KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Power Construction

Is this your company?

Power Construction

Add a Review

Power Construction Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
90%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Power Construction President/CEO Terry Graber (no image)
Terry Graber
29 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Company to Work For

    May 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people who genuinely care about your well being Ability to choose your own career path

    Cons

    Construction industry in general is work hard, play hard. The hours can be long here - same as anywhere else

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Setting the bar for construction in Chicago, and doing the work internally to set the bar for themselves!

    Apr 2, 2021 - Human Resources Generalist in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've found my family here at Power! My coworkers are all incredibly talented and intelligent, and the employees here really do their work in ways that clearly reflect the company's values (do the right thing, relationships matter, find a better way, etc.)! For those coming into the construction industry for the first time, the environment can feel a bit more "old-school" than other workplaces - this is balanced for me by the feeling that the company is constantly evolving and I'm encouraged to implement and try new ways of doing things.

    Cons

    In the coming months and years, I hope that Power will continue to benchmark salaries for their office staff to keep compensation competitive - the operations side is certainly on par, but I've noticed turnover on the office side usually can be attributed at least partially to less competitive compensation given how successful the company is. I also would like to see it made clearer how bonus' are tied to the formal review process. Power's benefits are really comprehensive. The only room I see for improvement is adding additional PTO - especially at the entry level, it could make them more competitive and help with work/life balance. The biggest culture shift I hope to see at Power is in DEI - there are VP's, members of leadership and employees who are really driving the company's growth via community outreach and training. Construction has traditionally been an industry dominated by white men, and I see Power really leading the charge to make the industry more diverse and inclusive in an authentic and sustainable way. I think it would be even more impactful and encourage more of the white male employees to get involved if we saw more VP's and leaders get involved, learn alongside employees, and set the precedent for others.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great, forward thinking construction company.

    May 13, 2021 - Software Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, great people, and plenty of opportunity for advancement!

    Cons

    IT organization is maturing, and there are a few growing pains.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome place to work

    Apr 23, 2021 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great experience overall! Love the positive outlook!

    Cons

    No issues to date at Power!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Company, Flexibility & Good People

    Feb 19, 2021 - Shared Services 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Power has an excellent culture that is focused on building relationships. All of my co-workers have turned into lifelong friends and/or wonderful business associates. Power also makes sure to thank employees often whether it's at their annual meeting, holiday party, departmental outings & lunches or catch em' doing good (gift cards, cash, etc). It's a place where you work really hard and sometimes a lot but it does offer flexibility when you need it.

    Cons

    Understanding how bonus' are tied to the formal review process. It would be nice to see a little bit of insight into items like that.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Company!

    Apr 6, 2021 - Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Power really values and cares for the employees here.

    Cons

    Power does a great job increasing Diversity, but need more women and minorities in the industry.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Mar 31, 2021 - Accoubting 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They treat you like family

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    PM

    Feb 4, 2021 - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work. Amazing.

    Cons

    No Complaints. This place is amazing to work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    None

    Feb 6, 2021 - Project Engineer II in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment to work in

    Cons

    Amount of time spent at work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very nice people

    Jan 16, 2021 - Operations & Technology in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great work atmosphere. Lots of nice people

    Cons

    upper management likes to old fashion

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 Reviews

Popular Careers with Power Construction Job Seekers

Union Laborer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Construction Project Engineer
Learn About the Job

Work at Power Construction? Share Your Experiences

Power Construction logo
or