PCA Reviews | Glassdoor

PCA Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
PCA CEO Mark W. Kowlzan
Mark W. Kowlzan
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Monthly close process was out of control causing long, long hours(in 13 reviews)

  • "Work life balance could be a bit better(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great benefits and pay scales

    Cons

    high expectation long hours tough

    PCA2019-10-17
  2. "Okay Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Cliches in management. Suck up to the right people and you’ll make it far

    PCA2019-09-18
  3. "Good money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Harrisonburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PCA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money good benifits and awesome bonuses

    Cons

    No respect for employees

    Advice to Management

    Treat people better

    PCA2019-09-01
  4. "Pca is a great place to work. Im looking to relocate and that the only reason."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PCA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay is great and the opportunity to advance up the ranks is available.

    Cons

    There are a lot of changes in management and some times you get bad managers and that can cause a your job to become harder because of the expectations of the new management.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to be fair and understanding to your worker. Alway have an ear for listening to what your workers have to say it may have an lasting effect on the performance of the whole team, nobody knows it all and we can learn from eachother.

    PCA2019-08-08
  5. "Double standards are the norm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Lake Forest, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PCA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most of the people are nice

    Cons

    Lack of communication, lack of procedures, double standards, technology

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone the same

    PCA2019-09-10
  6. "Ton of overtime and aggressive management. 800 hours or more overtime annually. Terrible work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manufacturing Engineer in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PCA for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent. No room for professional growth.

    Cons

    Overtime, Working Environment, Point System for Attendance, Emotionally unintelligent management.

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate your culture and you'll know why your production need aren't met. Employees are beyond unhappy and exhausted. From a 25+ year employee

    PCA2019-08-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Supervisor 

    I worked at PCA full-time

    Pros

    Pay is great , benefits great

    Cons

    The union was killing the place

    PCA2019-07-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A good starting ground for a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EHS Coordinator in Wallula, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PCA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at the company felt like a small company with ease to communicate with every department and get quick results. I lucked out to have a great direct report who was a great leader that shaped me well. My best experience was working with guys on the shop floor, they had vast knowledge in working on projects to get stuff done as a team.

    Cons

    There is still that old dog mentality within the management structure with statements like ‘ have been doing this for 30+ years!’ Am sure the company is trying to keep up with changing economy and work style but it’s not there yet. The company prefers hiring candidates with engineering background for salary technical positions but most of the work is actually compliance maintenance because the engineering is already... done on the corporate level. This takes away the thrill of wanting to be a subject matter expert in a specific engineering field and that’s why I stated earlier that it’s a good starting ground but soon you might feel like you’ve hit a ceiling. Overtime was unavoidable with salary job structure which is the disadvantage of the small company environment that will stretch you to play other roles.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    New managers talking down on others is something that should not be tolerated, it was very discouraging to see this. With increasing younger workforce you should allow capable younger employees to climb up the ladder and challenge the old dog mentality, great results are very evident in the best organizations.

    PCA2019-07-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Large organization with a small company feel."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Audit Staff in Lake Forest, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PCA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some travel opportunities. Good benefits. Flexible work hours.

    Cons

    Legacy systems are hard to work with. Lots of resistance to change.

    PCA2019-07-08
  10. "Family oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Office Manager in DeRidder, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and well paid

    Cons

    It wasn’t a permanent position

    Advice to Management

    Testing shouldn’t be at such a high level

    PCA2019-06-13
Found 203 reviews
</>Embed