PrimeSource Building Products Reviews | Glassdoor

PrimeSource Building Products Reviews

Updated January 3, 2017
52 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
George Judd
5 Ratings

52 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Caring company, good pay, good benefits, movement with in the company, many locations (in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Territory Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Have a nice mix of privately branded and name brand products to sell. Also, nice 401k match, benefits, and PTO programs.

    Cons

    New ownership is an equity firm and employees are not highly valued.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees by providing top rate leadership.


  2. "It was good for a while"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Most of the people did their jobs and had good attitudes.
    Management were good people and good to work for until the manager got promoted. Then it fell apart

    Cons

    They can't keep the warehouse staffed, because they don't pay enough for the work, therefore it makes it difficult for everyone else to do their jobs because the merchandise can't get loaded on the trucks properly. When I would complain to my manager, I got excuses as to why things couldn't be done properly. I finally got so fed up with not being able to do my job, without having to take additional steps because someone else had not done theirs, that I quit.

    Advice to Management

    Stop making excuses for poor performance.
    Pay a few extra bucks and get permanent warehouse help


  3. "New Mangement"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pricing Analyst in Irving, TX
    Current Employee - Pricing Analyst in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PrimeSource Building Products full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    New leadership is very open to ideas. They have brought in great people and let some of the less friendly people go. They are adding fringe benefits to make working here more appealing and offering merit raises and increasing salaries to market. Started doing midyear reviews as well to adjust salaries when needed.

    Cons

    Lost some good people as well with the new management. Not all departments are as enjoyable as pricing to work in.

    PrimeSource Building Products Response

    Aug 21, 2016 – PrimeSource Building Products

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very pleased that you believe changes are going in the right direction. We will continue to strive for all departments to be as ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Inside Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products full-time

    Pros

    Decent starting pay, laid back environment.

    Cons

    Limited income earning opportunities, lack of structure, shotgun effect sales tactics, outdated technology and practices.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in technology, better management selection process, pay & advancement based on meritocracy not buddy & brown nosing.


  6. "inside sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PrimeSource Building Products full-time

    Pros

    Caring company, good pay, good benefits, movement with in the company, many locations

    Cons

    strcit work schedule, track every movement, going through change

    PrimeSource Building Products Response

    Aug 21, 2016 – PrimeSource Building Products

    We appreciate your feedback. The Company has made recent changes to allow flexible hours where it is possible to still provide high quality service to our customers.


  7. "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing employee to work with. Okay benefits but nothing too spectacular.

    Cons

    Could offer better perks with better appraisal to the employees

    PrimeSource Building Products Response

    Aug 21, 2016 – PrimeSource Building Products

    Thank you for the positive feedback and the suggestion on a better appraisal. We are currently evaluating new options for talent development and reviews.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Place for First Full-Time Job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PrimeSource Building Products full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Strong benefits package and reasonable pay structure generally. LIfe/Work balance is good as well for lower level sales teams. The current HR Team Members are talented, smart, and very helpful.

    Cons

    Opportunity for growth is hindered in outside sales positions - due to territories constantly be realigned. Overall lack of investment in employees professional development at some office locations.

    Advice to Management

    Be sure to invest in your employees, they are the lifeblood of the company. Make sure to keep payment structure competitive and rewarding for strong performing sales team members.

    PrimeSource Building Products Response

    Mar 24, 2016 – PrimeSource Building Products

    Thank you for your time and balanced feedback regarding your experience at PrimeSource. We are committed to employee development in all areas, and have several key initiatives to further the ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Primesoure"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Pleasanton, CA
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Pleasanton, CA

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pays well and keeps you busy.

    Cons

    Too many managers and company is going through a change in ownership. So a lot of downsizing and possible branch relocations.

    PrimeSource Building Products Response

    Apr 2, 2016 – PrimeSource Building Products

    We appreciate you taking the time to comment on PrimeSource and the positive comment on our compensation structure. We did go through a change in ownership in 2015 and that’s behind us now.  We are ... More


  10. Helpful (6)

    "Depressing morale"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Central location in Metroplex easy access by several major highways; benefits on par with other like businesses; covered parking lot

    Cons

    Weak middle management and micro-managing; free thought and ideas exchange not encouraged. Opressive atmosphere and socializing is covertly discouraged

    Advice to Management

    Sincerely encourage ideas exchange and be more sensitive to employee morale and incorporate a better more equal work-life balance

    PrimeSource Building Products Response

    Mar 20, 2016 – PrimeSource Building Products

    We appreciate your time with PrimeSource and providing your comments. We are very much committed to building talent, and creating a great culture. We recently hired a Talent Manager and are working ... More


  11. Helpful (6)

    "Glad to be gone"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PrimeSource Building Products (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Company has some good employees and the company consistently makes money.

    Cons

    There is new ownership (2015) and new Senior management in place. They are firing many different levels of employees - dissolving positions to cut costs - all for the purpose to resell the company. The company is now being run by "short term" people and the level of dedication and knowledge has dropped significantly..... This is a company to stay away from.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to say as the new management team have their marching orders from a private equity owner (Platinum Equity) that just wants to resell the company for higher profit.

    PrimeSource Building Products Response

    Feb 8, 2016 – PrimeSource Building Products

    Thanks for sharing your views on PrimeSource. The Company is investing in new processes and technology, has brought in experts in key business segments, and is well poised to grow our employees ... More



Showing 52 of 52 reviews
Reset Filters