KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SayABC

Is this your company?

SayABC

Add a Review

SayABC Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 of over 408 reviews

3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
SayABC Owner Guan Wang
Guan Wang
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, Good employees, great experiences(in 39 reviews)

  • "Flexible, work from home, paid on time(in 30 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Bookings trailed off and I was left with only one set of classes a week(in 56 reviews)

  • "Nobody seems sure if they will be able to continue working with sayABC in the near future(in 30 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,873

    959 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of SayABC and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Apr 12, 2021 - Carpenter in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It isnt that real for a job

      Cons

      The carpet isnt wet other than tuesday

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Fun for a little spare money

      Jan 12, 2022 - English Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enjoyed the job and experience immensely.

      Cons

      Was not given enough consistent hours to consider it reliable part time work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Went out of business for a reason

      Jun 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clean bathrooms, chair was soft, food nearby.

      Cons

      Terrible management, ugly office culture. Company head was a bad person.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Just OK

      Feb 19, 2021 - English Teacher in Silver Spring, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Didn't get enough classes scheduled. I only got two classes a week.

      Cons

      Great Students with a great teaching platform.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great for Part Time!

      May 22, 2020 - Online English Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love that the lessons are pre made so there isn’t any prep time. The kids are beyond sweet and it was enjoyable to teach them!

      Cons

      I did this during a time where I could only commit 2 weeks at a time and I barely had any classes. I’m sure I would have been booked more if I had a 6 week window of availability. It also wasn’t easy for immediate help from someone because of the time change.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Online English Teacher - SayABC

      May 22, 2020 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun working with the kids, slides provided, reliable payments, feedback not required after every single class, good platform with mobile app, Skype used for IT

      Cons

      not enough bookings, less bonus/incentive pay as time goes on, not returning emails, very strict cancellation policy, low base-rate pay, no benefits (private contractor work)

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Difficult work conditions

      Sep 28, 2020 - ESL Teacher Online in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good curriculum, good students, easy teaching

      Cons

      constant schedule changes, unreasonable demands - not able to use wifi (had to use ethernet cable), which effectively meant never being able to teach while traveling. Any mistake or day off counted against you. Constant threats to fire teachers if days off were taken, ethernet not used, or any mistakes made.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Be Internet Ready!

      May 27, 2019 - ESL Teacher in Nashua, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with SayABC has been fantastic for me. This is a 4:1 environment. Learning and using the platform is easy if you have the correct requirements (upload and download capabilities, ethernet connection, lighting, and an eagerness to teach). You get homerooms which last 9 sessions so you get to learn how the students learn which increases your teaching effectiveness. The IT department is awesome. The feedback from the parents enables me to improve my teaching strategies. The teacher support is awesome.

      Cons

      The only downside I've experienced is the lack of bookings. Bookings are computer generated. I had an IT issue where I had to update my system and internet. IT would not let me teach until I updated my system. This update took about 4 to 5 days to correct. I missed classes due to this update. These class cancellations are in my file. I have never returned to the bookings I had before my upgrade. When I was hired, my internet system was observed and approved.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      SayABC Response

      International recruitment manager

      Hi Teacher, thanks for sharing your experience here. We appreciate your kind words. We appreciate your feedback on areas for potential improvements or adjustments. We are glad that you are enjoying your teaching with SayABC. SayABC will definitely take your suggestions into consideration and provide an even better teaching environment for the amazing teachers!

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Absolute worst online teaching company I have ever worked with

      Feb 15, 2020 - Teacher in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The classes and curriculum are simple to follow

      Cons

      They took up to 5 months to properly pay me, they screwed up my 1099 tax forms and didn't send it to me on time (which is illegal), and they take anywhere from 1 week to 2 months to even reply to your emails. The ONLY reason why they emailed me recently is because I didn't show up to one of my classes. My inquiries, problems, and obligations I have emailed them were completely ignored. All they gave me in return was a half baked apology. I'm also convinced they don't even know what they're doing when it comes to filing taxes. I have a bank account in thailand, and they asked me, "Are you Thai?" I said, "No, my passport says I'm American." They then said "But 'Nationality' under 'Bank information' says Thai." I then replied, "I'm not a bank." This is what you're dealing with. Anyone considering working for these cronies needs to think twice, They could potentially get you in trouble with the IRS and they don't even respond to you within their policy time frame. Stay away from this company.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Hi

      Sep 15, 2020 - Front Desk Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home and team communication

      Cons

      Nothing nothing nothing nothing nothing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 181 Reviews

    SayABC Reviews FAQs

    53% of SayABC employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SayABC 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3 for culture and values and 3 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SayABC to be culture, coworkers, compensation and the cons to be management, career development, benefits.

    Popular Careers with SayABC Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at SayABC? Share Your Experiences

    or