Orchid Cellmark Reviews | Glassdoor

Orchid Cellmark Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
12%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Orchid Cellmark President Floyd Samuel Eberts III (no image)
Floyd Samuel Eberts III
1 Rating
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Orchid Cellmark

    Pros

    The Dayton office was a fantastic place to work prior to the buyout. Operations Manager was excellent with team building and allowing all team members to make decisions and work independently.

    Cons

    The corporate office seemed to be a bit out of touch with daily operations

    Orchid Cellmark2015-05-15
  2. "file clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Orchid Cellmark

    Pros

    Likes the type of work I was doing.

    Cons

    Didn't like the management.

    Orchid Cellmark2015-04-14
  3. "Interesting Work, Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Orchid Cellmark

    Pros

    Interesting and great group of employees doing extremely important work. Flexible scheduling and they even have maternity leave and are new mother friendly.

    Cons

    Constant revolving door. They would hire people, train them (time intensive) and then lay them off. Then more would get sick of the uncertainty and resign.

    Continue reading
    Orchid Cellmark2013-12-17
  4. "good place to work for a part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Independent Contractor in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orchid Cellmark for more than 3 years

    Pros

    well coordinated if you have tranportation

    Cons

    not many clients that not in prison

    Orchid Cellmark2013-06-26
  5. "Doing our bit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forensic Scientist 

    I have been working at Orchid Cellmark full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Cellmark for many years. They are a very good company to work for, and offers great professional and personal development The work that we deal with isn't easy, and workload is challenging, but it offers an environment and opportunity to grow and learn.

    Cons

    The workload can be busy dependant on your role, and sometimes there can seem to much, but you have to be mindful about what you do, and that if you have to ask, it's better to ask. Sometimes you might feel like there's too much to deal with. You have to learn yourself your own limitations and time management and take time to assess each thing separately and properly. You have to be able to compartmentalise and juggle many things at once but you develop and learn this skill.

    Continue reading
    Orchid Cellmark2019-05-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "No vision, lacking leadership, micromanagement at lower levels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orchid Cellmark

    Pros

    Most of the scientists are fantastic, really hard working and trying to do the best they can in a broken system.

    Cons

    Terrible, indecisive leadership. Incompetence at a management level rewarded with promotions whilst the staff are trying to fix the messes left behind. No vision for the future or investment to strengthen the company. Infrastructure is non existent and most of the systems in use are not fit for purpose - constant workarounds make things slow and difficult. Research is minimal with little to no opportunity for most staff to get involved. Micromanagement at lower levels, it's more like working on a production line than forensic science. Hemorrhaging experienced staff, not replacing them and so piling the pressure on the staff that remain.

    Continue reading
    Orchid Cellmark2019-02-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Okay as a spring board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Abingdon, England

    I worked at Orchid Cellmark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice team Laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    No progression work not interesting very poorly paid

    Orchid Cellmark2018-12-31
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Orchid Cellmark full-time

    Pros

    Small group of people is nice

    Cons

    Progression is a bit lacking

    Orchid Cellmark2018-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not long term option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Orchid Cellmark full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Forefront provider of Forensic Services in the UK

    Cons

    HR, Management, lack of progression, lack of welfare

    Orchid Cellmark2018-07-22
  10. "AWFUL - save yourself the headache"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Toxicologist in Abingdon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orchid Cellmark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management get in to trouble if you don't take your hours lunch break.

    Cons

    Awful management, no career progression, the work is incredibly repetitive, poor training, poor pay, negative atmosphere, staff are treated as disposable, unorganised....the list goes on.

    Continue reading
    Orchid Cellmark2018-03-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews