Rubicon Project Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Rubicon Project CEO Michael Barrett
Michael Barrett
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "nice workplace office, free lunch, other perks(in 32 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, good work/life balance(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Top heavy, too many VPs and Directors(in 12 reviews)

  • "Some teams move faster than others and don't have much of a work/life balance(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of the best places to work at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rubicon Project full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People. Smart but level headed. - Great benefits - Same team thought that guides all decisions. - Management is very transparent

    Cons

    - Some teams move faster than others and don't have much of a work/life balance

    Rubicon Project2019-09-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great adtech education with stellar benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director of Operations in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rubicon Project full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Upward mobility for motivated and hard-working individuals -Work with an independent adtech company and leader in the space -Global company -Great benefits -Good humans for the most part

    Cons

    -Culture suffered with acquisitions/mergers and leadership transitions -Challenges aligning business, product & eng teams esp during market fluctuations -Roles & Responsibilities sometimes murky as business units made changes not uniformly reflected throughout organization

    Rubicon Project2020-02-10
  3. "Great People and Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rubicon Project full-time

    Pros

    Data is king Great benefits Very strong leadership team

    Cons

    Not much to be honest

    Rubicon Project2019-09-17
  4. "Great!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rubicon Project full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Stocked kitchen w/ snacks, drinks, and catered daily lunch - Flexibility in terms of PTO and WFH - Great people who are insightful and kind

    Cons

    - Lack of direct career progression

    Rubicon Project2019-05-06
  5. "Decent enough I suppose"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer In Test 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rubicon Project full-time

    Pros

    - Smart people. Free lunches. Growing revenues as of lately. - Relaxed office culture

    Cons

    - Overseas team is lackluster and sometimes difficult to work with - Using new technologies and going out of your way to improve things is often seen as a waste of time - Zero recognition for anything you do. I automated tons of processes and improve things people wanted all the time but nobody cared. - A culture of doubt rather than trust. - Request to switch roles constantly ignored.

    Continue reading
    Rubicon Project2019-03-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Company is on the up and up"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rubicon Project full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    So much room for growth if you're highly motivated. They're a great contributor to the ad-tech space, so if you're a Java developer, this is the place for you to make a real impact in the ad space.

    Cons

    Not a lot of structure so it tends to be the wild, Wild West and confusing/frustrating when in need of answers.

    Continue reading
    Rubicon Project2019-01-07
  7. "Software Development Engineer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rubicon Project full-time

    Pros

    Laid back culture, free food, unlimited vacations.

    Cons

    not doing well in market, job security

    Continue reading
    Rubicon Project2018-12-18
  8. "Highs of the highs and lows of the lows"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rubicon Project full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    platform, company culture, benefits, location

    Cons

    One of the giants, sadly no longer

    Rubicon Project2018-10-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Flawed company & Disappointing"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rubicon Project full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Intention to grow and be competitive in the market - autonomy in day to day (also a con due to lack of department leadership)

    Cons

    - overall disappointing leadership. promises of bonuses that never came, or in my case, did come but then Rubicon chased me down for 2 years to have me PAY THEM BACK the small bonus I was promised and deserved. Disgusting. - Poor department leadership, needed to manage managers and help them do their jobs and look good

    Rubicon Project2018-10-10
  10. "Good for software engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rubicon Project full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    General freedom of software solutions. Great perks/benefits.

    Cons

    Some projects may seem slower than others.

    Rubicon Project2018-09-13
Found 158 reviews