Pattern Energy Group Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pattern Energy Group President and Chief Executive Officer Michael Garland (no image)
Michael Garland
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pattern has some of the best professionals in my career life(in 11 reviews)

  • "The internship was an exciting opportunity to have hands-on experience in the renewable energy industry(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance seems to be nonexistent for some employees(in 17 reviews)

  • "Pattern truly cares about their employees well being(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Pattern Energy Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work

      Mar 1, 2021 - Environmental Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits, great culture and people, interesting projects

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      World-class renewables team

      Jan 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Seriously some of the most professional co-workers I've ever had the pleasure of working with. Everyone takes their work seriously but is laid back. The level of competence here is high across the board. They are swimming in the biggest of ponds and succeeding. Management has a cohesive plan and are executing on a global scale.

      Cons

      It's becoming a big ship, which might be harder to steer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Challenging work in a rewarding industry

      Nov 19, 2020 - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Challenging work in a the renewables industry. -Teammates that actually care about your well being and mental health, especially in this new remote world we're in. -A company that offers to cover part of your work from home set up while keeping us up to date with state and local guidelines of reopening.

      Cons

      -Maybe more up to date equipment with us being fully remote right now. But other than that not too much I can think of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Renewable Energy

      Jan 22, 2021 - Developer in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Transition the world to renewable energy

      Cons

      I can think of no cons at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Meaningful work and outstanding company culture

      Nov 10, 2020 - Pre-Construction Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Impactful projects in the renewable energy industry - Small company feel with open communication between departments - Great culture of growth and teamwork

      Cons

      No significant cons compared to other organizations I have worked with

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      ,,,

      Feb 2, 2021 - Senior Business Intelligence Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The HR team in the company is good

      Cons

      Manager should learn how to respect employee

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      No shortage of intersting work, but internal advancement is tough.

      Feb 15, 2020 - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to work cross functionally provides lots of team work experiences; no shortage of work affords opportunities to jump into projects and learn a lot hands on; working in the renewable industry is rewarding. Pay is competitive. Internal Leadership training has increased recently.

      Cons

      Difficult to advance internally. Path to promotion and leadership is unclear. Work life balance opportunities exist, but they are kept quiet and normally require approval from the supervisor rather than being more openly offered and supported at the highest leadership level. Very few women in leadership, and even few opportunities for women to advance internally.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      My experiences had been challenging and interesting.

      Mar 24, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working in almost the same job sector.

      Cons

      The chalenges could be new environment both location and society.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I enjoy working at Pattern because they take my professional development seriously!

      Sep 13, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ever since I joined Pattern nearly two years ago, my manager has been focused on ensuring I have the right tools I need to do my job and to enable me to grow and develop my skills and knowledge so I would be able to take on more fulfilling work. Through these actions I have gained the skills I need to take on an entirely new part of my job that I love! Having people in leadership roles take interest in me and my career here at Pattern makes me want to stay! The colleagues that I work with regularly make coming to work a joy every day. My team collaborates well and we are successful in reaching all of our performance goals and corporate directives due to our work ethic and perseverance. I feel like leaders on my team take time to listen to my ideas and do their best to incorporate them into the work that we do. I enjoy the company culture throughout the office. People that I work with in other departments are friendly and very willing to listen to my ideas in order to build better solutions. Cross-organization meetings seem to be very collaborative and efficient and when I attend I'm able to go back to my desk to put the plans in action immediately due to clear plans being developed by the group. We work in a beautifully remodeled building, unlike any office setting I've ever worked in before. I regularly take lunch on our roof top deck overlooking the bay. We have tons of options of snacks and drinks and food deliveries for meetings and training sessions happen regularly! You will regularly see people having lunch together away from their desks and playing ping pong in our employee lounge. The compensation and benefits at Pattern are great. Employees are eligible for raises and annual bonuses for high performance which is all based on objective goals that we set for ourselves at the begin of the year. We also receive medical, dental, and vision insurance at a very low cost to employees. Pattern matches 401k up to 5%, no matter how much you contribute yourself. They also allow us to go and volunteer in the community and get paid!

      Cons

      The Executive Management team can be resistant to change and does not always listen to best practices from industry/departmental experts, that they themselves do not necessarily specialize in. They need to realize that they hired these experts for a reason as they have experience needed to push these initiatives across the finish line, but the Management Team needs to listen to their suggestions to keep the company and culture moving in the right direction. We can't get stuck using the excuse, "That's not how we used to do it!" Pattern is a forward-thinking, industry-leading company; they also need to be open to changing processes in order to make the work for efficient for all employees.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company - lot of things to learn

      Sep 6, 2019 - Tax in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pattern has some of the best professionals in my career life. HR is strong and the recruiter is easy to work with. My department culture is great and my co-workers are easy to work with.

      Cons

      Business Growing fast so it takes some time to adjust to it

      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 64 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pattern Energy Group Job Seekers

    Senior Business Intelligence Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Government Relations Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Executive Assistant to the CEO
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Pattern Energy Group? Share Your Experiences

    or