Sheetz Reviews | Glassdoor

Sheetz Reviews

Updated May 23, 2017
534 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sheetz President and CEO Stan Sheetz
Stan Sheetz
324 Ratings

534 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work Life Balance employees not showing up for work (in 17 reviews)

  • Some times you have to work long hours (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "My experience as a Sheetz employee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Monroeville, PA
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Monroeville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheetz full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    fun, light and easy atmosphere...makes it easier to get through the demands of the job

    Cons

    i dont really have any. Glad they've allowed jeans as a part of the uniform...adds to the "fun" atmosphere!!

    Advice to Management

    One of the best places I've ever worked in regard to respect from managers. Dont ever change that.

    Sheetz Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Talent Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and we are thankful and appreciative of the time and commitment you gave to Sheetz!


  2. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salesperson in Philipsburg, PA
    Current Employee - Salesperson in Philipsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheetz part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - $9+ starting salary is higher than usual for a salesperson
    - Flexible with scheduling and Sheetz cares about employees
    - Complex training to get you ready for the job

    Cons

    - Usually have to be available to work all shifts

    Sheetz Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Talent Marketing Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your time and dedication you are giving to our company!


  3. "Sales Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Winston-Salem, NC
    Former Employee - Associate in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheetz (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Pleasant environment in the beginning.

    Cons

    No benefits for part time employees


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Salesperson (Former Supervisor)"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Harrisburg, PA
    Current Employee - Sales in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheetz full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Above average pay.
    Great benefits for full time and some benefits for part time.
    Qualify for full time benefits with just 30 hours per week.
    Opportunities for advancement.
    Quarterly bonuses for all store positions.
    The owners actually visit the stores and talk to employees.

    Cons

    Out of touch executives.

    Must work yourself ragged to meet expectations.

    Remain open even during snowstorms. (Although if it's a bad one, corporate normally waives everyone's points from calling off during it.)

    Scheduling & Hours.
    I have worked for Sheetz for almost 7 years and I can say the worst quality about this company is hands down their scheduling system. If you don't work first shift, be prepared to work yourself to the bone trying to keep up with customer flow and task demands. Every year we get busier and busier and I have yet to see a significant bump to second and third shift hours. I have worked at three separate stores, each for at least a year, and it is the same at all three of them. How is it that at Sheetz, where we sell gas, tobacco, drinks, and copious amounts of made to order food, there are 4 employees (in the whole store) working dinner rush and I go to the Starbucks down the street and they have 7-8 employees working at the same time. Don't even get me started on third shift where you have 2 (3 if you're lucky) employees working the whole night. How can we set first shift up for success if second and third are set up for failure?

    If you work second or third shift, be prepared for your customers to be upset because there are only two (or one, poor third shift) of you in the kitchen and they have to wait 15-30 minutes for their 2 hotdogs and bag of fries.

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to insist that we call Sheetz a "restaurant," please don't staff us like a gas station. We are e.x.h.a.u.s.t.e.d. and I've seen dozens of great employees flee your company because of it. Hopefully soon I can escape, too.

    Advice to future employees: Avoid working holidays at all costs! No extra hours and we are normally the only place open in the area so guess where all the people go for food?!

    Sheetz Response

    May 22, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that your experience with Sheetz has not been a good one. We welcome all suggestions and ideas to continually improve every employee experience. We ... More


  6. "Company Great, Store Employees not so much"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Altoona, PA
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Altoona, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheetz (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Yearly pay raise, great advancement opportunities, quarterly bonuses, excellent benefits, paid time off

    Cons

    24/7 business can be stressful, most stores have tons of call outs so you never know when you'll get off work (if you're a manager), I worked at 6 stores and all of them had complaints about awful teamwork

    Sheetz Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Talent Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the time & dedication you gave working for Sheetz! We appreciate the feedback you gave in regards to "teamwork" and we hope to improve upon this for a better working experience. ... More


  7. "No work life balance"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Fredericksburg, VA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Fredericksburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheetz (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    No work life balance as any type of manager

    Sheetz Response

    May 2, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Marketing Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your time and dedication you are giving to our company! We welcome any and all suggestions and ideas to continually improve every employee experience.


  8. "I miss Sheetz!!!!!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Person in Durham, NC
    Former Employee - Sales Person in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sheetz full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Sheetz is an amazing company to work for. The hours are flexible and they will work with you with whatever you need. It's like having a second family. I hate that I had to move to a state that didn't have one or else I would still be with the company.

    Cons

    No cons except that with this company things are always getting better which calls for change so management would always be changing too and for a lot of us it was emotional to be attached to a certain manager and have to say goodbye months later.

    Sheetz Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Talent Marketing Specialist

    We are so thankful to have employees like you that have worked for our company! We wish you luck in your future endeavors and hope to have you working for us again in the future! Thank you for your ... More


  9. "Kitchen Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Altoona, PA
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Altoona, PA

    I worked at Sheetz full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Esop/401k
    Wages are above competitive

    Cons

    Store Structure hours are below desirable

    Sheetz Response

    Apr 26, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the time & dedication you gave working for Sheetz! We appreciate the feedback you gave in regards to "store structure hours" and we hope to improve upon this for a better working ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Work for Sheetz! It's the best decision I ever made!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Murrysville, PA
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Murrysville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheetz (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, free drinks, discount food (on and off clock), stock options, opportunities to move up, caring corporation that you'll feel good representing.

    Cons

    Hard work, stressful at times, occasionally inconsistent hours, but these aren't as much cons as they are obvious drawbacks to any entry-level part-time job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the hard work, even the newest salespeople quickly see how much this company cares about its employees. I wouldn't want to work anywhere else, and hopefully after I graduate from college I can continue on a path that leads me to a corporate position for one of the greatest companies around.

    Sheetz Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Talent Marketing Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your time and dedication you are giving to our company!


  11. "KITCHEN manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Kitchen Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Current Employee - Assistant Kitchen Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sheetz part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits good pay good people. I don't have anything else to say but need 20 word min.

    Cons

    The shift....great training program when actually implemented. It's hard to make it through and start getting your bonuses.

    Sheetz Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Talent Marketing Specialist

    We are so thankful to have great employees like you! Thank you for your feedback.


Showing 534 of 536 reviews
Reset Filters