Optoro Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Optoro Co-founder & CEO Tobin Moore
Tobin Moore
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work is interesting and fast-paced(in 6 reviews)

  • "This is a great place to start your career if you are a recent college grad(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Growth-stage company with big opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optoro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Really talented collection of people. Lot's of cross-functional collaboration. Optoro is solving a major problem in a growing market. People have the ability to drive change and impact the company. Office is excellent and right in the middle of DC. Lot's of fun company events throughout the year. Well-respected in the broader DC tech community.

    Cons

    Company still reverts back to a start-up mentality at times. Communication across the organization can be improved. Strategic initiatives can shift quickly, even before the results of the previous approach are known.

    Continue reading
    Optoro2019-09-03
  2. "Flexibility but disorganized as a company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optoro full-time

    Pros

    Startup environment although pretty big company people wise, unlimited PTO, and decent annual development training allowance

    Cons

    Experiencing growing pains currently and can be hard to get tasks completed because most decision-makers are at max bandwidth

    Optoro2020-01-13
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Great environment, terrible organization, worse product"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Optoro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing at times. The culture is pretty set in stone and it can be hard for a new person to come in, especially if they have different opinions and views. Overall, I got along with most people. The office is AMAZING! One of the nicest offices I have ever worked in. They have awesome events frequently. If you are looking for a great opportunity to learn and improve your dev skills, this is actually a great place.

    Cons

    The #1 reason I left this company is due to the direction this company is headed. From the outside looking in, it looks great, they are winning big clients back-to-back-to-back and crushing their growth goals. Yes, this may be happening, but not because of their revolutionary product. During my time there, I spent more time in meetings talking about how we were going to "hack/repurpose" a module, rather than actually executing. This then led to us having to "manage the customers expectations" as I heard daily. This is mainly due to the fact that sales just says yes to everything the customer asks during the sales cycle. "Oh can we return something to you, you then sell it for Bitcoin, then convert that into martian space rocks?" Exageration, yes. But seriously, I would 100% believe it if there was a study done that the sales team didnt know what the word NO is. This would put an immense amount of strain on the engineering team and the implementation team. We frequently had to jump through hoops, meet unrealistic deadlines, and develop one-off requests, just so we could get the deal signed. So like I said, the product is what is the main problem. Optoro just signed their biggest client yet, but I have very little confidence that they will successfully (on time, on budget, within scope) implement them. I left shortly after the scoping phase and the requirements needed (that were supposed to be gathered and negotiated with sales) were eons away from what the software could do. So, back to seeing how they can "manage customer expectations" and "hack" the system. This is the norm and if you have a new idea or want to explore a new direction, good luck. Unless you are a tenured, principle engineer, you have no say. The principle engineers pretty much-run engineering and product management. If they don't like your idea, then you might as well not even raise your hand. This happened to me dozens of times during my time there.

    Continue reading
    Optoro2019-08-15
  4. "great place"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Optoro full-time

    Pros

    well paying job with smart people

    Cons

    very bro culture and tech heavy

    Optoro2019-07-22
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Okay at best"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Human Resources Manager 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optoro full-time

    Pros

    Great people, most everyone wants to collaborate and win for the company, cool vibe, great tools depending on your team.

    Cons

    Under resourced HR team that are capable of improving the employee experience but don’t have bandwidth, CONTROLLING executives

    Continue reading
    Optoro2019-06-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "True start up, real purpose & values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Product Management in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optoro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great place to work, great people, great culture - Love my team, best team ever! - True vision-led company that actually lives and breathes its purpose - Learn from great leaders and managers, amazing talent and fast moving company - Lots of growth / learning / skills development opportunities to accelerate your career growth - Open leadership culture, changing and experimenting all the time with new ways to innovate, develop the organization - Great activities, competitive benefits / package

    Cons

    - Moving really fast, start up life is not for everyone. more - Co-founder and leadership challenges are improving but still needs some work

    Continue reading
    Optoro2019-04-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with lots of future potential"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optoro full-time

    Pros

    The people and culture are great. Work is rewarded and recognized fairly and all employees have a work hard-play hard mentality. It is energizing being a part of Optoro and I see nothing but positive growth for the company.

    Cons

    Growing pains from startup to enterprise firm. Lack of important HR/operational processes in place. Sometimes confusion in direction of product and company vision. Lack of internal mobility and promotion structures.

    Continue reading
    Optoro2019-04-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Optoro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tons of opportunities to work on everything from ecommerce to enterprise apps

    Cons

    As grows larger gets more bureaucratic, decisions take a long time.

    Optoro2019-03-12
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Good vibes and good values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optoro full-time

    Pros

    - Office culture is great. Work/life balance is (genuinely) prioritized; work from home policy is generous, you don't feel guilty for taking time out to take care of, say, a dentist's appointment or a kid's school event. - Work is interesting and fast-paced. Optoro sells itself as a "green" for-profit company - working on both a business and environmental solution. I would normally be skeptical about this, but I really do think the business's value prop is exciting and real: the reverse supply chain is no joke! - Big encouragement for professional development/learning, as well as diversity and inclusion efforts. - You can see your work contributing to the growing business - and that's exciting! - Everyone's relaxed, friendly, and helpful. I've worked in some environments that were a lot more stressed/toxic, and it can feel a bit dog eat dog: people are stressed and unhappy in those places. That's not the case here. I genuinely enjoy going into the office, and people seem to feel the same way?

    Cons

    - It's a high growth phase, which means some teams are working longer hours (though they get thanked and recognized for it - again, I've worked in places where working evenings or weekends was expected, not praised as exceptional). - The high growth can sometimes mean that we suddenly change focus; so sometimes things feel chaotic.

    Optoro2018-10-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great place for recent college grads"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rotational Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optoro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with smart, interesting, and fun people every day. I have the opportunity to tackle both business and environmental problems. Tons of other perks like beautiful office, cold brew, rooftop, etc... The flexible WFH/PTO policy is also quite generous. I feel so lucky to be working here while we are in this growth period!

    Cons

    I think the (small) problems are typical of any fast growing start-up, like figuring out ways to share information, collaborate across teams, and so on. Definitely making steps in the right direction though.

    Continue reading
    Optoro2018-04-27
Found 59 reviews