PrimeSource Building Products Reviews | Glassdoor

PrimeSource Building Products Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Tom Koos
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good place to start a sales career, good benefits, certain locations can be lucrative(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great 401k package, good people at some locations(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great business and great staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Forklift Operator in Aberdeen, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PrimeSource Building Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dispite all the bad reviews going around we have revamped with a state of the art new building and professional kind and courteous staff at our Baltimore DC. I encourage all looking for employment to try and apply here. Companies change and we have strived to make every employee matter. The benefits are great and the hours are guaranteed. New management makes sure everyone is treated fairly and safety is key.

    Cons

    Not that I can think of much but maybe the truck drivers arrive from their daily trips at earlier time so the trucks can be loaded efficiently.

    PrimeSource Building Products2019-06-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "TrackZilla!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Non I can think of

    Cons

    PrimeSource is driving there company on a dark road with the headlights off. They have keep adding additional trackers but they will call them tools. Don’t listen to them they are trackers. Comp plan is consistently changing. They say it’s for the better it’s not.

    Advice to Management

    Get your company with the times. E-commerce is a necessity. If you don’t a great website with e-commerce capacity by 2020 you should.

    PrimeSource Building Products2019-05-23
  3. "Average company - Will die off eventually due to incompetence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    one doesn't need to be great at their job, just good enough and that standard isn't high at all.

    Cons

    The reason people don't do as much or work as hard is because some people in other departments get paid very well, while the rest of us make almost half.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest about your lack of planning and silo ways.

    PrimeSource Building Products2019-06-06
  4. "Poor, Reactionary Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PrimeSource Building Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great products and customer base. Brand recognition.

    Cons

    Cutting pay with 3rd Commission plan in 6 months. Extremely reactionary leadership, never forward thinking, just looking for good numbers to report to Private Equity owners. Get those numbers any way they can, cut jobs, cut pay, cut costs, no incentive to perform or sell "B" items.

    Advice to Management

    Be innovative and grow top line sales, the competition keeps coming up with new products, PrimeSource is same old, same old. Never cut your sales team's pay to cut costs. That's the quickest way to lose valuable people.

    PrimeSource Building Products2019-06-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Lacks Structure & Stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PrimeSource Building Products full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New CEO seems to be pushing us in the right direction.

    Cons

    Managers needs to be replaced.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Don’t give us instructions and tell us you did not instruct us to do so. Take responsibility for your misguidance and stop pointing fingers at your employees and other departments. We have owned up to our mistakes. When will you?

    PrimeSource Building Products2019-03-28
  6. "Corporate Change to More Centralized Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are great. Good past company culture. Pay is average, and they do sometimes provide incentive bonuses.

    Cons

    Lots of recent lay offs due to company buyout and restructuring. Questionable room for growth. Benefits do not resemble other large corporations.

    PrimeSource Building Products2019-02-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership keeps changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Procurement Specialist in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PrimeSource Building Products full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    some departments have flexibility in working hours

    Cons

    Management keeps changing and every new leadership team keeps trying to make too many changes in a short amount of time. Employees are always scared to lose their jobs and are tentative of any new changes

    Advice to Management

    LIsten to the employees about the important stuff and don't just try and to a quick fix. Get to the root of the problem and solve it.

    PrimeSource Building Products2019-01-31
  8. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX

    I have been working at PrimeSource Building Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits package. Lots of room to grow

    Cons

    Must be willing to relocate to really go anywhere.

    PrimeSource Building Products2019-01-16
  9. "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to start a sales career, good benefits, certain locations can be lucrative.

    Cons

    Low Pay, No Raises, Top Down Management, Bad attitudes. New Ownership doesn’t not value employees.You will have your territory “re aligned “ with promises of not losing money but it will happen anyways. One change cost me 15k with no adjustments to list of income.

    Advice to Management

    You will continue to lose salesmen with experience and low pay. The competition offers better compensation and less stress.

    PrimeSource Building Products2018-11-30
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PrimeSource Building Products full-time

    Pros

    -Good pay -great environment -good benefits

    Cons

    Moving up in the company can be difficult.

    PrimeSource Building Products2018-11-14
Found 86 reviews