Resource Development Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Resource Development Associates Reviews

Updated 8 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Resource Development Associates CEO Patricia Marrone Bennett (no image)
Patricia Marrone Bennett
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The people rock!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Resource Development Associates full-time

    Pros

    +socially conscious +amazing people +great location (on the lake)

    Cons

    -work/life balance (depending on role)

    Resource Development Associates2019-04-30
  2. "Mission-driven work with real impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Resource Development Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    RDA is a growing firm, which means staff have an opportunity to contribute to both the culture and the areas we work in. The culture is collaborative, and there are many opportunities to learn from people with deep expertise in public systems and in service areas including planning, grant writing, organizational development, capacity building/technical assistance, and evaluation and assessment. People are very... committed to the mission, and the project managers and practice directors care about understanding client needs, so it feels like the work has a real impact on our clients.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working in a growing organization means not everything is figured out. If you like working in a place where everything is very clearly spelled out, this may be frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to staff as the organization grows and develops.

    Resource Development Associates2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Impactful, Dynamic Consulting Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Resource Development Associates full-time

    Pros

    Very kind, passionate, and incredibly smart team of people. Meaningful, change-making work as far as consulting goes. More "feet on the ground" than other consulting firms.

    Cons

    Low starting salaries. Company needs to evaluate why it hires and retains mostly women, and how this is tied to lower base salaries.

    Resource Development Associates2019-04-27
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Justice in the name but in practice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Resource Development Associates full-time

    Pros

    The entry-level talent is kind of heart and passionate in their work. Perhaps due to the nature of the projects, most people are there because they truly want to contribute something meaningful.

    Cons

    I felt taken advantage of and emotionally hurt by top level management in terms of pay, professional development and self-respect. I went in thinking that I would be one of the team, but realized soon that people of color are tokenized. Logically, if you want to obtain buy-in from public agencies and non-profits looking for evaluation services, then the consulting team has to look the part. No question that everyone... is talented, but it is clear that physical appearance of employees is a component of the company's pipeline. In the end, it felt like diversity was a selling point and I just another face on a poster. Evidence is that as a consultant you can get severely underpaid in this firm. They do not even offer pay that is just and fair unless you fight for it. But if you have to fight for justice in a firm that stands on a high horse of social and economic justice, where are we in history. I felt wronged by the people that claimed to want to do good.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a heart for the work and the employees. It shows when you don't.

    Resource Development Associates2018-10-28
  5. "Once Upon A Time Was a Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Resource Development Associates

    Pros

    When Bob Bennett ran it, it was a great organization doing important work

    Cons

    Bob left and the company went downhill

    Resource Development Associates2017-06-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Rewarding and challenging work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Resource Development Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Resource Development Associates in a small consulting firm based in Oakland, CA. The work entails working on issues of social justice including criminal justice reform, mental health reform, health and education related work. I learned a great deal at my time at RDA including project management, working with clients, and got to really utilize my strengths and all my skills I learned throughout my educational... programs. The work was fulfilling and I particularly appreciated when I was able to work directly with the community members on the projects. What I also enjoyed was the diversity of projects, it helped keep you on your feet. The culture was great, respectful, and always interested in continuous improvement. Colleagues are very intelligent, motivated, and really the place kind of feels like a small little family.

    Show More

    Cons

    I would also stay the diversity of projects is a challenge as well. You must juggle lots of different projects at once. But that is also the work in consulting, so if that is something you feel is not your strength or that you don't want to do, don't go into consulting. Another challenge is to get professional development opportunities outside the company related events, such as workshops due to the fact it is a... smaller firm with smaller profit margins. But there is interest in beefing that piece up. I also think the benefits package are not as generous as other companies, which is particularly a challenge in the Bay Area.

    Show More
    Resource Development Associates2017-04-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful organizational culture, interesting projects, great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Resource Development Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support for professional development. Committed, passionate people who want to make a difference.

    Cons

    Deadline-driven consulting environment isn't a great fit for every individual.

    Resource Development Associates2017-04-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarding and Challenging in All the Best Ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Associate in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Resource Development Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    RDA attracts some of the most intelligent, talented, and passionate people I have ever met in my professional life. So much of what I know and use now I learned at RDA. RDA instills in you curiosity, professional presence, and the motivation to achieve things you never thought possible. While I was employed, RDA placed a huge emphasis on being a learning organization, honoring the perspectives of all employees... regardless of where they stood in the hierarchy/matrix, and creating experiences that made work truly meaningful to you as both a professional and as an individual. RDA's management conveyed authentic concern for the wellbeing of its employees and workplace culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    Benefits were OK. Given the nature of the consulting 'slog' (not something unique to RDA), I believe more PTO would help employees maintain a healthy work-life balance if that is a concern.

    Resource Development Associates2017-04-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Impactful work, mixed management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Resource Development Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clients are in real need of your skills, so you can have a meaningful impact on important social services across California.

    Cons

    Management is a real mixed bag: some are distracted and borderline rude, but others can be strong mentors. Senior management is super political and the tension trickles down.

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone with a little more respect and a little less condescension - will go a long way. Lessen burnout by balancing workloads better.

    Resource Development Associates2016-06-27
  10. "RDA is an amazing organization to be a part of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Resource Development Associates

    Pros

    I am proud to be a part of RDA because the work we do has real impact on our clients and people they serve. I consider myself lucky to get to go to work at RDA in the morning. Every one of the bright and passionate people on staff are committed to RDA's mission and works hard to deliver high quality services to our clients. It is a culture that promotes creativity and continuous learning, and shared leadership is... encouraged so all voices are welcome. More than anywhere else I have worked, the organization is very thoughtful about staff development and management actively promotes a strengths-based approach that creates a very positive and supportive work environment.

    Show More

    Cons

    New staff often experience as steep learning curve, but internal systems support the transition.

    Resource Development Associates2016-03-25
Found 14 reviews