Prolacta Reviews | Glassdoor

Prolacta Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Prolacta CEO Scott Elster
Scott Elster
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Opportunities for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prolacta full-time

    Pros

    Mission-driven culture, opportunities to grow, work/life balance, highly motivated and engaged employees. Overall, this is an organization with an amazing cause to work for every day!

    Cons

    You need to be adaptable to changes, as the company grows and evolves. However, this is a good skill to learn!

    Prolacta2019-09-13
  2. ""Great mission with amazing people""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales & Marketing in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prolacta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The mission that drives this company is truly amazing, and it really unites everyone to work together as a team to provide the best quality for the babies, the best services for the hospitals, and the best culture for the employees.

    Cons

    People are empowered - no cons at this time. It's a great place to make an impact and work hard ... you just need to be motivated

    Advice to Management

    Keep striving to evolve the organization, keep listening to customers and keep motivating employees ...

    Prolacta2019-08-31

    Prolacta Response

    September 5, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you and keep up the great work! We love hearing that our focus is a motivator for you. Together, we are making a real difference in the lives of NICU babies worldwide.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in Duarte, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prolacta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company that makes a difference in saving lives. Very astute thinking management. Work load is very manageable . 2 way communications.

    Cons

    no place to each lunch in walking distance.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course with the company and treating people with respect. Working for an organization where you make a difference is a rare thing indeed.

    Prolacta2019-07-20

    Prolacta Response

    September 4, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for making a difference in the lives of the vulnerable babies we serve. We’re glad you joined the team and it is gratifying to read your acknowledgment!

  4. Helpful (10)

    "A Work in Progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in City of Industry, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prolacta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits: 4 weeks PTO, competitive health insurance, and company-paid events. Solid co-workers with varied experiences and expertise. Like the other reviews say, there are a lot of ex-Baxter employees but there’s a mix of good and bad ones.

    Cons

    Ratio of managers to direct reports is 2:1 in a lot of departments - this opens up the door to intense micromanaging. There’s also not a ton of activity happening within the company so there’s only a small group of employees producing real value. There definitely is nepotism and favoritism coming from upper management, but I wouldn’t say this is unusual for a relatively small, private company. Most promotions are... not based on merit so receiving one doesn’t give you the sense of accomplishment a typical promotion would.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look to hire individuals outside of the Baxter circle so that the company can grow to be diverse and multicultural. Avoid doing group “promotions”. Cash bonuses to the department or a company-paid event to celebrate a departmental accomplishment would make more sense. Overall, it seems like management is attempting to make the right decisions but even when they make the right decision they end up executing it the... wrong way.

    Show More
    Prolacta2019-07-03

    Prolacta Response

    September 4, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for your review and for recognizing the dedication and diversity of your co-workers at Prolacta. It’s with the support of our talented team that we’ve been able to grow and expand the impact of the lifesaving work we do here. We continue to learn as we grow and appreciate ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (9)

    "SAVE YOURSELF THE PAIN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prolacta full-time

    Pros

    They give you free donuts and some of the guys I worked with were like fam

    Cons

    There isn’t much pro to working here. My supervisor exploded alot and he disrespected us. I hear him making racist comments and people are too afraid to say anything back. The hurt was real but you keep taking it becauze your paycheck to paycheck. Alright we tried to organize and talk to HR about the supervisor but that went no where. They protect him from the top. The HR at the company acts like they are scared of... the supervisors so the rest of us get no justice. I think this is an unfair place to work. Go work somewhere else and don’t waste your time like me. I wish I read the reviews before taking the job but my girlfriend only told me about this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Free donuts isn’t an answer. There is something bigger that is wrong with this place.

    Prolacta2019-07-18

    Prolacta Response

    September 4, 2019Company Representative

    We value each and every employee and have zero tolerance for disrespect of any kind. Please contact John Nelson, chief administrative officer, as soon as possible to discuss your experience. He can be reached at jnelson@prolacta.com.

  6. Helpful (9)

    "It's Not Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Prolacta full-time

    Pros

    Health insurance for the employee and their family

    Cons

    Nepotism at Prolacta stinks like yesterday’s dirty diapers with the Baxter people favoring one another. They look the other way at each other’s bad behavior and their bad behavior does exist. If you’re not from Baxter, there’s little hope for much of a promotion while the Baxter people are controlling the company. It horrible to continually see poor performing Baxter people hired and given preferential treatment... over more qualified people. This happens again and again. The company pays a PR agency a huge fee to spin stories but their rhetoric is nothing more than PR fluff that doesn't come close to the truth. Avoid Career Suicide. Keep looking for a job elsewhere and you can forget about any career longevity if you have a disability too. The board of directors is uninformed. They are nothing more than a bunch of feckless men. They are mostly white male friends of the CEO that spend their time nodding their heads and swallowing the CEO’s stories without question. The board of directors meetings are nothing more than well-rehearsed, canned shows that obscure the real facts. Diversity is a only a buzzword at the company. Look closely at the white male dominated leadership team. They try to use a politician's excuse that one of them is 1/100th minority from a relative of a few generations ago. That's laughable. How many females have been gotten an internal promotion to the senior director, VP or C-level? Dead zone space. It’s because the good old boys in the C-suite want to close ranks and keep their clique. Maybe they can get away with that since it's a private company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house. The fish rots from the head down.

    Prolacta2019-07-13

    Prolacta Response

    September 4, 2019Company Representative

    This is a very concerning perspective and not aligned with the vision or values of this company. Please email John Nelson, chief administrative officer, at jnelson@prolacta.com or stop by his office to discuss your concerns personally.

  7. Helpful (10)

    "Nepotism Abounds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prolacta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun coworkers who made the job exciting. Product genuinely makes a difference in the lives of premies.

    Cons

    Nepotism and hiring practices are horrible. The company was relatively new when I got hired and I thought that my hard work would pay off and I could have a future with Prolacta. However, I found that unless you are related to or are a friend of upper management, you will get nowhere. In the lab, at least 4 of the new hires over the span of 3 years were friends and relatives of the lab supervisor. Elsewhere, people... who had no qualifications whatsoever were being hired because they were friends of upper management or they were from Baxter (a lot of people FIRED from Baxter were hired because they were friends with a higher-up). I was personally passed up for numerous promotions and open positions because I did not have a close personal relationship with management like those who were hired over me. Many times, we were expected to put in over time with just one day notice. If not, we were made to feel bad and were often berated. Job was monotonous. Same tasks over and over. Management would not train us on new tests- new tests were performed by the supervisor's friend, and that was it. HR nonexistent. The HR personnel they have hired had no prior experience whatsoever in HR! Poor pay- barely above minimum wage in LA county for a job requiring at least a bachelors degree.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to seriously stop with the nepotism/hiring friends. You are not considering people who have devoted themselves to the company and in turn they are turning away and leaving, like me. There are WAY too many managers/supervisors/director and not enough support staff! Too many chiefs and not enough indians. Just look at the job postings available now for Prolacta...pretty much all management positions...do not... need a supervisor for EVERY position!

    Show More
    Prolacta2019-06-27

    Prolacta Response

    July 9, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for your comments, and for being appreciative of your coworkers. We agree that our team at Prolacta is amazing and we definitely couldn’t do what we do without them. Making lifesaving feeding products from breast milk is making a difference for babies around the globe – ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Stay away, this is a company that will never go anywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Validation Specialist III in Duarte, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Prolacta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are a good group of entry level to mid-level seasoned employees.

    Cons

    Lack of management vision. They have no idea what they are doing and will not accept professional knowledge for growth. Extremely inexperienced management who have no idea what they are doing. Business is stuck in a place and will never be any more than it is.

    Advice to Management

    Time to admit that putting friends into management roles that have no experience or industry knowledge, was a mistake. Business and friends DO NOT mix.

    Prolacta2019-06-14

    Prolacta Response

    July 9, 2019Company Representative

    We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for giving credit to our team—they make it possible for us to save lives! And thanks to you, too, for the same. We are grateful for the time you spent with us. Prolacta has a rigorous recruiting, referral and hiring process. We value the referrals ...

    Show More
  9. "Great Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Prolacta full-time

    Pros

    Prolacta is a company with an amazing mission. I had a great experience at Prolacta and was always encouraged by my managers and coworkers in my career growth and development as an employee.

    Cons

    None. I had a great experience working at Prolacta.

    Prolacta2019-04-14

    Prolacta Response

    May 29, 2019Company Representative

    Thanks for your time, and your choice to make a difference for those who really need it through Prolacta Bioscience. We are proud to be the world’s leading hospital provider of 100% human milk-based nutritional products that are changing the standard of care for extremely premature ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Good at heart with flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prolacta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty open work environment. Good MVV. Lots of work to do. Good hours. Innovation

    Cons

    Cronyism abounds. Favoritism plays a large role in how management works. Hiring practices are skewed

    Advice to Management

    Reduce bias when dealing with employees and subject-matter-experts. Place value on group input rather than a singular persons input. Review hiring practices to determine if you are getting the best employee or the least expensive. Keep being innovative with your products and good luck with HMO.

    Prolacta2019-02-11

    Prolacta Response

    May 20, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for recognizing our mission here at Prolacta. We appreciate you sharing your concerns and have captured your input. If you have other thoughts, ideas or concerns, we invite you to share them anonymously in our suggestion box. We always strive to ensure that all employees ...

    Show More
Found 29 reviews