Progenity Reviews | Glassdoor

Progenity Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Progenity CEO Harry Stylli (no image)
Harry Stylli
19 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some of the reps, all the way up to upper management are sitting around waiting to cash out(in 4 reviews)

  • "Everyone is hanging around waiting to sell or go public and cash out their stock(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Place I Have Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progenity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome culture with happy employees. Highly collaborative. Challenging work with opportunities to grow and develop. Great benefits.

    Cons

    There does not seem to be established company values or it is unclear as to what they are. Fast growth which comes with expected growing pains. Some systems and programs are very antiquated.

    Advice to Management

    Establish company values to help guide employees and increase engagement in their day to day work.

    Progenity2019-10-12
  2. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progenity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    rapid growth provides lots of opportunity, positive work environment, great benefits, good work-life balance

    Cons

    priorities change dramatically and constantly, this is a symptom of the rapid growth in my opinion and more a feature than a bug, but I know some people are put off by that sort of environment and just want something predictable. If you want predictable, this isn't the place for you.

    Progenity2019-09-20
  3. "Yikes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progenity full-time

    Pros

    Casual dress, free soda & coffee

    Cons

    Obvious favorites in the company- if you’re not one of them, you can forget about ever advancing your career here. Obviously, this causes tension among the staff. Ive heard more bad mouthing here than I have anywhere else I’ve ever worked. Management knows this and intentionally ignores it. Don’t even get me started on how little they care about the patients.... just check out this place’s yelp reviews. I would... never ever recommend this place to any expectant mother even if she was my worst enemy. Overall, it wasn’t a horrible place to work temporarily, but if you’re looking to establish your career I would steer clear of progenity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management need to be completely replaced with people who actually care about employees and clients and aren’t just in it for the pay check.

    Progenity2019-10-09
  4. "Get Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Progenity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company car was a nice perk along with decent benefits.

    Cons

    Systemically rotten to the core with management running the culture into the ground. Flawed, ambiguous compensation plans designed to NOT pay you...and when/if they do, it's always delayed. Management, all the way to the top, refuses to listen to their sales reps and "boots" on the ground...yet wonders why there is high turnover and various initiatives and goals are consistently not being met. However, they are... aware enough that an initiative aimed at "revamping their online presence" was put into effect, so I would seriously question a lot of the overly positive reviews here and on other various platforms; it is marketing or management and all smoke and mirrors like the rest of the company. I would typically question the validity and truth behind such negative reviews but I can assure you, they ring true and are consistent. Siloed departments with lack of cross departmental communication. Lack of adequate resources so reps are constantly put in the line of fire and have to play middle man in order to keep the business... if reps were not handling everything, the systems would crumble because they are systemically flawed. Numbers are not accurate either - with suspicious inaccuracies across several different systems. Favoritism runs rampant in this old boys' club, don't ask questions, toxic culture of a company. Sales reps are constantly strung along with lofty promises that ultimately culminate in nothing. Zero career development or ability for advancement, not to mention the company is seriously behind and always in "scramble" mode in an industry that is becoming increasingly more crowded and competitive and one in which the space overall is advancing rapidly every day. Some of the reps, all the way up to upper management are sitting around waiting to cash out...which is why there is a serious disconnect between their employees, clients, and the patients. To put it quite simply, Progenity is not around for the long haul.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You still have a few decent and solid reps left. Listen to their feedback, value them, and reward and acknowledge those that have earned it. Communicate with transparency internally. In order to really turn things around, focus on fixing your culture first and clean house starting at the top. One employee's bad attitude or performance does not cause the ongoing issues within this company; it is systemic and... starts at the top. Stop trying to build a house on a shaky foundation because pretty soon you won't have a sales force large enough and well equipped enough to rebuild it.

    Show More
    Progenity2019-10-02
  5. "Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Progenity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great medical and dental benefits

    Cons

    This is a very dysfunctional environment

    Progenity2019-08-12
  6. "Streamlined and through experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progenity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, with opportunities to collaborate, learn and make a difference. Work hard, play hard environment.

    Cons

    Ann Arbor weather in the winter.

    Progenity2019-05-06
  7. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progenity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the brightest people I’ve worked with, very patient focused

    Cons

    I’m very new so no cons yet!

    Progenity2019-04-26
  8. "Great Culture and Patient Focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progenity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Progenity hires A+ individuals Culture is incredible Development and growth opportunities Patient Focus Best in Class products

    Cons

    NONE! this company has a great feel and great leadership in place. Love the size of the company and ability to be recognized.

    Progenity2019-04-22
  9. "The management is the worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Specialist in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Progenity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My Coworkers are awesome

    Cons

    The director is very rude she is the reason why so many people leave. She is very hard to work with.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the director things would be less stressful and flow better

    Progenity2019-05-29
  10. "Never boring."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progenity full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Progenity for 5 years. In that time, I've formed many close relationships with colleagues who are like family. It's a super fast-moving environment and there is lots of change that comes with growth. It's intense, but never boring. My department is a great working environment.

    Cons

    You have to be OK with lots of change, a fast pace, and a certain amount of chaos that goes along with that.

    Progenity2019-02-06
Found 52 reviews