Optoro Reviews

Updated May 3, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 of over 81 reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Optoro Co-founder & CEO Tobin Moore
Tobin Moore
48 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

385

57 Comments

Tech

210.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Optoro~656587
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Overall positive

    May 3, 2022 - Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of room for creativity and innovation on most teams.

    Cons

    Constant changing and shifting of priorities.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Mostly great environment but understaffed

    Apr 10, 2022 - Lead Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great direction from technical stand point. There are a lot of interesting projects. After a few of the tech leadership left the company, things improved for the better as far as tech culture. A lot of possibilities to make big impacts. Depending on the team, you could get resources and deliver on it. The tech leadership is really trying to make things better. They are listening and trying their best to address concerns. You can comfortably speak your mind in retros and voice concerns. Everyone is pretty flexible around work hours and PTO. It's important for people with kids or pets. Everyone is very understanding. Good work life balance. This one is up to the person. No one expects you to work extra.

    Cons

    Lots of turnover. Tech org is extremely understaffed. Some teams have good support system and leads can delegate stuff easier. Meanwhile in other teams, it's not the same story. Leads can end up being slammed. This doesn't help when people who have worked in the company for more than 2-3 years leave the company. The Lead Engineer position is also a single position for way too many responsibilities. It's not scoped well. With the lack of full time PM on some teams, a lot of the burden falls on the leads. The company is not an engineering company. The company doesn't look like it wants to invest too much into tech. Everyone is hyper focused on signing clients and the next new product. Everything else just gets abandoned or on life support. Pay is not competitive to actual tech companies. Bonus is also pretty small. There is a company bonus that's attached to the company score card. So you never get the full bonus. You can deliver 100% and absolutely kill it, but if the company only delivered 70% on its OKRs then you get a 30% cut on the bonus. It is very demoralizing. Also this year, no salary adjustments in the beginning of the year. With inflation, everyone pretty much took a pay cut. Terrible 401k match. People have been complaining for years. No change.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome Potential

    Mar 8, 2022 - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Our culture and our people

    Cons

    We need to get back into the office

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The more things change...

    Mar 3, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    While I was there it was a well executed group of individuals that knew what they were doing and how to get it done in a timely manner. Unfortunately, that was on the way out as I was on mine...

    Cons

    By the time I left, micromanagement reigned supreme. The ultra lack of diversity was glaring (and from recent reviews doesn't look as though that has changed much. Just look at top of D and I.. Laughable), they spent time going around and around in circles but never ending up at a product that was transparent and actually workable. The only real thing to do was manage customer expectations - which was easy - expect the unexpected. This is a startup culture, but shouldn't be given that they've been around and "doing what they do" since 2007. Growth is incredibly stagnant as we can see they've rehired some old blood that was part of the reason a mass exodus occured. Lastly, when I was there we had "very limited options to work remote. We just aren't set up for that" yet, they had a weekend remote staff -- and look at the pandemic. They do what they feel when they feel like it, not when its necessary or when it would benefit anyone other than themselves.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Warehouse worker

    Feb 8, 2022 - Sorter in Mount Juliet, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A good company to work for. I will be relocating to Lebanon in the next 30 days.

    Cons

    I have nothing but good reasons to work for Optoro.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Struggling

    Mar 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not many that I can think of.

    Cons

    They want to force people back into the office after being remote for 2 years. Instead of letting go of the expensive lease for an office they can't afford, they need to justify it somehow I guess. CEO is insecure about how people get their work done. No cash bonuses were paid last year and bonuses this year were very low. No salary adjustments even though inflation is 8%. Company just got a big fund raise but they want to keep burning money on expensive in-person things instead of going lean and paying people what they're worth to retain top talent. Can't wait to leave and go to a place that values me and my work instead of the CEO's ego. This ship is going down.

    13 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good on the surface

    Jul 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Optoro offers a seemingly traditional start up experience. The perks are there and everyone seems friendly enough.

    Cons

    Very siloed environment. Each department is essentially on their own and cross department coordination can be difficult. Senior leadership does not appear to have a clear vision for the company. Diversity and inclusion are effectively non existent. Benefits are lacking for a company at this stage. High turnover and low average tenure are indicative of serious underlying issues.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Customer care associate

    May 17, 2021 - Customer Care Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Could work remote, relaxed environment

    Cons

    Retention rate, lack of diversity

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Mission driven company impacting the world

    Apr 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Impactful and relevant mission/purpose Innovative and talented group of people to work with Career development opportunities Emphasis on CSR Amazing PTO and sabbatical leave Mid-size company so my voice is heard and invited to the conversation CEO really cares about the employees

    Cons

    There can be too many cooks in the kitchen when it comes to making decisions and easy decisions can take a while because of the "cooks"

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not much room for growth

    Apr 22, 2021 - Procurement Specialist in Norfolk, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers are nice and you can build nice relationships.

    Cons

    Management and no room for growth

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 74 Reviews

Optoro Reviews FAQs

Optoro has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 81 reviews left anonymously by employees. 73% of employees would recommend working at Optoro to a friend and 71% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Optoro employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Optoro. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

73% of Optoro employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Optoro 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Optoro to be management, benefits, career development and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, senior leadership, compensation.

Popular Careers with Optoro Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Optoro? Share Your Experiences

or