Renaissance Learning Reviews | Glassdoor

Renaissance Learning Reviews

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Renaissance Learning CEO Chris Bauleke
Chris Bauleke
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Workload can be heavy and fast-paced, which can be stressful(in 5 reviews)

  • "The upper management doesn't really have a clue of how to fulfill the company vision(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I enjoy my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Account Executive in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Renaissance Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance work from home great mission statement reputable well-known and trusted company.

    Cons

    The working from home makes it hard to "connect" with other employees. No transparency into other open positions within the company. Jobs aren't posted internally, so you have to know the hiring manager if you want to move to a different territory or position.

    Advice to Management

    Don't make changes to what we can sell during the height of the selling season.

    Renaissance Learning2019-07-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Means well..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Renaissance Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are some of the nicest people you could hope to work with and everyone is eager to help as best they can.

    Cons

    No clear direction and support seems to come behind the curve. Many collaborators mean well but often have too many differing opinions to finalize, commit, and execute a strategy.

    Renaissance Learning2019-11-25
  3. "Renaissance Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wisconsin Rapids, WI
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Renaissance Learning full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Puts customers first. Employee culture is important to leadership. Strategy is set for aggressive growth.

    Cons

    Management is hierarchical and professional development is limited.

    Renaissance Learning2019-10-27
  4. "Great Gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Renaissance Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to greenfield new tech; fast-paced; brilliant co-workers.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    None,

    Renaissance Learning2019-10-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Renaissance Learning full-time

    Pros

    Great product with new additions.

    Cons

    Management claims to be pro-employee and transparent but seems like just lip service.

    Renaissance Learning2019-10-30
  6. "Wonderful Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Wisconsin Rapids, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Renaissance Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Renaissance has allowed me to continue my hobbies and they are very supportive. I feel like I belong with my department

    Cons

    The policies change a lot.

    Renaissance Learning2019-10-14
  7. "Positive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Engineer in Fremont, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Renaissance Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Renaissance Learning full-time for more than 4 years

    Cons

    Very repetitious work that will not benefit your future career path. The data steward role is not a long term kind of job.

    Renaissance Learning2019-08-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Mission Driven, Employee Growth Focus, Fair Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Lead in Wisconsin Rapids, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Renaissance Learning full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Everyone I know here believes in teacher support and student growth. In the last few years especially, there has been additional effort in employee growth. The compensation is comparable to similar companies in the area. The benefits are great and our HR team is constantly looking for ways to improve them.

    Cons

    The company has been owned by several investment firms over that past 6 years or so. It results in a cadence of doing something big at the end of every third year that can feel like going against our mission and purely focus on the next sale.

    Renaissance Learning2019-07-12
  9. "Evolving Company Fast-Paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Instructor in Madison, WI

    I have been working at Renaissance Learning full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Seem interested in employee engagement and satisfaction

    Cons

    No cons to share at this time.

    Renaissance Learning2019-06-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not Promising At All"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Renaissance Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good people, all very nice and easy to work with. - Ok work life balance.

    Cons

    - Bad leadership. The upper management doesn't really have a clue of how to fulfill the company vision. - The Fremont office is very small and boring. - They need to do a better job at hiring good managers. During the time I worked there, I feel 80% of the managers don't really care about their direct reports. - The pay was pretty low compared to other tech companies in the Bay Area

    Advice to Management

    Please pay more attention to the hiring of managers. It could make or break the employee's work life.

    Renaissance Learning2019-05-26
Found 182 reviews