Rover.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Rover.com Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 112 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Rover.com CEO Aaron Easterly (no image)
Aaron Easterly
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "It does take some time to adjust to having so many dogs around when you first start(in 47 reviews)

  • "Rover Support staff answer all questions in a timely manner(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Dogs have different personality types, and some can be hard to handle(in 8 reviews)

  • "24/7 support, so that means you may work holidays(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced, smart company growing quickly with lots of fun challenges to be solved. Encouragement from senior management to learn and grow in your careers.

    Cons

    Company hiring has been slow, which can make the workload harder at times

    Rover.com2019-07-03
  2. "Great work envrironment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Rover has a very welcoming and accepting culture that enables me to be bring my best self to work. The people are extremely friendly and share a common bond around the company mission.

    Cons

    Not crazy about the commute, but my team has flexible work from home practices.

    Rover.com2019-08-07
  3. "Rover is pretty darn good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rover.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Real WFH flexibility without a lot of the weirdness some companies create around it. Though while the WFH is flexible, it is because you'll end up doing more work at home than you would in the office. - Get to work with some really intelligent people that you can learn a lot from. - You'll be challenged to do more than you thought you can do as the expectations for employees is very high. - Extremely... efficient in Software Development practices, that keep getting better over time. - A lot of the people in leadership at Rover are incredibly good at motivating the troops. - As a person of color who left the company, I personally, never experienced any issues at Rover with regard to any adverse treatment as some other reviewers have suggested may be the case.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Some teams can have the some massive expectations for their output but not staffed sufficiently to achieve their goals. - You can get paid more for doing less elsewhere. - This is a bit of a sensitive topic, but my political leaning is left-of-center and Rover felt very much like an environment where it's probably best to keep your mouth shut if you have an opinion about work place issues (or any issue) that is... too far outside the left side of the spectrum. Not because of the company itself, but because of some very vocal employees.

    Show More
    Rover.com2019-09-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Income range is not true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Contractor in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, take time off when you want or need it. Be your own boss. Get paid to spend time with dogs.

    Cons

    Business is not steady. You need a really flexible schedule because you often get contacted the night before or the morning of. Even with repeat customers I never know if I will have work from week to week and im super flexible with my schedule and always respond to clients right away. Many of the listings say earn 1,000 per month. The year is almost up and I have earned just over 2,000 total. Rover takes 20% of... whatever you make cutting your pay down (even though they charge the customer a fee for making the booking.) The more work the bigger the cut you lose. You have to wait 2 days to get paid even though the money is paid by the customer at the time of booking then you must have paypal to get paid (otherwise its snail mail and takes a week or longer to get paid)In paypal if you want the money quick youll lose another 1% from paypal for doing so or you gotta wait another business day and if your booking ends on a thursday or friday night or weekend you must wait til the following week to get paid by Rover. You get NO medical or dental benefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop taking 20 percent and go lower like 10 or less. Offer your independent contractors an option to join in a group employee self employed health plan that renews each year. What about a discounted pet insurance rate too to all rover employees and contractors. Expand some of your corporate jobs like customer service to other states through remote position offerings.

    Rover.com2019-08-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoying Rover.com"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pet Sitter in San Diego, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Rover.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    MeetIng new people. Receiving jobs after 24 hours. Schedule when you are available. Cients can be generous with tipping. I'm impressed with their notification and calendaring software.

    Cons

    Rover takes 20%, thus if you are driving further than a couple of miles for a job it cuts into your pay.

    Rover.com2019-08-07
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Overall a great product that I recommend to people but the company itself is in painful stages of growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rover.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dogs in office, smart people, innovative, office space, health benefits

    Cons

    It's hard to recruit top talent that is needed at this point in Rover's growth - very low pay, not competitive. It's also hard to close experienced candidates when there are currently tenured leaders at Rover who are in over their heads, unwilling to put aside egos. Lots of current talent being underutilized. Lack of vision and experience in some leadership positions but it is overlooked due to tenure.... Feedback is "valued" but nothing changes at leadership level.

    Show More
    Rover.com2019-06-22
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Over Promising and Under Delivering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rover.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Wonderful dog obsessed people - Some of the best people I've ever worked with (though Rover has a really hard time the good ones, see below) - Great marketing. Rover is actually a better marketing company that it is a technology company or a service. Marketing and managing public perception of the company is more of a priority than the actually technology itself or the customer experience. - For select people,... Rover really can be a career maker.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Can’t keep their best employees. Rover hired some of the best people I've ever worked with. Unfortunately Rover had a very hard time keeping them due to us feeling overworked, underpaid, and underappreciated, and lack of career growth. Waves of great employees would leave after repeated bad management decisions. - Rover also hired some of the absolutely most incompetent people I've ever worked with, primarily... managers. Like comically bad managers, who when they were hired or promoted it resulted in 75% of the existing team leaving. My favorite managers are all gone, the worst ones are still there and are still getting promoted. - Sexist managers are promoted. Female employees being told they need to be more emotionally expressive, male managers taking credit for their female employees work and ideas, erasing the female employee's contributions, etc. - Rampant favoritism. Favoritism is a huge factor in who gets promoted. - Pay is not competitive in many positions. I was offered a position at a similar sized tech startup that had lower responsibilities and stress that paid almost 50% more. Also managers talking poorly about job candidates, behind their backs of course, who ask for an entirely reasonable living wage for the position they're hiring for. Employees being shamed for wanting pay that doesn't make them live paycheck to paycheck. - Some job’s maximum annual structured pay raise percentages are less than the annual increase in cost of living. That means even if you get the maximum raise, you might still be making the same or less than you did the year before the raise. - Yes manning - There are very few people who can really express their opinions and concerns about the company, how it is being run, etc without severe consequences. Lower level employees who love Rover and want to make suggestions about how to improve things have a tendency of getting fired, laid-off, or frozen out of the organization. Doing anything but singing the praises of Rover and acting like a happy go lucky employee can get you in trouble really fast. - Fake PiPs/job security reassurances and sudden firings are common. Do not trust a manager that puts you on any sort of performance improvement plan regardless of what they call it and regardless of what reassurances they give you that you're not on track to be fired. They are just trying to keep you calm and happy while they gather enough evidence to satisfy HR before firing you. Don't believe managers when they tell you they'd been working with an employee for a while before firing them. - HR is helpless to improves systemic problems. They’re really nice people, but remember their job is to protect Rover. Too many bad managers get promoted regardless of bad behaviors. Employees who expressed concerns were gone, sometimes voluntarily, sometimes due to firings a short time later.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Stop using growth and being a startup as excuses for poor internal management. - Pay employees a living wage. Don't shame employees or job candidates who demand to be paid fairly for their work. - Set realistic expectations about potential raises and career growth in the hiring process - Stop promoting and protecting poor managers - Promote based on merit, not favoritism. Make sure career development and... mobility is accessible to all employees, not just manager favorites. - Bad behaviors start at the top. Rover's culture won't really change until the people at the top look at how their behaviors are driving and encouraging poor management and make the necessary changes their own behavior. - Stop taking advantage of dedicated, dog crazy employees who are so in love with the idea of what Rover could be that they put up with really poor treatment. - Spend less time maneuvering to get Rover on 'Best of ...' and '... of the year' lists and spend that energy making the real culture match the one you market to the public.

    Show More
    Rover.com2019-07-11
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Major diversity issues / low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rover.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Dogs. Obviously a positive to working at Rover. You feel a sense of connection with the mission and the brand is really popular. * Some amazing, kind-hearted colleagues. * CEO and COO are inspiring and mission-driven.

    Cons

    * African-American and LGBT employees were seemingly impacted more than others. In my time, the majority of African-American employees in tech roles (already a very low number) were terminated or left the company. HR leadership appeared insensitive and cynical about concerns brought by transgender employees. There is no visible passion for diversity and inclusion in the day to day working of the company. *... Culture has gone downhill rapidly. The company changed vacation to "unlimited", but management denies requests and still restricts usage. The change seems to be an accounting maneuver that restricts folks from carrying over time. * Pay is crazy low. They are secretive about salary data and tell employees who have concerns that they must not believe in the value of equity. The benefits are also well below competitors.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do something about the culture. Address the root issues with diversity and put in leaders that see the value in inclusion. These things have been brought up many times and leaders have to take on solving it

    Rover.com2019-05-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great office environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Rover for almost a year now, and absolutely love it. I am surrounded by highly intelligent, motivated people. No office politics, everyone is incredibly supportive and I am still blown away by the comradery and partnership. The dogs in office make even the driest topics worth it, everything is a little more fun and lighthearted when there are happy pups around! CEO is an awesome, genuinely cares about... his employees. All around great place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is not the most competitive, and Rover currently doesn't contribute to 401k

    Advice to Management

    Focus on preserving the company culture, it's a rarity.

    Rover.com2019-04-18
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Love my peers but culture can be deceiving."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rover.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Strong leadership; I have faith in the executive team to guide the company in the right direction. - Lots of smart, hardworking peers. I am frequently impressed by those I work with. - Subject matter of work is great: who doesn't like dogs? - Work from home once a week. - True 9 to 5 hours for most people. - SQL training. - Opportunity to work on lots of areas of the business. - Bring your dog to work and... lots of office dogs always around. - A great company to add to your resume because we are growing and evolving so much. A lot of teams are brand new and you can have the opportunity to make real impact and solve complex business problems. - In my personal experience, Rover does not tolerate harassment and strives to promote equality (there is an openly acknowledged LGBTQ community, pronouns are respected, women in the workplace lunches, etc.)

    Show More

    Cons

    - Compensation. Rover pays well below market average. Senior leadership will promote the feeling of "we're all in this together" and "stock options will make up for the gap" which is inaccurate. Sure, senior people aren't rolling in the dough like they maybe could be if they worked at Amazon, but they also don't have to think twice about paying their rent / mortgage or buying groceries. It's extremely offensive... when lower level employees' quality of life is actually impacted by the lack of compensation. I know multiple employees that have to work a second or even third job to survive living in Seattle. - It's near impossible to get a promotion or raise. You can do everything outlined in a leveling doc, check off all the boxes with proof you're performing at the next level through projects or tasks, and nothing will happen. You can receive glowing peer and manager reviews and exceed expectations and still not receive a promotion. You can be told you are on the right track and there is nothing you should change and you will still not receive a promotion. The response from management is to "just hang in there", "it is what it is", or perhaps the most offensive: "if you came here to make a lot of money, this isn't the place". - Culture is not quite what it seems at times. This is probably the most frustrating part of working at Rover because it is both a pro and a con. We have a unique group of amazing people who actually give a **** about what they are working on and upper level management is constantly tearing down that momentum. Favoritism occurs and career development is not treated equally across the org. - Over the last few months the culture seems like it has begun to shift more towards *ss kissing, which is severely disappointing. Management continues to drive home the point that ultimately it doesn't matter how hard you work and how impactful the results you drive are, but that showboating your projects is more important. Why has it become more important to talk the talk rather than walk the walk?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    At some point, you can only get so much negative feedback regarding the same things over and over and over and over. Hold yourselves accountable to improving the quality of life and opportunity for your employees. If you don't throw lower level employees a bone soon you're going to waste a lot more money re-hiring than you would retaining them because sadly, a lot of people are looking for other opportunities.

    Rover.com2019-04-26
Found 112 reviews