Repligen Reviews | Glassdoor

Repligen Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
37%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Repligen President and Chief Executive Officer Tony J. Hunt (no image)
Tony J. Hunt
10 Ratings
  1. "Strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shipper/Receiver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Repligen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong environment to work in .

    Cons

    No real cons. I highly recommend

    Repligen2019-09-25
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Mixed Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Repligen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits package, especially for health insurance and the 401k match. I got along really well with my team for the most part, and especially enjoyed working with my manager and my department head. Lots of great individual contributers, as someone else said.

    Cons

    While the company's fast growth is impressive, the middle group of contributors suffers the most by not being appropriately staffed up or trained, which is impacted by the volume of people we took on during acquisitions. I supported a few hundred people, and while I loved the employees I worked with, it was difficult to support the workload. My manager was great at helping me prioritize, but so many people want immediate answers and as one person, there is only so much I could do. After moving to a new organization, there are a few things I realized we as an HR department were not handling well. The first was MA Sick - we did not provide any to temps or interns as was required by law, and to my knowledge we were not exempt. I also primarily handled FMLA/STD with our HR Business partner. When I went on my own leave, no letter of FMLA rights was provided to me, and I had to help file my own claim upon my return. I often felt that we were not setting up best practices or SOPs, which was evident whenever one of us was out of the office for an extended period of time. We were often strained by our individual responsibilities and had no SOPs in place to truly help the other employees who filled in for us in our absence. I do think the culture could use a lot of work. A high number of employees felt the demand of upper management without feeling supported. If you need ADA accommodations, be very clear and explicit, and educate yourself on your rights. I was worried I would not be supported with my needs outside of my direct managers, and I know another person whose accommodations were declined despite the fact that, in my opinion, they would not have proved undue hardship upon the company. I do not know if any attempt to compromise was made, and am only one person whose experience may differ greatly from others. I also was not approached for an exit interview, in which I would have been comfortable sharing these concerns. I hope that Repligen continues to grow with respect to its culture and people. My first year there was great, but once I went on leave it felt like everything went downhill past there. Instead of having conversations with me to better understand what I was going through or how it impacted work, some coworkers assumed I was unhappy with the work or unable to do it. It felt incredibly disrespectful, and ultimately I do not feel like I was heard or understood by anyone other than my manager and a handful of coworkers I worked closely with.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leaving was ultimately the right move for myself and the company, and I am grateful for my time there, but I would be dishonest if I did not own that upon further reflection, I was greatly frustrated with the way a number of things were handled. So, my advice is this: prioritize your employees. Care for your employees, especially those of us whose circumstances are different from the norm. Do not disregard their experiences at work. If you want the company to perform well for shareholders, then continue to work at improving company culture and make it a company people are proud to call their place of work.

    Show More
    Repligen2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Growing company but doesn't treat employees well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Repligen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Repligen offers restricted stock units to their employees which are performing extremely well so this is a good incentive to stay and there is always a lot of work to do as they are rapidly growing.

    Cons

    Everybody knows that they don't pay you what you're worth. Base salaries are low and the disconnect between upper management and the general work force is constantly felt especially around annual reviews.

    Advice to Management

    Transparency is a serious issue. The turnover is crazy high because there is almost no incentive to retain employees, it's a revolving door and every year after people get their stocks and bonus, many leave.

    Repligen2019-06-01
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Worse acquisition Practices I’ve seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Repligen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Larger company, I would say that is about it but I have to enter at least 5 words so yeah

    Cons

    Company acquisition practices are extremely aggressive. They clean house by increasing the work load of hourly staff, demising bonuses, giving poor reviews and hiring more incompetent managers than staff who are unreasonable and have a preconceived notions of the tenured employees they work with.

    Advice to Management

    We know that you are trying to push tenured older people out. That is against the law. You are going to get sued if you continue this aggressive attrition practices and keep telling employees they are not doing enough when all we do is work nonstop. We are people not machines. Respect our humanity and treat us as such

    Repligen2019-06-01
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Specialist in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Repligen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great admins - smarter than Exec team.

    Cons

    Exec team is lost - lead by CEO - no direction - no accountability - no sense of urgency.

    Advice to Management

    Might be time for leadership change - sinking ship.

    Repligen2019-03-24
  6. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Repligen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Honest People Leaders with down to earth values

    Cons

    None at all great culture

    Advice to Management

    Leaders Keep doing what you’re doing

    Repligen2018-08-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Growth at a cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Repligen full-time

    Pros

    Growing employee base, career opportunity

    Cons

    Communication throughout organization could be better

    Repligen2018-04-27
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing in Waltham, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Repligen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company truly wants success Compensation could be better, but not the worst in the industry Accountability CEO is willing to listen

    Cons

    401K is terrible Some weeks work hours are just to much Promotions should be based solely on merit not threats to leave or favorites QA and QC, I would say are under paid and valued

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing, but take a moment breath and address the valid complaints, and keep the CEO in the loop, he cant fix it he doesn't know about it

    Repligen2018-04-06
  9. "Growing Rapidly = Lots of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Repligen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High growth company Lots of opportunity for internal growth across multiple departments Acquisition of unique technologies sets Repligen apart from the competition

    Cons

    Integrating with acquired companies is challenging

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Repligen2018-03-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I've worked for (and I am no spring chicken). Clear long term goals, expected speed bumps."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Repligen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to apply your known, and discover your unknown, talent Action and ownership encouraged and supported Great place for motivated people High level of camaraderie and many opportunities to get to know co-workers through company sponsored events (ping pong tourney, charity drives etc.) Acquisitions and integrations can be challenging; this team has managed multiple acquisitions as effectively (and humanely) as possible IMO Leadership team is clear on goals and shares goals and "reality" in all-company meetings; employees are not left to wonder what's next CEO is approachable, head of R&D brilliant, head of HR culture-changing, overall the team is made up of really regular people, setting high-bar but reachable goals for their teams Most inspiring leadership team

    Show More

    Cons

    In fast growth mode, job/time demands can be higher than steady-state mode

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the outstanding work and focus. Keep hiring well, and hear calls for new hire help.

    Repligen2018-03-02
Found 24 reviews