Rover.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Rover.com Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 111 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Rover.com CEO Aaron Easterly (no image)
Aaron Easterly
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "It does take some time to adjust to having so many dogs around when you first start(in 49 reviews)

  • "Rover Support staff answer all questions in a timely manner(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Dogs have different personality types, and some can be hard to handle(in 9 reviews)

  • "24/7 support, so that means you may work holidays(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced, smart company growing quickly with lots of fun challenges to be solved. Encouragement from senior management to learn and grow in your careers.

    Cons

    Company hiring has been slow, which can make the workload harder at times

    Rover.com2019-07-03
  2. "Great work envrironment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Rover has a very welcoming and accepting culture that enables me to be bring my best self to work. The people are extremely friendly and share a common bond around the company mission.

    Cons

    Not crazy about the commute, but my team has flexible work from home practices.

    Rover.com2019-08-07
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great colleagues but not impressed with upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and love the dog culture.

    Cons

    The upper management is mostly white males who love to hire and invest in other white males.

    Advice to Management

    Diversity is key. Compensation for non engineering roles is terrible compared to other companies in the area.

    Rover.com2019-10-02
  5. "Rover is pretty darn good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rover.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Real WFH flexibility without a lot of the weirdness some companies create around it. Though while the WFH is flexible, it is because you'll end up doing more work at home than you would in the office. - Get to work with some really intelligent people that you can learn a lot from. - You'll be challenged to do more than you thought you can do as the expectations for employees is very high. - Extremely... efficient in Software Development practices, that keep getting better over time. - A lot of the people in leadership at Rover are incredibly good at motivating the troops. - As a person of color who left the company, I personally, never experienced any issues at Rover with regard to any adverse treatment as some other reviewers have suggested may be the case.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Some teams can have the some massive expectations for their output but not staffed sufficiently to achieve their goals. - You can get paid more for doing less elsewhere. - This is a bit of a sensitive topic, but my political leaning is left-of-center and Rover felt very much like an environment where it's probably best to keep your mouth shut if you have an opinion about work place issues (or any issue)... that is too far outside the left side of the spectrum. Not because of the company itself, but because of some very vocal employees.

    Show More
    Rover.com2019-09-20
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Overall a great product that I recommend to people but the company itself is in painful stages of growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rover.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dogs in office, smart people, innovative, office space, health benefits

    Cons

    It's hard to recruit top talent that is needed at this point in Rover's growth - very low pay, not competitive. It's also hard to close experienced candidates when there are currently tenured leaders at Rover who are in over their heads, unwilling to put aside egos. Lots of current talent being underutilized. Lack of vision and experience in some leadership positions but it is overlooked due to tenure.... Feedback is "valued" but nothing changes at leadership level.

    Show More
    Rover.com2019-06-22
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Over Promising and Under Delivering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rover.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Wonderful dog obsessed people - Some of the best people I've ever worked with (though Rover has a really hard time the good ones, see below) - Great marketing. Rover is actually a better marketing company that it is a technology company or a service. Marketing and managing public perception of the company is more of a priority than the actually technology itself or the customer experience. - For select people,... Rover really can be a career maker.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Can’t keep their best employees. Rover hired some of the best people I've ever worked with. Unfortunately Rover had a very hard time keeping them due to us feeling overworked, underpaid, and underappreciated, and lack of career growth. Waves of great employees would leave after repeated bad management decisions. - Rover also hired some of the absolutely most incompetent people I've ever worked with, primarily... managers. Like comically bad managers, who when they were hired or promoted it resulted in 75% of the existing team leaving. My favorite managers are all gone, the worst ones are still there and are still getting promoted. - Sexist managers are promoted. Female employees being told they need to be more emotionally expressive, male managers taking credit for their female employees work and ideas, erasing the female employee's contributions, etc. - Rampant favoritism. Favoritism is a huge factor in who gets promoted. - Pay is not competitive in many positions. I was offered a position at a similar sized tech startup that had lower responsibilities and stress that paid almost 50% more. Also managers talking poorly about job candidates, behind their backs of course, who ask for an entirely reasonable living wage for the position they're hiring for. Employees being shamed for wanting pay that doesn't make them live paycheck to paycheck. - Some job’s maximum annual structured pay raise percentages are less than the annual increase in cost of living. That means even if you get the maximum raise, you might still be making the same or less than you did the year before the raise. - Yes manning - There are very few people who can really express their opinions and concerns about the company, how it is being run, etc without severe consequences. Lower level employees who love Rover and want to make suggestions about how to improve things have a tendency of getting fired, laid-off, or frozen out of the organization. Doing anything but singing the praises of Rover and acting like a happy go lucky employee can get you in trouble really fast. - Fake PiPs/job security reassurances and sudden firings are common. Do not trust a manager that puts you on any sort of performance improvement plan regardless of what they call it and regardless of what reassurances they give you that you're not on track to be fired. They are just trying to keep you calm and happy while they gather enough evidence to satisfy HR before firing you. Don't believe managers when they tell you they'd been working with an employee for a while before firing them. - HR is helpless to improves systemic problems. They’re really nice people, but remember their job is to protect Rover. Too many bad managers get promoted regardless of bad behaviors. Employees who expressed concerns were gone, sometimes voluntarily, sometimes due to firings a short time later.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Stop using growth and being a startup as excuses for poor internal management. - Pay employees a living wage. Don't shame employees or job candidates who demand to be paid fairly for their work. - Set realistic expectations about potential raises and career growth in the hiring process - Stop promoting and protecting poor managers - Promote based on merit, not favoritism. Make sure career development and... mobility is accessible to all employees, not just manager favorites. - Bad behaviors start at the top. Rover's culture won't really change until the people at the top look at how their behaviors are driving and encouraging poor management and make the necessary changes their own behavior. - Stop taking advantage of dedicated, dog crazy employees who are so in love with the idea of what Rover could be that they put up with really poor treatment. - Spend less time maneuvering to get Rover on 'Best of ...' and '... of the year' lists and spend that energy making the real culture match the one you market to the public.

    Show More
    Rover.com2019-07-11
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Major diversity issues / low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rover.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Dogs. Obviously a positive to working at Rover. You feel a sense of connection with the mission and the brand is really popular. * Some amazing, kind-hearted colleagues. * CEO and COO are inspiring and mission-driven.

    Cons

    * African-American and LGBT employees were seemingly impacted more than others. In my time, the majority of African-American employees in tech roles (already a very low number) were terminated or left the company. HR leadership appeared insensitive and cynical about concerns brought by transgender employees. There is no visible passion for diversity and inclusion in the day to day working of the company. *... Culture has gone downhill rapidly. The company changed vacation to "unlimited", but management denies requests and still restricts usage. The change seems to be an accounting maneuver that restricts folks from carrying over time. * Pay is crazy low. They are secretive about salary data and tell employees who have concerns that they must not believe in the value of equity. The benefits are also well below competitors.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do something about the culture. Address the root issues with diversity and put in leaders that see the value in inclusion. These things have been brought up many times and leaders have to take on solving it

    Rover.com2019-05-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great office environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Rover for almost a year now, and absolutely love it. I am surrounded by highly intelligent, motivated people. No office politics, everyone is incredibly supportive and I am still blown away by the comradery and partnership. The dogs in office make even the driest topics worth it, everything is a little more fun and lighthearted when there are happy pups around! CEO is an awesome, genuinely cares about... his employees. All around great place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is not the most competitive, and Rover currently doesn't contribute to 401k

    Advice to Management

    Focus on preserving the company culture, it's a rarity.

    Rover.com2019-04-18
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Love my peers but culture can be deceiving."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Strong leadership; I have faith in the executive team to guide the company in the right direction. - Lots of smart, hardworking peers. I am frequently impressed by those I work with. - Subject matter of work is great: who doesn't like dogs? - Work from home once a week. - True 9 to 5 hours for most people. - SQL training. - Opportunity to work on lots of areas of the business. - Bring your dog to work and... lots of office dogs always around. - A great company to add to your resume because we are growing and evolving so much. A lot of teams are brand new and you can have the opportunity to make real impact and solve complex business problems. - In my personal experience, Rover does not tolerate harassment and strives to promote equality (there is an openly acknowledged LGBTQ community, pronouns are respected, women in the workplace lunches, etc.)

    Show More

    Cons

    - Compensation. Rover pays well below market average. Senior leadership will promote the feeling of "we're all in this together" and "stock options will make up for the gap" which is inaccurate. Sure, senior people aren't rolling in the dough like they maybe could be if they worked at Amazon, but they also don't have to think twice about paying their rent / mortgage or buying groceries. It's extremely offensive... when lower level employees' quality of life is actually impacted by the lack of compensation. I know multiple employees that have to work a second or even third job to survive living in Seattle. - It's near impossible to get a promotion or raise. You can do everything outlined in a leveling doc, check off all the boxes with proof you're performing at the next level through projects or tasks, and nothing will happen. You can receive glowing peer and manager reviews and exceed expectations and still not receive a promotion. You can be told you are on the right track and there is nothing you should change and you will still not receive a promotion. The response from management is to "just hang in there", "it is what it is", or perhaps the most offensive: "if you came here to make a lot of money, this isn't the place". - Culture is not quite what it seems at times. This is probably the most frustrating part of working at Rover because it is both a pro and a con. We have a unique group of amazing people who actually give a **** about what they are working on and upper level management is constantly tearing down that momentum. Favoritism occurs and career development is not treated equally across the org. - Over the last few months the culture seems like it has begun to shift more towards *ss kissing, which is severely disappointing. Management continues to drive home the point that ultimately it doesn't matter how hard you work and how impactful the results you drive are, but that showboating your projects is more important. Why has it become more important to talk the talk rather than walk the walk?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    At some point, you can only get so much negative feedback regarding the same things over and over and over and over. Hold yourselves accountable to improving the quality of life and opportunity for your employees. If you don't throw lower level employees a bone soon you're going to waste a lot more money re-hiring than you would retaining them because sadly, a lot of people are looking for other opportunities.

    Rover.com2019-04-26
  11. Helpful (7)

    "Awesome People. Not competitive pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Smart, hardworking people - Fun social events - On the job SQL training - Solid executive leadership -- they walk the walk. - Occasional opportunities to work on interesting projects - Dogs

    Cons

    The pay here is low and raises are hard to come by. I know five people at Rover who all do great work (including saving the company hundreds of thousands of dollars), and have gotten nothing but good feedback in their reviews, and who still have never gotten a promotion or raise. There are lots of high flying, overachievers in the company and promotions are limited (though they will tell you otherwise), so you... really have to do something big to get any monetary recognition. Rover acts like the leveling and review process is this solid, objective system; yet I know someone with the exact title as me, doing the same work as me, but making 25% less, all while being told that their salary is competitive for their title. On the other hand, I know someone with the same level of experience as me who makes 15% more. They completely misstated the value of my stock options in my initial offer. Even in the best case scenario, Rover's stock options don't make up for the difference in their low pay and zero match on the 401k. (Though if you got in during the really early days, maybe your stock options do bridge that gap.)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Either pay people what they are worth or just stop claiming that you pay a competitive wage. I know you made a strategic business decision to not focus on paying competitive wages because stock options and the work/life balance is meant to make up the difference; yet even in a best case IPO scenario, my stock options will not make up the pay gap in what I could be making at another company. I have yet to talk to one... specialist level employee at the company who is not grumbling about their reviews and thinking about other options. Just a little more compensation more would make such a difference in proving you value your employee's hard work. Also, please start matching 401k contributions!

    Show More
    Rover.com2019-04-25
Found 111 reviews