SASCO Reviews | Glassdoor

SASCO Reviews

Updated Apr 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Dennis Ortman, Mike Hopkins, Jason Reed,Matt Metoyer, Tom Diomartich and Keith Janssen
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Hard work goes a long way and your advancement is directly related(in 8 reviews)

  • "SASCO is a great place to have a Career(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management does not care for its employees, but rather how they look in front of their peers, but more importantly Lary Smeed(in 4 reviews)

  • "Each position here requires a lot of hard work and dedication(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Dynamic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Fullerton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SASCO full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    SASCO is not for everyone. Must be hardworking, willing to put your head down and get it done. Lots of satisfaction in achieving results. Great compensation and health benefits. Good 401K opportunity. The people make the difference.

    Cons

    None if you are a Dynamic individual. If you aren't, then you wont fit.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    SASCO2019-02-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at SASCO full-time

      Pros

      Good health insurance and other benefits

      Cons

      Upper management is blind, only give bonuses to the inside club members.

      SASCO2019-04-16
    • "Needs more work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Wireman in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at SASCO full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Knowledgeable journeyman who are willing to teach AP the ropes.good attitudes amongst most employees and management. Management looks out for employees in most instances. Good supply of power tools and materials. Organized and fast paced.

      Cons

      Not a lot of overtime. One particular manager was extremely "old school" and rubbed people the wrong way. Doesn't have much work in Seattle, could be phasing out?

      Advice to Management

      I have no real complaints. I had an overall positive experience. I think most employees would prefer jobs with more OT and more work overall, for job security. But I'm sure they're bidding and getting things done. I just dont have that information myself, so I made a switch.

      SASCO2019-02-19
    • "Great Place to work, 50years and counting!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milpitas, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at SASCO full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      SASCO is a performance based company that rewards hard work. If you want to understand SASCO read our mission statement and pay attention to “Life at SASCO”. If you want to be part of the best team in Constuction with unlimited career growth this is place for you.

      Cons

      At times our system of accountability can seem harsh, it’s not. We understand that we all make mistakes, the SASCO difference is that you need to learn from your mistakes on the quest to always improve.

      Advice to Management

      Stick to “Life at SASCO”, it works. There is a reason we have been in business for 50years.

      SASCO2019-02-10
    • "It was nice only for a year"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Architectural Draftsman in Fullerton, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SASCO full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      performing Telecom with over time and good pay check , benefits were good but did not get to use them.

      Cons

      When hired they told me I was going to be there for a long time but then they started laying off people and my manager too. I was looking for permanent employment but they did not offer it and lied during the interview.

      Advice to Management

      Keep hiring alcoholics so the you can get work done.

      SASCO2018-08-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Terrible company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Manager in Milpitas, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SASCO full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      None definitely not the group execs Troy or Craig

      Cons

      Craig and Troy are the two lame group execs

      Advice to Management

      Give bonuses when we are in the middle of a construction boom

      SASCO2018-08-20
    • Helpful (6)

      "Often imitated but never duplicated....in being the worst in the Silicon Valley"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at SASCO full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I am not joking when I say there are zero pros about this company.

      Cons

      There are too many cons to list but let me give you some info on the company. It should give you a good idea of what it is really like. Also, keep in mind that my review is for the San Jose branch only. If you pay attention, the majority of the positive reviews are from their Fullerton office and I know nothing about that branch other than they make it clear they think they are far superior than the people working in...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You need to get rid of a couple of your manager's altogether and start with a clean slate. Plus, change your attitude. Why would anyone want to work for you when you do nothing to show your employee's that they matter? I know it's a Smead mentality but step into the modern ages and take a look how good companies treat their employee's. You guys are ridiculous. Plus, open your eyes for crying out loud. How does it not...

      Show More
      SASCO2018-07-02
    • "Union electrician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at SASCO full-time

        Pros

        Great medical benefits, lots of overtime available

        Cons

        Need to know network of superiors to move up

        SASCO2018-05-31
      • Helpful (7)

        "Project Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at SASCO full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Not too many. They drive the life out of you.

        Cons

        Upper management does not care for its employees, but rather how they look in front of their peers, but more importantly Lary Smeed. They will rid of the problem, before they look bad in front of the owner. They will not try to fix the problem, but rather cover it up. Their motto seems to be, you can always find someone to replace the person that can make them look bad. If you are looking for a long time career, turn...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your employees. Re-structure your groups.

        SASCO2018-05-23
      • Helpful (3)

        "Cut Throat Selfish people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at SASCO full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Lots of work if you know what your doing. A great place to figure out if the construction industry is for you.

        Cons

        Very selfish cold environment. If your not part of the right "click" you will be suppressed no matter how hard you work and how good you are. You will be overlooked and taken for granted. But if they like you then you can do no wrong

        Advice to Management

        Stop acting like you guys are a dictatorship and listen to the people putting in all the hard work and long hrs to get your jobs done. This attitude has cost you many many great employees over the years. Treat everyone equally for example stiff one person on their bonus while another person gets a huge bonus and flaunts it for all to see.

        SASCO2017-12-07
      Found 61 reviews