Power Construction Reviews | Glassdoor

Power Construction Reviews

Updated 29 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Power Construction CEO Terry Graber (no image)
Terry Graber
14 Ratings
  1. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Power Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Power is an amazing company!! It is wonderful to feel so supported to present new ideas and see the company follow through on their commitments. Power truly has the best interest of the employees in mind and they stand behind their beliefs. They walk the walk regarding doing the right thing in every situation and it creates a culture of support and positivity. It really makes coming to work fun!

    Cons

    There are not really any cons to working at Power...it is a great place to be!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to share details of our strategic direction so employees feel informed.

    Power Construction2019-05-30
  2. "Great company that cares about employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Power Construction full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Power is made up of hard working and driven people and still has a family feel. Benefits are great and there is a focus on getting results but also taking time for fun. Senior management is approachable and you will feel valued as an individual.

    Cons

    Not any that I can think of. As the company grows keep holding on to the fun culture.

    Power Construction2019-05-21
  3. "Great Company, Great People, Great Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Power Construction full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits at Power are excellent and they reward their employees multiple times throughout the year (summer hours, summer outings, annual meeting, holiday party, corporate office events, volunteer opportunities). The management (VP's, CEO, etc.) are all normal people with big hearts. They help employees in times of need & build their teams to hit their peak success. This is unlike any company I've ever... worked for and I hope to retire from here. Power is truly a family company with kindhearted employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is always lots of work to get done! Expect to be busy busy busy!

    Advice to Management

    Continue what you're doing and investing time into your personal relationships with employees, this is one of the things that makes Power very special.

    Power Construction2019-05-21
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Power Construction full-time

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere. Free parking

    Cons

    Lots young nerds no experience

    Power Construction2019-03-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Major Culture Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Power Construction full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great, overall people are friendly, great perks in the summer.

    Cons

    Lack of career path for other roles, preaches diversity and inclusion but not seen at high levels, no profit sharing with employees, HR is corporate and lacks empathy.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in employees and give more opportunities to women and minorities. Don’t just put few token individuals to represent company when it isn’t a true representation.

    Power Construction2019-03-13
  6. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Projec in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Power Construction full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large High Profile Projects. Very smart people. Good training opportunities. Great sense of values - doing the right thing is more important than profit.

    Cons

    Has become a bit political, since it's grown. Some people are on a fast track because of who they are aligned with in the company, others can be left behind.

    Advice to Management

    Don't pigeon hole people

    Power Construction2018-06-01
  7. "decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Power Construction full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    field employees have good knowledge

    Cons

    management is lacking knowledge and experience

    Power Construction2018-04-14
  8. "An elite GC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Power Construction full-time

    Pros

    Advantages of working on large and unique projects which smaller GC's could not tender for.

    Cons

    The company has grown significantly in a short space of time. It is easy to get lost

    Power Construction2017-11-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Accounting Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Power Construction

    Pros

    The environment at Power is second to none. I never thought that I would wake up every morning excited to go into work. As long as you put your best foot forward, you will be rewarded.

    Cons

    There really wasn't anything that I disliked from my time at Power.

    Power Construction2016-10-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Power Construction full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Was hired to run smaller projects. Close to home.

    Cons

    1. First day of work, I was assigned a cubicle instead of a private office like other project managers. Was told, Oh, you're a girl, thought you were in accounting. 2. Managed multiple smaller projects for the small projects division (this was good) but Power paperwork requirements were unwieldy. At project update meeting, I had 25 projects to review along with the paperwork for all. The senior person got... bored after 5 and said, Ok, that's enough. 3. Quality of life vs. work schedule doesn't exist here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Either change paperwork to accommodate smaller projects or don't do them. Respect female project managers.

    Power Construction2016-09-15
Found 19 reviews