Provena Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Provena Health Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Provena Health CEO Guy R. Wiebking (no image)
Guy R. Wiebking
4 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Private in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Provena Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a number of great people in management and many advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Provena Health2019-06-12
  2. "Patient Access Rep II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Patient Access Representative II in Danville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Provena Health for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I am a people person. I enjoyed working around people. I worked 3rd shift ER the last 18 months of my employment. I really loved my job and 3rd shift!

    Cons

    Upfront collections is their #1 concern. It's not about the patients. No raise if haven't met collection monthly goal. Resurrection took away employee activities, company picnics, $1 tickets to use in the café or gift shop. More was added to your job but no incentives given.

    Advice to Management

    Keeping an open door for employees would be good. They would be able to talk to you about anything that would be on their mind.

    Provena Health2016-09-27
  3. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Provena Health full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work, I enjoyed the way everyone would work together to take care of the residents. They all seem to have the residents welfare kept first in all we done for them. Administration did there part to keep staff, buts they can't please everyone.

    Cons

    Working hard by trying to keep enough staff, people would just get burned out after a while. but I think this happens in all nursing homes. No matter how hard the administration tries to keep things positive. They can only hire them they can't make a person stay.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep up the efforts in getting everyone on board.

    Provena Health2016-03-22
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Mokena, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Provena Health

    Pros

    Good Benefits Good Work/Life Balance Cares for Employees Great Company Values

    Cons

    Promotions are competitive otherwise a good company

    Provena Health2015-02-09
  5. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frankfort, IL

    I worked at Provena Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful company to work for!

    Cons

    Perfect company to work for!

    Provena Health2013-12-09
  6. "CNA/Unit Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA/Unit Secretary in Joliet, IL
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Provena Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of over time if you want it. Pay is comparative to other areas. Small discounts on food/drinks/gift shop and can pay with ID card. Fast paced environment. Great co-workers. Good benefits on educational assistance.

    Cons

    It's not for everyone and there are always going to be mean or lazy people. Everywhere you go there is going to be something you don't like but the only thing I didn't like was at first there was one nurse who was tough on me. After awhile she came around and we ended up really enjoying each other, most of the time. I guess the only other thing would be could have gotten a better discount on the food but that's... being picky. Well I would have to stay our supply room never seemed to be stocked the right way so it looked like we were stocked and really we weren't.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When the problem of our supplies came up our manger tried to take care of it but it took 6 months to do so and I'm not sure if it's still all the way done. Some floors work better as a team then others and I would work on that somehow. When someone is coding and it's your first time I would offer someone to talk to when it's done.

    Provena Health2013-07-27
  7. "Catholic hospital lacks compassion and quality of care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Verification Specialist in Evanston, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Provena Health full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, many longstanding dedicated employees

    Cons

    More interested in productivity no matter what the cost to the employee or the quality of care rendered to the patient . No compassion as stated in their mission.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on quality rather than quantity.

    Provena Health2013-04-08
  8. "Overall good experience pretty flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tech in Joliet, IL

    I worked at Provena Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, decent pay, mostly flexible

    Cons

    As with any hospital, staffing is always an issue

    Provena Health2013-03-19
  9. "Great enviroment for the residents' and reassurance for their families. Staff is under appreciated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Avilla, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Provena Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team leader and floor staff.

    Cons

    Administrators don't know how to show appreciation.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back employee incentives that promote attendance, ethics and teamwork.

    Provena Health2012-08-19
  10. "Provena St Joseph Hospital is a clean, comfortable, well supplied place to practice Nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN On MedSurg Floor in Joliet, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Provena Health

    Pros

    Most units recently remodeled or new, I usually have the support and supplies I need to safely and effectively perform my job of patient care and safety. The Nurses belong to a union in our hospital, so we have some benefits and support that other non-union workplaces don't. I enjoy going to work every day

    Cons

    I am hoping the recent merger will lower health insurance costs, and recent staffing shortages have been a souce of stress. At times the patient load is more than I would like, but newly hired RN's are in training, and staffing issues are a common porblem in hospital nursing.

    Advice to Management

    Unit managers are focused on bottom line and $$$ and staffing, when sometimes they need to take off their manager hat and put their nursing hat back on and pitch in to help.

    Provena Health2012-04-09
Found 16 reviews