Prometheus Group Reviews

Updated May 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
38%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Prometheus Group Founder & CEO Eric Huang (no image)
Eric Huang
102 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some good folks, beer Thursdays(in 24 reviews)

  • "Free snacks, can’t complain about that, and overall decent benefits(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "people are being furloughed instead of being allowed to work from home(in 14 reviews)

  • "crazy management, little to no work life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Atmosphere

      Apr 29, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom, flexibility, accountability, and its a friendly environment

      Cons

      fast pace and no sick days

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Where there is smoke there is fire, consider other reviews before signing offer letter here

      Apr 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees are great people Free snacks Beer Thursday

      Cons

      -use free snacks and beer Thursdays as one of their only pros. They try to blind to what’s going on “ behind the curtain” with these free items. -upper management does not want to hear criticism or any employee voice. If you voice your dislike something you are immediately targeted. -not a diverse work place in ethnicity or gender. Instead of making strides to change this they ignore. -compensation is low compared to the market -retention is low, as soon as someone finds a different offer they jump ship. -High Performers Program, The only way to get in is to be a favorite. No real measurement of work related to being in the program. Instead of performance-based salaries they give you a useless gift. -Bad COVID response, you must be in the office to be doing great work mentality. -Mention of harassment misconduct from upper management

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      AVOID AVOID AVOID

      Apr 26, 2021 - Account Manager in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beer Thursday (Pre-Covid) now it’s a poor look making people congregate during social distancing. Nice office

      Cons

      -Boys Club Culture. If you aren’t on the incrowd count down your days -Women are outnumbered, under valued and not taken seriously. If you want to read about it look at Reddit, women leave due to feeling uncomfortable and harassment in the office from the men’s club. The men get a slap on the hand with no repercussions. There is no diversity in the office and nothing to proactively change the culture. The attempt with high performers leaves people annoyed and would rather want bonus structures, salary raises or culture change then 50.00 worth of a food basket. Many things go understaffed and your constantly overworked with that just being the norm. High turnover and no employee value. During COVID we were asked to come into the office in May and no true protocols or “tracing” in place. Being in the “tech” capital you can find many other options with much better perks. Lastly, watch for management asking for “5 star reviews” you get an incentive for being deceitful, but that’s the culture encouraged.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company! Work Hard, Play Hard

      Feb 8, 2021 - Sales in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am currently working for Prometheus on the sales team and have been here almost 1 1/2 years. This is by far the most rewarding place I have worked - the onboarding & leadership team here at Prometheus has certainly helped attribute to my success. Both of these teams have not only provided me with the right tools internally to succeed but also the mentality to succeed not only at Prometheus but sales in general. No matter where you go, whether it's Prometheus or another sales position, this line of work is ALWAYS going to be work hard, play hard. You get out of this position what you put in - if you are looking for a job to coast in, then sales is not for you. Prometheus has given me the opportunity to buy a house, pay off student loans, learn from folks with the same mentality, and grow beyond what I thought possible. Beyond just sales, Prometheus also offers a number of lucrative areas in not only compensation, but the environment, co-workers, & opportunity to advance. I encourage anyone looking into working at Prometheus Group to continue to do so!

      Cons

      The sales cycles in enterprise software are certainly something to learn but you are given the tools and support to learn how to navigate & adapt to this change.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid.

      May 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None at all. Stay very far away unless you want to be abused emotionally on a day to day basis.

      Cons

      All boys club. No women in leadership. Micromanaging. Understaffed. Underpaid. Harassment towards women making them quit and nothing is done to the employee who has repeatedly done this. NO HR AT ALL, so your complaints fall on deaf ears. No respect for employees or people's lives. In a pandemic employees were forced to go into the office or be fired. This includes ALL locations. Employees have called the cops on their OWN office because they were fearful of going into an open office that was government mandated to be shut down.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Think Twice

      Apr 27, 2021 - Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Half day Fridays (most of the time) Cool Co workers

      Cons

      Good place to be a stepping stone, not a career building place. Get experience and move on. Management doesn’t trust employees, and not shifting with the flexible schedule many tech places are. Wish there were opportunities for community engagement and volunteer efforts. No female leadership, all boys club mentality

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      413

      Mar 12, 2021 - Software Developer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upward growth.. if you show your ability, you'll get rewarded Fast paced environment.. you don't get stuck with doing maintenance, bug fixes New technology.. you get to work with new tech stacks and technology as long as it works Ownership.. you own the stuff on your team.. there are no 3rd party stakeholders who come in and try to architect

      Cons

      Lots of work A lot of new faces.. hard to keep track.. lots of new people to train Challenging technically.. lots of integration points internally and externally.. different types of proxies and oidc schemas Customer is always right.. some amount of scope creep which causes anxiety and stress

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible sales team dynamic/leadership

      Jan 18, 2021 - Sales in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not working here. Don't believe the fake reviews

      Cons

      The sales organization is in total disarray starting at the top. They'll tell you how grateful they are that you're there, then turn around and fire you with no explanation. I was warned before taking the job, but I fell for the empty promises and it all turned out to be true. Not an exaggeration. There is one individual on the sales team who is absolutely toxic and has been promoted and the demoted a couple of times. Purposefully intimidating and harassing other employees then kisses up to leadership and they buy it. Everyone on the team knows who this is. People have complained but it continues. Sales leadership doesn't provide adequate directive AND THE TRAINING IS ABYSMAL. The product offering is complex and serves complex industries. They make no attempt at even simplifying it. I should have known on my first day when they took me to my desk and it still held all the guys stuff who was recently fired. You’re on your own. Your teammates will try and help but onboarding is a joke. At the time I was there, none of leadership, including the now CRO had any real sales experience beyond the company. He was running the sales team and every morning would walk by the entire sales team, which was a quiet place all the time, and not so much as acknowledge anyone before locking himself in his office. Awkward. THE NIGHTMARE REVIEWS ARE ALL TRUE. There are plenty of other solid choices in the region.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      My Honest Review

      Mar 31, 2021 - Account Manager in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I decided to wait about a year since my 2 year time framt at Prometheus Group and almost a year into my new company to fully give my experience at this company. There are more cons than pros I'll admit. But the first couple months of my time year was enjoyable until the negatives began staring you in the face everyday. Sales is work hard, play hard that's true. But what's expected of you here in comparison to the support you get is asinine. Pros: 1. Good benefits 2. Fairly new office 3. Co-workers are great 4. Half-day Fridays 5. Good product 6. Decent experience if you're coming right out of college

      Cons

      Looking back I should've seen the warning signs. But hey, everyone starts a new job with bright eyes and ready to go. Free beer is also an easy way to catch a young person's attention. Cons: 1. Not considering OTE, base salary-wise, they are slightly to industry standards. You quickly realize this is because OTE/quota is nearly impossible to hit here. After like 2 days of reading a bunch of useless datasheets they send out to prospects, you're expecting to go full speed and hit full quota. Considering sale cycle is pretty long, you'd expect a ramp time like most established companies have. "Start-up" is about as big a buzzword as "Cloud" these days. 1998 was 23 years ago, this is not a start-up anymore. 2. Training isn't perfect at any company, but management here barely puts in any effort. You get very little insight into the product and the market you're selling into. In addition the sales team isn't really given any resources to help reduce the time it takes to do tedious tasks. If you're coming from a company that had access to Salesloft/Outreach, Dialer, Zoominfo/Seamless.ai, Gong etc, I hope you have enough time in your day to do what they expect of you with just Salesforce and LinkedIn. 3. Overtime and promotions. These go hand and hand. Come in 30 minutes early and stay an hour late if you want to be seen as a "hard worker" and have a shot at promotion. Keep in mind, you're already working from 7:30-5:30 or 8:00-6:00. Even if you get promoted, they likely won't give you a raise until you "prove" yourself in the new role for almost a year. This is coming from experience. 3. Management is incompetent and is the main reason this place has a bad rep. I could probably write an essay on this but read the other reviews. One situation that cracked up the sales team was when most of management came in one week in brand new Tesla's and luxury cars, while we're here trying to get them to even consider a tool that would save 3+ hours a day trying to manually find direct lines, correct emails, and manually sending emails. 4. Micromanagement. They know what you're doing and not doing every minute of every day. It's kind of scary actually. If you were to ask management if they knew what you were doing on Tuesday, February 11th at 2:06pm , they'd probably know and give you a play-by-play. 5. Shady practices and personal engagements. You can find out about this yourself, I won't go into detail. Now as I'm looking back on my time here, I remember on my second day one of the AM's at the time said that Prometheus Group was like a cult. Now I understand.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Awful Atmosphere

      Apr 27, 2021 - Software Developer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free snacks and really cool co-workers

      Cons

      Management constantly making false promises and show no loyalty or trust in their employees. Pay is not competitive. Allows no social life outside of work as you're expected to work extra hours. Abuse of female employees not taken seriously.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 146 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Prometheus Group Job Seekers

    Associate Software Developer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Prometheus Group? Share Your Experiences

    Prometheus Group logo
    or