Shoosmiths Reviews | Glassdoor

Shoosmiths Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Simon Boss
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, culture and environment(in 7 reviews)

  • "Open plan office and great facilities generally(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long working hours (9am - 17:30pm is the standard but you will be expected to be there earlier and stay later)(in 4 reviews)

  • "It is worth noting however, that the pay is levelled with the market rate for the area the office is in(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "VACATION SCHEME PLACEMENT - MANCHESTER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vacation Scheme in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths for less than a year

    Pros

    There were a number of pros throughout the week: 1. Great introduction to the team and the practice area so you did not feel too overwhelmed. 2. Everybody is very welcoming. 3. The firm is very inclusive, and there is a lovely culture which resonates throughout. 4. Hands-on legal experience of typical trainee tasks. 5. Multiple Social/Networking Events to get to know the team. 6. Approachability across the entire firm...

    Show More

    Cons

    - There have been no downsides at all, except I wish the Placement was for longer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! The insight provided is brilliant and we are given so much confidence to put ourselves into positions which might make us uncomfortable but to get to know people and make the most of the opportunities.

    Shoosmiths2019-06-14
  2. "Vacation Scheme Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vacation Scheme Student in Nottingham, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Shoosmiths for less than a year

    Pros

    All the employees were extremely helpful and friendly. I was given a great number of tasks, giving me experience into all different aspects. I gained an insight into both property and employment law. The level of responsibility was excellent. The firm was very welcoming and accommodating.

    Cons

    More networking or social opportunities one evening would have been beneficial to get to know and talk to more employees in a less formal setting and when there is more time.

    Shoosmiths2019-06-14
  3. "Great people and great variety of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Vacation Scheme Student 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Shoosmiths for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are absolutely lovely. Everyone was so welcoming and approachable and took time out of their day to talk to me. The variety of work I was given by my supervisor was also excellent.

    Cons

    No cons - everything is fabulous

    Shoosmiths2019-06-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Inclusivity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conveyancing in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The workspace is inclusive on the face of it.

    Cons

    Not really inclusive. BAME candidates considered for jobs on the lower end of the spectrum.

    Shoosmiths2019-06-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Top culture, values, people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Shoosmiths people are invested in their values which drives the culture. The environment is friendly, people are approachable, and communication is clear from the top.

    Cons

    On site catering would be good. Some sites have limited parking, or are out of city locations. But these points have a minimal impact on every day working.

    Advice to Management

    Keep building upon the success of the firm, be forward-looking, and future-minded, to enable employees to be retained.

    Shoosmiths2019-05-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "First impressions are misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NQ Solicitor in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    None - apart from the swanky new offices if you are lucky enough to work in them

    Cons

    Lack of partners and senior associates (FET) [who does not deserve a partner promotion] in the office enabling people to breathe and work in a relaxed environment without any fleurs and graces. Cons Continually being stared at by FET members of the team in a threatening way the excessive of use of fleurs in the office - would do much better without it given that it is not conducive to a harmonious working environment.

    Advice to Management

    Review employment of FET staff. Racist behaviour should not be tolerated by anyone from anyone

    Shoosmiths2019-06-10
  7. "Excellent and friendly work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely friendly! flexible working so you have a laptop and can work anywhere in the office or sometimes at home. Everyone is friendly.

    Cons

    I honestly don’t have any cons! It’s a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!

    Shoosmiths2019-04-29

    Shoosmiths Response

    June 4, 2019Graduate Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your positive thoughts about Shoosmiths!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fee Earner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free tea and coffee - Nice offices (in places)

    Cons

    - Partners that are totally unapproachable and think too much of themselves. - Huge communication issues across the firm that lead to time consuming and costly issues that could be easily avoided if the firm truly practiced the value of communication it so readily attempts to drill into everyone. - Spends too much time talking up its values instead of actually make real change. - Deaf managers who are out of touch...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of constantly talking up values, make fundamental change to processes at firm level. Give employees working under often inadequate managers a line of communication to senior figures to enable real views to be made known.

    Shoosmiths2019-04-27
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Progression, trust, development and respect.

    Cons

    Still struggles at to move with the times but it's rare and only within certain departments

    Advice to Management

    Live up to consistency, it's easy to say but sometimes lacks in the doing in certain teams

    Shoosmiths2019-03-24
  10. "Good company to work for and great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoosmiths full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good atmosphere, great benefits, good facilities.

    Cons

    Management issues, not good at planning IS system projects. Too much expectation on developer to manage project deliveries. Testing new systems not taken seriously enough which cause system implementation issues.

    Advice to Management

    More system planning and more effort on testing before committing deliverables.

    Shoosmiths2019-03-12
Found 55 reviews