very smart and very determined and they are intent on diversity and inclusion. The software solution is leading edge. They truly care about their employees.

      Cons

      Some lack of clarity and alignment around the strategy. This can result in some confusion which is unsettling. It's a minor con to overcome but it does have to be corrected. They also tend to avoid the bad news and only promote the good news. Better to be fully transparent and gain buy in for change from all.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Mature startup with growing pains

      Feb 20, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office and people, unlimited PTO, relative autonomy in job depending on role

      Cons

      Company has had major growing pains for a while, low morale due to strain of scaling company, long hours in certain departments

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great, agile tech company rapidly growing towards market fit

      Aug 29, 2020 - Software Engineer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I could not have asked for a better place to grow as a software engineer. During my time at Optoro, I was lucky to be surrounded by talented, collaborative people who were all focused on solving an important, environmentalist problem together: that of eliminating waste from retail returns. With a focus on delivering products to users, I got to learn from skilled software engineers within truly cross-functional teams, cooperating with ops, site reliability peeps, data analysts/scientists, product managers, UX designers, and quality engineers on the regular. The teams I worked in had great documentation (compared to other places I've been) and a culture that embraced psychological safety, transparency, and learning, something that was reflected in timely pull request reviews and the many pairing sessions I participated in. At Optoro, I was never siloed and I got to give input into team and broader company decisions, input that was listened to and taken seriously. While Optoro has solid processes, employees are continuously striving to improve, not just with in-team retros, but intra-team retros where the whole of the tech department comes together, from new college grads to staff/lead level engineers and tech directors, all discussing how we can improve as an organization. Yeah, things were not perfect, but people cared and strove for it. Optoro also cares about diversity and inclusion, and as a minority, the progress I witnessed on that front during my time there meant a lot to me.

      Cons

      Given the large market that's being targetted by Optoro and the fast rate of growth, sometimes the workload borders on overwhelming. For some teams, priorities can shift rapidly as well. This comes with the nature of the monumental problem that Optoro is attempting to solve and that type of work may not be for everyone. For me, the experience definitely pushed me to grow faster than I would have in a more legacy software company, so the pace of work had an upside to it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Optoro Job Seekers

    Product Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Associate Product Manager Rotational Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Optoro? Share Your Experiences

    Optoro logo
    or