Pinterest Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Pinterest CEO Ben Silbermann
Ben Silbermann
201 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is very respected--my team management pushes us to take at least four weeks a year off(in 37 reviews)

  • "Nice office, great location, free food(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's grown quickly in the past few years, and growing pains are inevitable(in 17 reviews)

  • "The company is growing now and isn't as small as it was during my internship(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Valuing Impact & Creativity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Sourcer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my time at Pinterest, I've grown tremendously through the support of my team. I've been given the chance to work on high impact, challenging problems, and can see the direct throughline of my output to the company's mission. My time at Pinterest has flown by, mainly because of the great and challenging work, the great coworkers, and a product I personally use and can stand behind.

    Cons

    Decisions are sometimes made without transparency, or take a long time, which sometimes means IC's have to scramble to hit goals. But we're focusing on making decisions quicker and I think we're on the right track.

    Pinterest2019-12-05

    Pinterest Response

    January 7, 2020People Team

    Thank you for this thoughtful feedback! I'm glad to hear about the growth you've experienced and opportunities you've had at Pinterest. I hear your feedback about decisions as well, thanks for bringing this to our attention - we'll work on it. Jo, CHRO

  2. "Thankful for Pinterest"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time

    Pros

    The leadership team at Pinterest is handling the current Covid crisis so well. I feel very supported with no lack in communication. In addition, I feel confident in the company to continue down the path of our goals throughout this. Outside of Covid, I love the company culture and product itself!

    Cons

    Just missing my team and our office while WFH

    Pinterest2020-05-20

    Pinterest Response

    May 20, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback! We’re so glad you feel supported through this unprecedented time. Our teams are working hard to ensure transparent, frequent communication for the duration of the crisis and beyond. We, too, miss our fellow Pinployees and the office! Jo, CHRO

  3. Helpful (9)

    "Not at all what it seems..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partner Operations Technical Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - CEO is a genuinely good guy that seems to have good intentions for Pinterest overall - Free food - Nominally good values that are once in a while backed up by actual action (KnitCon)

    Cons

    I'm sure from the outside Pinterest seems like a fun, collaborative, creative place to work, and its company size gives off the impression that it's going to have a startupy feel. After 1.5 years there I can unequivocally say that while this is the story that is advertised internally as well, in day to day life, the direct opposite is true. This was by far the most toxic work environment I have ever been a part of. A culture of passive-aggressiveness and at times complete disrespect for colleagues that are deemed "inferior" is rampant. Teams that should be working together are actively pitted against one another by management. Bullying by superiors is not only common but is basically expected as a norm. Promotions are almost never based on merit, but generally instead on whatever optics need to be pushed that month. Feedback is constantly ignored or met with empty promises that no one is ever held accountable for (or, at worst, with "if you're unhappy you can leave" or even actual firings/removals from teams if a manager finds you "difficult"). It's not a huge majority of people that are the worst offenders of this behavior, but the major issue is that the larger company seems to be content to allow them to act this way, which in turn enables lesser offenders to become worse when they see that there are no consequences. At this point, it seems like the company is propped up by revolving door of competent and ambitious people producing some good work that others end up taking credit for until they either become fed up with the toxic culture or are pushed out once they can no longer be used.

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2020-05-11

    Pinterest Response

    May 20, 2020

    I want to thank you for your feedback, my team listens closely and is constantly looking for opportunities to improve. It sounds like you’ve had a poor experience and I’m sorry to hear it. It is my hope that every employee has the best experience that they can, and I don’t want anyone to fall through the cracks. If you’re comfortable, there is an anonymous hotline to give more feedback directly: (844) 704-6249. Jo, CHRO

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic and demotivating work environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time

    Pros

    - Regional offices seem to have a better culture than HQ - Free lunch/dinner - Onsite workout, crafting classes (studio nights, knit con)

    Cons

    - Uncaring and unmotivating middle/upper management - Most employees are seen as expendable for the bottom line. The underlying culture is "get in line or get out" if you don't like how the business is run. If you are a seller, you are given higher and higher sales targets that become increasingly more stressful and unattainable. If you're on a sales XFN team, you are blamed for all missed revenue opportunities, and you can expect the director of your org to scream at your team about how your team is a disappointment. - Ineffective HR - All concerns have fallen on deaf ears, whether raised through Pulse, group meetings, 1:1 meetings with HR/People experience. I now fully understand the fact that HR's mandate is to protect the company, and not the employees. HR's solution will be to tell you to find another job if you're truly that unhappy. - (Org dependent) Stagnation in career growth. I've seen that promotions have rarely been based on merit, but rather department optics or if someone has been severely mis-leveled coming into this company. Inter-company career transitions are also highly discouraged. As a result, there is high attrition of top talent as they feel they aren't valued for their work, stuck in the same role for years, and have to look outside the company to find the next step in their career. - Toxic work environment. Management say they care about culture in all hands meetings and department wide emails, but in reality, the culture they breed is one that is founded in fear. The value "care with candor" has become a way for management to CANDIDLY tell you everything that you do "wrong" based on benchmarks that change weekly or even daily, and if you CARE about retaining your job, you should work harder and longer hours against an ever moving target to make sure that our org leaders look good in front of Ben.

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2020-05-13

    Pinterest Response

    May 20, 2020

    I want to thank you for your feedback, my team listens closely and is constantly looking for opportunities to improve. It sounds like you’ve had a poor experience and I’m sorry to hear it. It is my hope that every employee has the best experience that they can, and I don’t want anyone to fall through the cracks. If you’re comfortable, there is an anonymous hotline to give more feedback directly: (844) 704-6249. Jo, CHRO

  5. "Fun company, great mission!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Pinterest you're surrounded by really talented people. Everyone is driven and aligned with the company mission. It's the first place I've worked where people feel really good about where the company is headed. Consumers have a unique mindset when they come to Pinterest and the company has done a great job embracing that and providing additional tools for consumers.

    Cons

    Things can move a bit slowly as it relates to internal navigation. Some times there are too many cooks in the kitchen on certain projects. Internal vs external hiring and promotions/team changes. There isnt a standard practice for this and certain situations that you think are the same are handled completely differently. Need more process in place where there's less gray area

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2020-04-08

    Pinterest Response

    April 9, 2020

    Thank you for this important feedback! We’re so glad you’re enjoying your time at the company, and are feeling good about where we are headed. We appreciate your constructive insights and will be sure to take them into account in the future. If you're comfortable, please use our anonymous hotline to give more feedback directly: (844) 704-6249. Jo, CHRO

  6. Helpful (6)

    "Unhealthy work environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The food is good and the architecture/design of the office is cool

    Cons

    Toxic work environment. The staff isn't the most friendly unless you are in the inner circle. It has a "mean girls" or "highschool" vibe. Just like most major companies, they pretend to be fun and carefree. However, at the end of the day, they are extremely money hungry and quota focused.

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2020-04-15

    Pinterest Response

    April 15, 2020

    Hi there, thank you for sharing. It sounds like you’ve had a poor experience and I’m sorry to hear it. If you’re comfortable, there is an anonymous hotline to give more feedback directly: (844) 704-6249. We are always open to feedback, and appreciate you taking the time to share your story. Jo, CHRO

  7. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Creative team & culture, great benefits, dedicated people

    Cons

    Moves slower than other startups in the space, more risk-adverse

    Pinterest2020-03-27

    Pinterest Response

    April 3, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback! We agree, Pinterest’s culture and people are what sets us apart. If you're comfortable, please use our anonymous hotline to give more feedback directly: (844) 704-6249. Jo, CHRO

  8. "Good place to work at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, great company culture, free food

    Cons

    I have not found yet.

    Pinterest2020-03-15

    Pinterest Response

    March 26, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback! We’re so glad you’re enjoying your time at Pinterest, as we pride ourselves on the culture and people at the company. If you're comfortable, there is an anonymous hotline to give more feedback directly: (844) 704-6249. Jo, CHRO

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing product, kind and professional people. Strong leadership. Open communication and culture. Knit con and other employee focused growth events. Really care about creating a diverse workforce.

    Cons

    Still a lot of work ahead!

    Pinterest2020-02-06

    Pinterest Response

    March 26, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback! We pride ourselves on our amazing people, culture, and open lines of communication. If you're comfortable, there is an anonymous hotline to give more feedback directly: (844) 704-6249. Jo, CHRO

  10. "Overall good engineer opportunities and great working environment"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time

    Pros

    People are nice while not afraid to give constructive suggestions

    Cons

    Low 401k match so far

    Pinterest2020-02-04

    Pinterest Response

    February 5, 2020People Team

    Thanks for leaving your review! This is great feedback on the engineering department and culture, and I'm pleased you're enjoying your challenging work and finding your team supportive (and "caring with candor")! As this is the first year we've implemented the 401K match, we're starting conservatively but we're pleased to start at all and excited for the future. Jom, CHRO

Found 265 reviews